Tribal

26. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2014)

welcome



 

26_trinidad

 

DEAR FRIENDS OF THE AFRICA FESTIVAL,

 

and yes, weʼre still here - even after last yearʼs flood. Weʼre back and happy to welcome you to the Africa Festival 2014. Last year, we suffered from a huge financial loss, but experienced a big wave of cooperativeness. Many big and small donations, the cooperation of many partners, the support from the city of Würzburg and the Free State of Bavaria made it possible to minimize the loss, so that we are able to continue. At this point, we would like to express our special thanks to everybody who helped us. THANK YOU!

 

This year we invite you to a musical journey through the African continent and its islands. If you travel through Africa, you should bring along nosiness and a desire to get into the new and unknown. This also applies to our programme. Out of 19 invited bands and soloists - 15 have never been our guests yet. There are many things to discover at the 26th Africa Festival - join us.

 

As we had our very own special experience with the (high) water, last year, we could not totally free ourselves from this subject. Thatʼs why we present a lot of musicians from African and Caribbean islands. The route of our island hopping leads us to Guadeloupe, to the Cape Verde, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago as well as for the first time to the Comoros. Furthermore, the exhibition at the city Library in Würzburg - with photographs of Rui Camilo - aims one archipelago: Sao Tome and Principe. That sounds quite exotic? Youʼre right! Be ready to be surprised. We promise you: it´s worth it!

 

If someone misses the „big names” this year - yes, we did this deliberately. A festival like ours should and wants to present a wide range of musical variety and particularly present new forms of expressions. Therefore weʼve put our tentacles out to find less known bands and musicians or even newcomers.

 

Look forward to the brilliant young singer Gasandji, who will open the festival. We are persuaded that she is at the beginning of a great career. Don´t miss the Garifuna collective, who carries on the tradition of the unforgettable Andy Palacio. Be nosy and have a look how the Afro German singer Y´akoto, who had a furious premiere at our festival in 2011, evolved. She is going to present songs of her brand-new CD for the first time. Celebrate a wild Caribbean Carnival party with the “young-at-heart” Jolly Boys and Calypso Rose. And be curious about African music “Made in Würzburg”- when Pupkulies & Rebecca meet the Cape Verdean singer and guitarist Tibau. Finally we are glad to introduce the Senegalese singer Cheikh Lô, who was on our wishlist for a very long time.

 

Once again the TV station ARTE is media partner of the Africa Festival. Just like last year it is planned that the most important concerts of the festival will be recorded and available online at “ARTE Concert” concert.arte.tv die wichtigsten Konzerte des Festivals.

 

We made some minor changes at the festival ground, but donʼt worry - you won´t miss proven things. At the ARTE cinema tent, you can get inspired for a journey to the African islands. Of course, you also have our kids programme and the big bazaar, where you will find handmade craftwork, fashion and a lot more.

 

We are looking forward to welcoming you aboard for our journey through Africa.

Your Afro Project Team


 
trennlinie_840

 

 
head_26_abendprogramm_e




26_gasanji

THURSDAY, 29 MAY 2014:

GASANDJI

THE FESTIVAL INSIDER

Gasandji - that's a new name in the African music scene. The young fashion-conscious lady with her distinctive, crazy hairstyle is from the Democratic Republic of Congo. Nowadays she lives in Paris. Her name means something like: The one who creates consciousness. And that's indeed what she does with her glamorous voice and her filigree songs in which the traditions of her home melt together with soul, pop, reggae and a bit of jazz to an urban style that doesn't deny its origin. Her first album was published in September 2013. In France, she stands on a par with stars like Lokua Kanza, Erykah Badu, Keziah Jones and Rokia Traore. This year she's coming to Germany for the very first time. It's your own fault, if you try to resist her charm and magic. Gasandji definitely is the insider tip of this year's festival.

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

FOLK POET FROM MALI

Ever since she released her debut album "Fatou" in 2011 her popularity steadily increases. She already proved her talent at the 25th Africa Festival on the Open Stage. She even got awarded with the Africa Festival Award 2013. When the song poet learned from the extent of last yearʼs flood, she spontaneously decided to play again in Würzburg. On stage, the composer, singer, dancer and guitarist is a real pleasure for eyes and ears. But she also knows how to transmit important content - as a fighter and ambassadress for peace, freedom, justice and womenʼs rights.

