Tribal

29. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2017)

welcome


Rama and Sarah Bergh // © Günther Klebinger



This year the Afro Project team from Würzburg is once again looking forward to present a programme full of small and big highlights at the festival. Last year the focus was on Cuba, this year the Africa Festival thematically returns to the African continent; via the Cape Verde Islands and Senegal. At the time of the slave trade with America and the Caribbeans, the Cape Verde Islands served as an intermediate stop for the slaves from West Africa. While the Islands were under Portuguese administration, some of them stayed there forever. Thus today, the ancestors of the slaves have influenced the music and culture of the Islands. Sara Tavares, Tibau Tavares and Elida Almeida will give you the opportunity to discover the music of the Cape Verde Islands. Offshore of Senegal is the island Gor’ee with its slave fort. Here, the West African slaves had the last chance to take a look at their home continent. Senegal features a long history of music, which has grown steadily. Youssou N’Dour is the worldwide known embassador whose tama player Assana Thiam and ensemble will open the festival. Rising star Wally Seck, as well as Faada Freddy, Marema, Awa Ly, Moussa, Takeifa and other high-quality musicians will show their talent and reflect the variety of their country. We stay in West Africa and travel with Eneida Marta to Guinea-Bissau and Fafa Ruffino to Benin. Afterwards, in Mali, we can look forward to see the Festival award winners Salif Keita and Fatoumata Diawara again and meet spectacular newcomer Inna Modja. The young festival veterans Mellow Mark, Dellé and Jahcoustix will prove that even in Germany Africa can be very close.
 
A visit to the photo exhibition of Youri Lenquette could be a great way to start the festival. He has visited Senegal multiple times and captured the zest for life there. At the festival ground, the big bazaar with African art treasures and culinary delicacies, as well as info booths in the bamboo hall, the Havana Club and the inviting relaxation area where you can enjoy Moroccan teas awaits the visitors.
 
TV channel ARTE is again the media partner of the Africa Festival. The ARTE movie tent gives the viewers insights into the life in Senegal. In two special movies (“Mali Blues”, “Sarabah”) you can see musicians who will also perform on our concert stages this year. In the daytime, you can laugh with storyteller Ibu or marvel at the artististry of Adesa, in the evening you can dance to reggae music in the new multitent. You mustn’t miss the fashion shows of designer Rama Diaw with her charming models, which takes place daily starting Friday. Have fun experiencing the rich culture of West Africa!


Your Afro Project Team

 

 
trennlinie_840



head_abendprogramm_e

THURSDAYFRIDAYSATURDAYSUNDAY


 ◊ THURSDAY, MAY 25TH, 2017 ◊

Showtime: 8.00 p.m.

FAADA FREDDY

A-CAPPELLA VOCALS AND BODY-PERCUSSIONS

In 2001, the ‘Africa Festival Award’, which was presented for the first time that year, went to the young and congenial Hip Hop formation ‘Daara J’ from Senegal. It was not just Lord Aladji Man, N`Dongo D and Faada Freddy who played their way into the hearts of the Africa Festival audience with their performances on the open stage, the special guest, Patrice, in the main tent and on the dance floor in the AKW, did, too. Now, 16 years later, ‘Daara J’ has changed, the musicians have become more mature and follow their own solo projects. In his chosen home of Paris, Faada Freddy, alias Abdoul Fatah Seck, has embarked on a ‘Gospel Journey’. His instrument: his extraordinary voice. You can look forward with great excitement to an unforgettable A-Cappella concert with lots of soul, jazz and R & B, presented on a body-percussion-carpet.

Photo: © Barron Claiborne

Showtime: 10.00 p.m.

WALLY SECK

SENEGALS NEW SUPERSTAR

Wally Ballago Seck, who comes from a Griot family, actually wanted to be a professional footballer in Europe. However, fortunately for the Senegalese music scene, it did not happen. With the help of his well-known father, Thione Seck, he was able to find his feet in Dakar with his band, ‘Raam Daan’, and start-out on his career as a (later-starting) musician. His current album, ‘Xel’ (Spirit), has now made musical history in Senegal – in fact, it is the most purchased album in the whole of Senegal. The singer, composer, author, and also an actor, was chosen as the ‘Man of the Year 2014’ by the ‘Observatory of Music and Arts’ organisation (OMART), and he, and his big band, are going to be performing at the International Africa Festival in Germany for the first time.

Photo: © Issa Tall

 ◊ FRIDAY, MAY 26TH, 2017 ◊

Showbeginn: 8.00 p.m.

SARA TAVARES

THE CAPEVERDIAN ISLANDS FINEST VOICE

‘Mana Sara’, as she is affectionately called by her friends, has been seen as one of the discoveries of the festival since her first appearance at the 13th Africa Festival in 2001. Born and raised in Lisbon, she had to find her way in the streets of the city early on without her Cape Verdean parents. The music helped her find her way. At the age of 15, she won her first music awards and, at the latest with her album, ‘Mi Ma Bo’, produced with the help of Lokua Kanza, also made her international breakthrough. With her distinctive voice, she has become one of the icons of the new generation of African-born people in urban Portugal. After seven years of creative rest, she is now on tour with her latest work, ‘Coisas Bunitas’, and you can now have the pleasure of seeing her perform again. SHORT-TERM CHANGED  ELIDA ALMEIDA

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

abendprogramm_sara tavares (c) bugs steffen

Showtime: 10.00 p.m.