26_fatoumata_diawara

trennlinie_840

26_mayra_andrade

FRIDAY, 30 MAY 2014:

MAYRA ANDRADE

WORLD POP
FROM CAPE VERDE

The singer and composer Mayra Andrade is part of a young generation of Cape Verdean musicians. Following the legacy of Cesaria Evora, they brought the music of Cape Verde back into the spotlight. Based on their traditional roots, they opened up for new influences such as Pop and Chanson. In 2006, the Africa Festival presented Mayra for the first time. At that time, the 22-year-old singer and composer was rather traditionally oriented. Nowadays, she is stylistically open and refers to her new album “Lovely Difficult” as Cape Verdean Pop Music – not denying her origins. The 28-year-old, sings in French, English, Portuguese and Creole. Today, she is one of the most important voices of Cape Verde.

26_garifuna

GARIFUNA COLLECTIVE

THE RHYTHM OF BELIZE

Five years after the legendary Andy Palacio passed away – his former band members, the Garifuna Collective, continue his mission and bring it into the future. Palacio, who gave a memorable concert at the Africa Festival in 2007, had the aim to save the music of the Central American mini-state Belize and to make it accessible for more people. Shortly after the release of his CD “Watina”, Andy Palacio died from a heart attack in 2008. His former band members needed five years to recover the shock until they became active again in 2013 with their new album “Ayo” – but with a slightly different constellation. Now theyʼre back and the collective of men and women shows that the Garifuna music didnʼt loose any of its appeal. Driving rhythms - played on traditional drums, intense call and response-chants and all kinds of stringed instruments create an infectious conglomerate that draws deep from Africaʼs history.

trennlinie_840

26_jolly_boys

SATURDAY, 31 MAY 2014:

THE JOLLY BOYS

POP GOES MENTO

The Jolly Boys are a music group from Port Antonio in Jamaica. For nearly 60 years, the band, with its original members, still plays the Mento - the traditional Folklore Music of Jamaica. A music style that is considered as predecessor of Ska and Reggae. The most important Mento instruments are banjo, guitar, maracas, bongos and the rumba box (a sort of Cajon). In 2009, after a long and busy career, they were rediscovered by producer Jon Baker who made them record an album with famous rock hits in the mento sound. This abruptly brought them back into the spotlight. Whoever wants to know how “Rehab” from Amy Winehouse, “Riders on the Storm” from the Doors or “Ring of Fire” from Jonny Cash sound like when they are rotated by the “Mento-mill”, needs to listen to these young-at-heart old men. Party and fun guaranteed!

26_calypso_rose

CALYPSO ROSE

QUEEN OF CALYPSO

When Calypso Rose from the Caribbean island nation of Trinidad and Tobago is dancing on stage and joking with the audience - you hardly notice her 74 years. That's when she develops an irresistible energy and power - wrapping her fans around her finger with the help of her broad smile - in seconds. The Calypso Queen, who has written around 800 songs and recorded 25 albums, emits charm and charisma which is hard to resist. They call her "Queen of Calypso"- and she really is a true ambassador of Caribbean music. The talented performer creates a hot Calypso-party and literally transforms the atmosphere into the Caribbean Carneval.

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, 1 JUNE 2014:

Y'AKOTO

JAZZY AFRO-SOUL

In 2011, the Afro-German singer Yʼakoto delighted the audience at the Africa Festival with her jazzy Afro-Soul from her debut album “Baby Blues”. The daughter of a Ghanaian father and a German mother was born in Hamburg, but spent very much of her youth in African countries such as Ghana, Togo, Cameroon, Chad and Niger, together with her parents. Thatʼs how she became a wanderer between the worlds and this is also reflected in her music, which draws from various sources. She commutes restless between styles and forms them to a new whole. Nothing seems strange to her and she doesnʼt fear any contact with new music. She combines Pop, Jazz and Soul with a significant Afro-Approach and puts them together to an own, individual style. And not to forget - her strong stage presence. For this yearʼs Africa Festival - Yʼakoto is going to present her brand new album which will be released in early 2014.