SALIF KEITA

THE LEGEND FROM MALI

The pioneer of world music will be seen on the stage of the Africa Festival for the sixth time. Born in 1949, in the small village of Djoliba in Mali, this exceptional artist can trace his family back to the founder of the Mali Empire, Soundiata Keita, in the 13th century. However, as an albino, he was only accepted by his own family after his artistic successes. He is committed to the Albinos of Africa cause and has been rightly honoured with the coveted ‘Africa Festival Award’. “The music is like a tree. The roots are African, the trunk is jazz, and all the branches, twigs and fruits are the different stylistic directions”, he explained. Salif Keita himself has now climbed all the heights of this music tree and will enrapture the audience once again with his current musical treasure.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

trennlinie_840


 ◊ SATURDAY, MAY 27TH, 2017 ◊

Showbeginn: 8.00 p.m.

ENEIDA MARTA

THE GREAT VOICE FROM GUINEA-BISSAU

Life, love and a homage to strong women – these are the subjects of the songs of UNICEF-Ambassador, Eneida Marta. She composes herself, but is also inspired by the great male artists of her country, such as Ernesto Dabo or Zé Manel. She creates gentle Kora sounds, jazzy piano chords and sparkling guitar riffs, which are lightly combined with the rhythms of her country, and enhances these sounds with her extraordinary voice in Portuguese or Guinea-Bissau Creole. Indeed the greatest compliment was paid to her by Lokua Kanza who said “I've never been to Guinea-Bissau, but when I hear Eneida Marta’s voice, I understand the country straight away!” The audience is sure to be convinced of this when they hear her at her German premiere at the International Africa Festival.

Photo: © Eneida Marta

Showtime: 10:00 P.M.

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

MALI BLUES AND POET VOICES

Fatoumata Diawara is one of the most passionate spokeswomen and ambassadors for justice, peace, freedom and women's rights, far beyond the borders of her native Mali, and this not just since her successful debut album, ‘Fatou’ (2011). However, first of all, she made a name for herself as a sought-after theatre and film actress, such as in ‘La Genèse’ directed by Cheick Oumar Sissoko. Honoured with the Africa Festival Award 2013, she is now to be seen as the main actress in the film, ‘Mali Blues’, which can also be seen on the festival grounds (ARTE-Kinozelt). For this evening, she has brought the other film protagonists, the Tuareg musician, Ahmed Ag Kaedy, as well as the rapper, Master Sumi, who will once again take us to the expanses of Mali with her music.

Photo: © Mali Serena Aurora Erotico

trennlinie_840


 ◊ SUNDAY, MAY 28TH, 2017 ◊

Showtime: 7.00 p.m.

MAREMA

FINEST GROOVES FROM SENEGAL

Marema Fall, the power-woman from Senegal, delighted the audience on the open stage at the 27th Africa Festival. She has won several awards and, after receiving the RFI Award 2014 in the category ‘Best female artist of Africa’, has been seen as a ‘shooting star’ in her native West African native country. She learned her musical craft at the music school of the ‘Douta Seck’ cultural centre. Her mentor, Edu Bocande, encouraged her to not only work traditionally, but also to experiment with other styles, such as rock, pop or jazz. Under the production management of Alpha Blondy's guitarist and arranger, Mao Otayeck, she made her breakthrough with her singles, ‘Femme d'affaires’ and ‘My Friend’. Now there is her great performance in the main tent to enjoy!

Photo: © Stéphane Tourné

Showtime: 9.00 p.m.

DELLÉ

HOT REGGAE VIBES WITH GERMAN-GHANAIAN ROOTS

Born in Berlin, Frank Allessa Dellé, the son of a Ghanaian doctor and a German nurse, spent several of his school years in Tamale in northern Ghana. Experiencing a variety of life situations and his first work with the ‘Positive Vibrations’ Reggae formation, he has (as a trained film sound engineer) now landed again in Berlin and, as their front man and a co-creator of their sound, has joined the band, ‘Seeed’. The multi-talented Dellé, whose qualities are also popular with German film productions, has always followed his own song ideas over the years. With his current album, ‘Neo’, he has now hit the big time and this has catapulted him into the highest category of a German Reggae musician. So, to end the festival, it is time to rock out again!

Photo: © Tino Pohlmann | Heynstudios

DAY PROGRAMME | OPEN STAGE

THURSDAYFRIDAYSATURDAYSUNDAY

trennlinie_840


◊ THURSDAY, MAY 25TH, 2017 | OPEN STAGE ◊


Showtime: 13:30 p.m.

ASSANE THIAM & TAMA BAND DAKAR

TALKING DRUM POWER AND DANCE FROM SENEGAL

Most people will remember Assane Thian as the tama player from Youssou N'Dour's Band "Super Etoile de Dakar". In 1975 he founded "Etoile de Dakar" with Babacar Faye and mastered the art of talking drums so perfectly that he influenced the development of mbalax music essentially, and is respectfully called the Jimi Hendrix of tama play. In Senegal he formed a complete tama orchestra. This year, he will celebrate his German premiere at the Africa Festival with the Tama Band Dakar. SHORT-TERM CHANGED

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Musikprogramm - Bild: Takeifa
Showtime: 15:30 p.m.

TAKEIFA

URBAN AFRO SOUNDS FROM SENEGAL

Whether it is Afro-pop, soul, funk, zouk or rock – the five Keita siblings Jac, Cheikh, Ibrahima, Fallou and Maah have been creating a new urban sound on the streets of Dakar for some years. They represent a new, young generation in Senegal which is exploring new paths without forgetting the roots. Stylistic variety and socially motivated song lyrics are equally important for their music. "One Band, one Family, one Voice!" – this family feeling will also appeal to the audience of the open stage.

trennlinie_840


◊ FRIDAY, MAY 26TH, 2017 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Showtime: 13:30 p.m.

TIBAU TAVARES FEAT. PUPKULIES & REBECCA

WORLD MUSIC AND FUSION SOUNDS FROM THE CAPE VERDE

When the electronic duo Rebecca and Janosch Blaul from Würzburg moved to Berlin, they found a like-minded ally in Sepp Singwald. Their house and pop music, which is full of electronic beats, was perfect for a blend with the matching world music of the Cape Verde Islands. On the island of Maio they met Tibau Tavares and the album "Tibau", as well as the documentary "Momento", were successfully released in 2013. After having already performed at the 26th Africa Festival in 2014, they will once again invite us to come along on their special island journey.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Elida Almeida

Showtime: 15:30 p.m.

ELIDA ALMEIDA

YOUNG VOICE FROM THE CAPVERDIAN ISLAND SANTIAGO

Elida Almeida, like Jenifer Solidade and Ceuzany, is counted among the new, young generation of fantastic voices from the Cape Verde Islands. The songwriter was born in Pedra Badejo/Santa Cruz on Santiago. Her childhood was far from easy. yet she still managed to keep her positive attitude and processed her experiences from these years on her first album "Ora Doci Ora Margos" (Sweet times bitter times) in a poetic way. This world music discovery will mesmerize us with her fabulous Santiago beats from Batuku, Morna and Funaná. SHORT-TERM CHANGED EVENING PROGRAMME

Photo: © Sousa Dias

Showtime: 17:30 p.m.

FAFA RUFFINO

THE BRIGHT VOICE FROM BENIN

The voice of Ahouefa "Fafa" Ruffino is reminiscent of the young Angeliqué Kidjo. She was also born in West African Benin and gained her first musical experience in the jazz clubs of her hometown Cotonou. After having starred as an actor in various TV shows (e.g. "Bisso Na Bisso"), Fafa decided to dedicate herself to her career as a singer at her new home in Paris. In 2011 her first album "Ilé" was released. Recently she collaborated with Lokua Kanza and his family and will introduce her new album "Satila" at the Africa Festival.

Photo: © Emmanuel Blès

trennlinie_840


◊ SATURDAY, MAY 27TH, 2017 | OPEN STAGE ◊

>

Showtime: 13:30 p.m.

MOUSSA NDIAYE

PERCUSSION FIRE FROM SENEGAL

Moussa Ndiaye has been introduced to the art of drum playing at the young age of five. Thus he is perfect at playing the furry Sabar drum of the Wolof, as well as the talking drum or djembé. Internationally known musicians like Thione Seck appreciate his skills and invite him to tour with them. With his own band “N´Guewel Begg Fallou Family“, which consists of several sabar players and two dancers, he will light up a true percussion firework on the open stage.

 

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Showtime: 15:30 p.m.

AWA LY

AFRICAN SOUL WITH SENEGALESE
ROOTS

Being born to Senegalese parents in Paris, multi-faceted exceptional artist Awa Ly is living in Italy today. There she started her acting career and was already seen in various movies like "Black and White" (2008). With her other passion singing she embarked on a personal journey and constantly explores new areas. Whether it is R&B or soul, e.g. in the duet "Here" with Faada Freddy of Daara J, she never forgets her Dakar roots.

Photo: © Bernard Benant

Showtime: 17:30 p.m.

MELLOW MARK FEAT. CROSBY BOLANI

GERMAN HIP-HOP RAP AND REGGAE VIBES WITH SPECIAL GUESTS

Mark Schlumberger aka Mellow Mark was born in Reutlingen and is known as a recurring guest of the Africa Festival. During his last performance at the festival in 2010, he introduced his Morocco project. This time, his stops on the African continent were Senegal and South Africa. Thus he created the song "Elefanten" ("Elephants") with the famous singer, producer and dancehall MC Crosby Bolani from Capetown in his township Gugulethu. His new album is aptly called "Nomade" and he will perform it with the House of Riddim band and other special guests.

trennlinie_840


◊ SUNDAY, MAY 28TH, 2017 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Showtime: 13:30 p.m.

SISTER FA

HIP-HOP RAP & SOUL POWER QUEEN FROM SENEGAL

Sister Fa, alias Fatou Mandiang Diatta, is a relentless ball of energy. Having been a victim herself, she is an activist against female genital cutting in Africa and also works for other NGOs. In her songs she addresses this predicament, as well as subjects like forced marriage and other iniquities women have to face. She has been honoured for her music (‘Senegalese HipHop Award for Best Newcomer 2005’) and dedication (‘Freedom To Create Award 2011’) several times and can also be seen starring in the documentaries “Sarabah“ and “Fonko“.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Showtime: 15:30 p.m.

INNA MODJA

THE VOICE OF THE AFRICAN WOMEN

When she was still a little girl, Inna Bocoum was already stubborn. Therefore her mother gave her the nickname “Modja“ which roughly means “Inna is stubborn“. Later in life, as a model and singer, she also went her own way on which she was encouraged by her mentor Salif Keita. Hip-hop, soul, rap, pop and jazz seasoned with a strong pinch of Mali roots characterize her new album “Hotel Bamako“. A strong singer who commits herself to fighting for the rights of the women in her homecountry Mali.

Showtime: 17:30 p.m.

JAHCOUSTIX

POSITIVE REGGAE VIBES

Whether he perfoms as a solo artist, with "Dubious Neighbourhood", the "Outsideplayers" or his "Yard Vibes Crew", Dominik Haas, alias Jahcoustix, is considered to be one of the best live artists of the German Reggae scene. Since he has been kissed by Reggae during his time as a nomad and diplomat’s son in Kenia, high-quality music has always been his trademark. After his impressive performance on the open stage last year, he will be doing a hat trick at the Africa Festival this year. The audience can expect phat, positive vibes with special guest performances.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

v

Tribal

29. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2017)

head_willkommen



 

Rama und Sarah Bergh // © Bugs Steffen



Das Afro Project Team aus Würzburg freut sich Ihnen auch in diesem Jahr wieder ein Festivalprogramm voller kleiner und großer Highlights präsentieren zu können. Letztes Jahr war Kuba das große Schwerpunktthema gewesen, nun ist das Africa Festival über die Kapverden und den Senegal thematisch auf den afrikanischen Kontinent zurückgekehrt. Die Inselgruppe der Kapverden war in den Zeiten des Sklavenhandels mit Amerika und der Karibik eine Zwischenstation für die Sklaven Westafrikas. Unter portugiesischer Verwaltung konnten einige von ihnen dort bleiben und Wurzeln schlagen. Die heutigen Nachfahren haben so die Kultur und die Musik der Kapverden geprägt. Mit Sara Tavares, Tibau Tavares und Elida Almeida werden sie Gelegenheit haben in die Musik der Inseln hinein zu schnuppern. Vor der Küste Senegals liegt die Insel Gorée mit ihrem Sklavenfort. Hier hatten die westafrikanischen Sklaven vor ihrer Verschiffung ein letztes Mal Sichtkontakt zum Heimatkontinent. Der Senegal blickt auf eine lange und gewachsene Musikkultur zurück. Weltweit bekanntester Botschafter ist Youssou N´Dour, dessen Tama-Spieler Assane Thiam mit seinem Ensemble das Festival musikalisch eröffnen wird. Mit dem aufsteigenden Stern Wally Seck, sowie Faada Freddy, Marema, Awa Ly, Moussa und Takeifa zeigen weitere Hochkaräter ihr Können und spiegeln die Vielfalt in ihrem Land wider. Wir bleiben in Westafrika und reisen mit Eneida Marta nach Guinea-Bissau, mit Fafa Ruffino nach Benin. Anschließend in Mali freuen wir uns auf ein Wiedersehen mit den Festival Award Trägern Salif Keita und Fatoumata Diawara und erleben mit Inna Modja eine spektakuläre Newcomerin. Dass auch in Deutschland Afrika ganz nah sein kann, werden wieder einmal die jungen Festival-Veteranen Mellow Mark, Dellé und Jahcoustix beweisen. Ein Einstieg in das Festival könnte der Besuch der Ausstellung des Fotografen Youri Lenquette sein. Dieser hat sich immer wieder im Senegal aufgehalten und die Lebensfreude dort eingefangen. Auf dem Gelände erwartet Sie in gewohnter Qualität der große Basar mit seinen afrikanischen Kunstschätzen und kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten, die Infostände in der Bambushalle, der Havanna Club sowie die einladende Entspannungsoase, in der man leckeren marokkanischen Tee genießen kann. Der Fernsehsender ARTE ist wieder Medienpartner des Africa Festivals.

Das ARTE Kinozelt präsentiert Einblicke in das Leben im Senegal. In zwei besonderen Filmen („Mali Blues“ / „Sarabah“) erleben Sie Künstler, die dieses Jahr auch auf unseren Konzertbühnen stehen werden. Im neuen Multizelt können Sie tagsüber mit dem Geschichtenerzähler Ibo lachen oder über die Artistik von Adesa staunen und abends zu Reggae-Vibes abtanzen. Entgehen lassen sollten Sie sich auf keinen Fall die ab Freitag täglich stattfindenden Modenschauen von der Fashion Designerin Rama Diaw mit ihren bezaubernden Models. Viel Spaß beim Eintauchen in die reiche Kultur Westafrikas wünscht Ihnen

Ihr Afro Project Team



 
trennlinie_840



head_28_abendprogramm

 

DONNERSTAGFREITAGSAMSTAGSONNTAG

 


 ◊ DONNERSTAG, 25.05.2017 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

FAADA FREDDY

A-CAPPELLA VOCALS AND BODY-PERCUSSIONS

2001 ging der zum ersten Mal verliehene „Africa Festival Award“ an die junge, sympathische HipHop Formation „Daara J“ aus dem Senegal. Lord Aladji Man, N`Dongo D und Faada Freddy hatten sich mit ihren Auftritten auf der Offenen Bühne, als Special Guest mit Patrice im Hauptzelt und auf dem Dancefloor im AKW in die Herzen des Africa Festival Publikums gespielt. Jetzt, 16 Jahre später, hat sich „Daara J“ verändert, die Musiker sind reifer geworden und verfolgen alle ihre eigenen Soloprojekte. In seiner Wahlheimat Paris hat sich Faada Freddy, alias Abdoul Fatah Seck, auf eine „Gospel Journey“ begeben. Sein Instrument: seine außergewöhnliche Stimme. Mit Spannung darf man sich auf ein unvergessliches A-Cappella Konzert mit viel Soul, Jazz und R&B, präsentiert auf einem Body-Percussion-Teppich, freuen.

Photo: © Barron Claiborne

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

WALLY SECK

SENEGALS NEW SUPERSTAR

Eigentlich wollte, der aus einer Griot-Familie stammende, Wally Ballago Seck, mit einer Karriere als Fußballprofi in Europa durchstarten. Doch zum Glück für die senegalesische Musikszene ist daraus nichts geworden. Mit Hilfe seines bekannten Vaters Thione Seck konnte er auf heimischen Boden in Dakar in dessen Band „Raam Daan“ wieder Fuß fassen und seine Spätzünder- Laufbahn als Musiker einschlagen. Sein aktuelles Album „Xel“ (Spirit) hat mittlerweile im Senegal Musikgeschichte geschrieben - es ist das am meisten gekaufte Album im ganzen Senegal. Der von der Organisation „Observatory of Music and Arts“ (OMART) zum „Man Of The Year 2014“ gewählte Sänger, Komponist, Autor und nebenbei auch Schauspieler, gastiert mit seiner vielköpfigen Band erstmals in Deutschland beim Internationalen Africa Festival.

Photo: © Issa Tall

trennlinie_840


 ◊ FREITAG, 26.05.2017 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

SARA TAVARES

THE CAPEVERDIAN ISLANDS FINEST VOICE

„Mana Sara“, wie sie liebevoll von ihren Freunden genannt wird, gilt seit ihrem ersten Auftritt 2001 beim 13. Africa Festival als eine der Entdeckungen des Festivals. In Lissabon geboren und aufgewachsen, musste sie sich schon früh ohne ihre kapverdischen Eltern auf den Straßen der Stadt durchschlagen. Die Musik half ihr, ihren Weg zu finden. Mit 15 Jahren gewann sie die ersten Musikpreise und spätestens seit ihrem Album „Mi Ma Bo“, produziert mit Hilfe von Lokua Kanza, schaffte sie auch international den Durchbruch. Mit unverwechselbarer Stimme gilt sie als eine der Ikonen der neuen Generation afrikanischstämmiger Menschen im urbanen Portugal. Nach nun sieben Jahren schöpferischer Ruhepause ist sie mit ihrem aktuellen Werk „Coisas Bunitas“ auf Tour und man darf sich auf ein Wiedersehen mit ihr freuen. KURZFRISTIG GEÄNDERT ELIDA ALMEIDA

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

abendprogramm_sara tavares (c) bugs steffen

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

SALIF KEITA

THE LEGEND FROM MALI

Der Pionier der Weltmusik wird zum sechsten Mal die Bühne des Africa Festivals betreten. Der 1949, im kleinen Dorf Djoliba in Mali, geborene Ausnahmekünstler kann seine Wurzeln bis auf den Gründer des Mali Reiches im 13. Jahrhundert Soundiata Keita zurückverfolgen. Doch als Albino wurde er von seiner eigenen Familie erst nach seinen künstlerischen Erfolgen akzeptiert. So setzt er sich selbst für die Albinos Afrikas ein und erhielt für sein Engagement 2013 zu Recht den begehrten „Africa Festival Award“. „Die Musik ist wie ein Baum. Die Wurzeln sind afrikanisch, der Stamm ist Jazz und alle Äste, Zweige und Früchte sind seine verschiedenen Stilrichtungen.“ Er selbst hat mittlerweile alle Höhen dieses Musikbaums erklommen und wird aus seinem aktuellen Musikschatz das Publikum einmal mehr beglücken.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

trennlinie_840


 ◊ SAMSTAG, 27.05.2017 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

ENEIDA MARTA

THE GREAT VOICE FROM GUINEA-BISSAU

Die Liebe, das Leben und die Hommage an starke Frauen, das sind die Themen mit denen sich die UNICEF-Botschafterin Eneida Marta in ihren Songs beschäftigt. Sie komponiert selbst, lässt sich aber auch gerne von den großen, männlichen Künstlern ihres Landes, wie Ernesto Dabo oder Zé Manel inspirieren. Federleicht schafft sie es sanfte Kora- Klänge, jazzige Piano-Akkorde und spritzige Gitarren Riffs mit den Rhythmen ihres Landes zu verbinden und darüber ihre außergewöhnliche Stimme in Portugiesisch oder Guinea-Bissau Creole erklingen zu lassen. Das größte Kompliment machte ihr übrigens Lokua Kanza einmal: „Ich war noch nie in Guinea-Bissau, aber wenn ich Eneida Marta`s Stimme höre, verstehe ich das Land sofort!“ Davon kann sich das Publikum bei ihrer Deutschlandpremiere auf dem Internationalen Africa Festival selbst überzeugen.

Photo: © Eneida Marta


Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

MALI BLUES AND POET VOICES

Nicht erst seit ihrem erfolgreichen Debütalbum „Fatou“ (2011) gilt Fatoumata Diawara als eine der herzhaftesten Streiterinnen und Botschafterinnen für Gerechtigkeit, Frieden, Freiheit und Frauenrechte weit über die Landesgrenzen ihrer Heimat Mali hinaus. Zuerst machte sie sich aber als gefragte Theater- und Filmschauspielerin einen Namen, zum Beispiel in „La Genèse“ unter der Regie von Cheick Oumar Sissoko. Mit dem Africa Festival Award 2013 geehrt, ist sie nun als Hauptdarstellerin in dem ebenfalls auf dem Festivalgelände (ARTE-Kinozelt) laufenden Film „Mali Blues“ zu sehen. Für den heutigen Abend hat sie deshalb gleich die weiteren Filmprotagonisten, den Tuareg Musiker Ahmed Ag Kaedy sowie den Rapper Master Sumi mitgebracht und entführt uns mit ihrer Musik ein weiteres Mal in die Weiten Malis.

Photo: © Mali Serena Aurora Erotico

trennlinie_840


 ◊ SONNTAG, 28.05.2017 ◊

Showbeginn: 19:00 Uhr

MAREMA

FINEST GROOVES FROM SENEGAL

Marema Fall, die Power-Frau aus dem Senegal, begeisterte schon beim 27. Africa Festival das Publikum vor der Offenen Bühne. Mehrfach ausgezeichnet gilt sie spätestens nach der Verleihung des RFI Awards 2014 in der Kategorie „Beste weibliche Künstlerin Afrikas“ als „Shooting Star“ in ihrem westafrikanischen Heimatland. Ihr musikalisches Handwerk erlernte sie an der Musikschule des Kulturzentrums „Douta Seck“. Ihr Mentor Edu Bocande ermutigte sie, nicht nur traditionell zu arbeiten, sondern auch mit anderen Stilen, wie Rock, Pop oder Jazz zu experimentieren. Unter der Produktionsleitung von Alpha Blondy`s Gitarristen und Arrangeur Mao Otayeck schaffte sie mit den Singles „Femme d´affaires“ und „My Friend“ den Durchbruch. Jetzt darf man sich auf ihren großen Auftritt im Hauptzelt freuen.

Photo: © Stéphane Tourné

Showbeginn: 21:00 Uhr

DELLÉ

HOT REGGAE VIBES WITH GERMAN-GHANAIAN ROOTS

Geboren in Berlin, verbrachte Frank Allessa Dellé, als Sohn eines ghanaischen Doktors und einer deutschen Krankenschwester, etliche Schuljahre in Tamale im Norden Ghanas. Über weitere Lebensstationen und erste Band-Erfahrungen in der Reggae Formation „Positive Vibrations“ landete er schließlich wieder in Berlin und stieß, als mittlerweile gelernter Diplom- Filmtoningenieur, zu „Seeed“ hinzu und prägte als Frontmann deren Sound mit. Multitalent Dellé, dessen Qualitäten auch bei deutschen Filmproduktionen gefragt sind, verfolgte dabei stets über all die Jahre auch seine eigenen Songideen. Mit seinem aktuellen Album „Neo“ ist ihm jetzt ein großer Wurf gelungen, der ihn in die oberste Kategorie Deutscher Reggaemusiker katapultiert hat. Zum Festivalausklang ist also noch mal großes Abtanzen angesagt!

Photo: © Tino Pohlmann | Heynstudios

trennlinie_840

TAGESPROGRAMM | OFFENE BÜHNE

DONNERSTAGFREITAGSAMSTAGSONNTAG

 ◊ DONNERSTAG, 25.05.2017 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊


Showbeginn: 13:30 Uhr

ASSANE THIAM & TAMA BAND DAKAR

TALKING DRUM POWER AND DANCE FROM SENEGAL

Assane Thiam dürfte den meisten als der Tama Spieler von Youssou N´Dour in dessen Begleitband „Super Etoile De Dakar" bestens in Erinnerung sein. Mit Babacar Faye gründete er bereits 1975 selbst die „Etoile De Dakar“ und verfeinerte die Kunst des Talking Drum Spiels so perfekt, daß er die Entwicklung der Mbalax Musik maßgeblich mit beeinflusste und respektvoll als der Jimi Hendrix des Tama Spiels bezeichnet wird. Im Senegal hat er mittlerweile ein ganzes Tama Orchester ins Leben gerufen. Mit der Tama Band Dakar feiert er beim diesjährigen Africa Festival seine Deutschland Premiere. KURZFRISTIG GEÄNDERT

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Musikprogramm - Bild: Takeifa
Showbeginn: 15:30 Uhr

TAKEIFA

URBAN AFRO SOUNDS FROM SENEGAL

Ob Afro-Pop, Soul, Funk, Zouk oder Rock - die fünf Keita Geschwister, bestehend aus den Brüdern Jac, Cheikh, Ibrahima, Fallou und ihrer Schwester Maah, sorgen schon seit Jahren in den Straßen Dakars für einen neuen urbanen Sound. Sie stehen für eine neue, junge Generation im Senegal, die ihre eigenen Wege geht ohne ihre Wurzeln zu vergessen. Dabei ist ihnen die stilistische Vielfalt genauso wichtig, wie sozial engagierte Song-Texte. „One band, one family, one voice!“ dieses Family-Feeling wird auch das Publikum an der Offenen Bühne überzeugen.

trennlinie_840


◊ FREITAG, 26.05.2017 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:30 Uhr

TIBAU TAVARES FEAT. PUPKULIES & REBECCA

WORLD MUSIC AND FUSION SOUNDS FROM THE CAPE VERDE

Als das Würzburger Electronic Duo Rebecca und Janosch Blaul nach Berlin pilgerten, fanden sie in Sepp Singwald einen gleich gesinnten Mitstreiter. Ihre House- und Popmusik voller elektronischen Beats lud geradezu ein, sich mit der passenden Worldmusik von den Kapverden zu verbinden. Auf der Insel Maio traf man Tibau Tavares und das Album „Tibau“, samt dem Dokumentarfilm „Momento“, wurde 2013 erfolgreich veröffentlicht. Nach ihrem Gastspiel 2014 beim 26. Africa Festival werden sie uns noch einmal zu ihrer speziellen Inselreise einladen.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Elida Almeida

Showbeginn: 15:30 Uhr

ELIDA ALMEIDA

YOUNG VOICE FROM THE CAPVERDIAN ISLAND SANTIAGO

Elida Almeida zählt, wie Jenifer Solidade und Ceuzany, zu der neuen, jungen Generation fantastischer Stimmen von den Kapverden. Geboren wurde die Songwriterin in Pedra Badejo/Santa Cruz auf Santiago. Ihre Kindheit war alles andere als einfach, dennoch hat sie sich ihr sonniges Gemüt bewahrt und ihre Erlebnisse aus diesen Tagen poetisch auf ihrem ersten Album „Ora Doci Ora Margos“ (Sweet times bitter times) verarbeitet. Die Weltmusik Entdeckung wird uns mit ihren traumhaften Santiago Beats aus Batuku, Morna und Funaná verzaubern. KURZFRISTIG GEÄNDERT ABENDPROGRAMM

Photo: © Sousa Dias

Showbeginn: 17:30 Uhr

FAFA RUFFINO

THE BRIGHT VOICE FROM BENIN

Ahouefa „Fafa“ Ruffino erinnert mit ihrer Stimme ganz an die junge Angeliqué Kidjo. Ebenfalls im westafrikanischen Benin geboren, sammelte sie in den Jazz Clubs ihrer Geburtsstadt Cotonou erste musikalische Erfahrungen. Nachdem sie dort nebenbei als Schauspielerin in diversen TV Serien (u. a. „Bisso Na Bisso“) mitgewirkt hatte, beschloss Fafa in ihrer neuen Wahlheimat Paris sich ganz ihrer Karriere als Sängerin zu widmen. 2011 erschien ihr erstes Album „Ilé“. Jetzt hat sie eng mit Lokua Kanza und seiner Familie zusammengearbeitet und wird ihr neues Album „Satila“ vorstellen.

Photo: © Emmanuel Blès

trennlinie_840


◊ SAMSTAG, 27.05.2017 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:30 Uhr

MOUSSA NDIAYE

PERCUSSION FIRE FROM SENEGAL

Schon seit dem fünften Lebensjahr wurde Moussa Ndiaye in die hohe Kunst des Trommelspiels eingeweiht. Das Spielen der langen, einfelligen Sabar Trommel der Wolof beherrscht er daher genauso perfekt, wie die Talking Drum oder Djembé. International bekannte Musiker, z. B. Thione Seck, schätzen seine Fähigkeiten und laden ihn zu deren Tourneen ein. Mit seiner eigenen Gruppe „N´Guewel Begg Fallou Family“, die aus mehreren Sabar-Spielern und zwei Tänzerinnen besteht, wird er auf der Offenen Bühne ein wahres Percussion-Feuerwerk abbrennen.

 

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Showbeginn: 15:30 Uhr

AWA LY

AFRICAN SOUL WITH SENEGALESE
ROOTS

Als Tochter senegalesischer Eltern in Paris geboren, lebt die vielseitige Ausnahmekünstlerin Awa Ly heute in Italien. Dort hat sie zum einen ihre Karriere als Schauspielerin begonnen und schon in diversen Filmen, wie „Black And White“ (2008), mitgespielt. In ihrer zweiten Passion als Sängerin hat sie sich auf ihre eigene persönliche Reise begeben und überschreitet dabei ständig neue Grenzen. Ob R&B oder Soul, wie im Songduett „Here“ mit Faada Freddy von Daara J Family, ihre senegalesischen Wurzeln aus Dakar vergisst sie dabei nie.

Photo: © Bernard Benant

Showbeginn: 17:30 Uhr

MELLOW MARK FEAT. CROSBY BOLANI

GERMAN HIP-HOP RAP & REGGAE VIBES WITH SPECIAL GUESTS

Der gebürtige Reutlinger Mark Schlumberger alias Mellow Mark gilt als Africa Festival Urgestein. Bei seinem letzten Festival Auftritt 2010 stellte er sein Marokko Projekt vor. Mark´s aktuelle Reisestationen auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent waren diesmal neben dem Senegal auch Südafrika. Mit dem bekannten Sänger, Produzenten und Dancehall MC Crosby Bolani aus Kapstadt entstand in dessen Heimat-Township Gugulethu so der Song „Elefanten“. „Nomade“ heißt treffend sein neues Album, das er jetzt mit der House of Riddim Band und weiteren Special Guests vorstellen wird.

trennlinie_840


◊ SONNTAG, 28.05.2017 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:30 Uhr

SISTER FA

HIP-HOP RAP & SOUL POWER QUEEN FROM SENEGAL

Sister Fa, alias Fatou Mandiang Diatta, ist ein unermüdliches Energiebündel. Als Betroffene ist sie als Aktivistin gegen die Genitalbeschneidung in Afrika selbst oder für verschiedene NGOs tätig. Sie thematisiert dieses Dilemma in ihren Songs genauso, wie die Zwangsheirat oder andere Ungerechtigkeiten gegenüber Frauen. Mehrfach für Musik (´Senegalese HipHop Award Best Newcomer 2005´) und Engagement (´Freedom To Create Award 2011´) ausgezeichnet, ist sie auch in den Dokumentarfilmen „Sarabah“ oder „Fonko“ als eine Hauptakteurin zu erleben.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

Showbeginn: 15:30 Uhr

INNA MODJA

THE VOICE OF THE AFRICAN WOMEN

Schon als kleines Mädchen hatte Inna Bocoum ihren Dickkopf. Deshalb gab ihre Mutter ihr den Spitznamen „Modja“, was übersetzt etwa heißt „Inna ist bockig“. Auch später, als Model und Sängerin, ging sie ihren eigenen Weg, bestärkt durch ihren Mentor Salif Keita. Hip Hop, Soul, Rap, Pop, Jazz, gewürzt mit einer starken Prise Mali Roots zeichnen ihr aktuelles Album „Hotel Bamako“ aus. Eine starke Sängerin, die sich besonders für die Rechte der Frauen in ihrem Heimatland Mali engagiert.

Showbeginn: 17:30 Uhr

JAHCOUSTIX

POSITIVE REGGAE VIBES

Ob als Solo-Künstler, mit Dubious Neighbourhood, den Outsideplayers oder seiner Yard Vibes Crew, Dominik Haas alias Jahcoustix, gilt als einer der besten Live-Artists in der deutschen Reggaeszene. Seit er in Kenia, in seinem Nomadendasein als Diplomatensohn, vom Reggae begeistert wurde, ist hohe musikalische Qualität stets sein Gütezeichen geworden. Beim Africa Festival setzt er jetzt, nach seinem wieder einmal begeisterten Auftritt auf der Offenen Bühne im letzten Jahr, zum Africa Festival „Hattrick“ an. Fette ´Positive Vibes´ mit ´Special Guests´ sind angesagt.

Photo: © Bugs Steffen

v