26_yakoto

26_cheikh_lo

CHEIKH LO

SALSA MEETS MBALAX

The singer and guitarist Cheikh Lô comes from a small town called Bobo Dioulasso in Burkina Faso near the Malian border. The son of Senegalese parents, who went to Dakar in 1978, is difficult to classify when it comes to his music. He grew up with Cuban Son and Salsa and soon added Senegalese Mbalax, Wassoulou from Mali, but also pan-African styles such as Highlife, Funk and Afropop, to his music. Until today, the man with the impressive dreadlocks, has remained loyal to this ecstatic grooving mix. Alongside Youssou N'Dour, he is one of the most important voices of Senegal and we finally managed to invite him for the Africa Festival.

 
trennlinie_840
 
 
head_26AF_offenebuehne_e

THURSDAY, 29 MAY 2014:

BIBOUL DAROUICHE & SOLEIL BANTU

JAZZY AFROBEAT

The singer and percussionist Biboul Darouiche from Cameroon and his band Soleil Bantu enrich polyrhythmic Afrobeat and Afrojazz with a spicy breeze of Rap and Pop. Darouiche himself as well as drummer Christian Lettner, guitarist Martin Scales and keyboarder Michael Hornek play at Klaus Doldingers legendary band “Passport”. The versed musicians don´t have any trouble to play this racy style mix and the audience will have high spirits within very short time.

25_soleil_bantu

26_nomsa

NOMSA MAZWAI

RISING STAR FROM JO’BURG

At home, the South African singer Nomsa Mazwai is getting predictions for a great future. Originally she is from Johannesburg and grew up in Soweto. She already found her own style of music, where she puts together her poetry texts with elements of Classic Jazz, Drum & Bass, Neo Soul, electronic tones and African rhythms. Even though she is at the beginning of her career, her first CD has been awarded with the South African prize for the best African alternative album.

trennlinie_840

FRIDAY, 30 MAY 2014:

MALAIKA KANZA

YOUNG VOICE FROM CONGO

Malaika Kanza from the Democratic Republic of Congo gained her first musical experience in the band of her famous father Lokua Kanza, who is a popular regular guest at the Africa Festival. Now she is starting to promote her own career with her extraordinary voice. Musically she follows the traces of her father, but you can also clearly recognize her own style.

26_malaika_kanza

26_debademba

DEBADEMBA

MANDINGUE MEETS BLUES

Debademba means „big family” in the language of the Bambara. In the center of this family are the virtuoso guitarist Abdoulaye Traoré from Burkina Faso and the expressive singer Mohamed Diaby. The duo doesnʼt know any fear of contact. Therefore you will find Mandingue structures, Arabic influence as well as rocky and bluesy tones in their songs. It is amazing that this variety of musical influences create such dense and homogenous songs, which are able to cast the audience into their spell immediately.

FM LAETI

SUNNY SONGS FROM GUADELOUPE

The singer from the Caribbean island Guadeloupe was supposed to play at the 25th Africa Festival - but unfortunately her planned concert literally fell into the (high) water. She already got in touch with music as a teenager, because her father played drums with the Zouk-pioneers Kassav. Her songs are characterised by irresistible melodic richness and a happy ease. Best example: her hit “Rise in the Sun”, which musically lets the sun shine.

25_fm_laeti

trennlinie_840

26_mounawar

SATURDAY, 31 MAY 2014:

MOUNAWAR

FUNK AND MORE FROM COMORE ISLANDS

For the very first time, thereʼs a guest from the Comoros at the Africa Festival - the singer and guitarist Mounawar. The archipelago forms a little state in the Indian Ocean between Mozambique and Madagascar. If you listen to Mounawars headstrong music, you might think that at his concerts the funk is at home. The musician also plays silent tones and besides his accented guitar play, he fascinates with his extraordinary voice. He sings his lyrics in the national language Comoro which is derived from Kiswahili.

LA CARAVANE DU MAGHREB

GNAWA MEETS FLAMENCO

For more than 13 years the musical caravan has been going through the countries with their ritual Gnawa music. They combine traditional instruments like Gimbri, Oud and metal castanets with accordion and the guitar. The Gnawa are an ethnical minority in Morocco, whose ancestors were slaves from West African countries, who have been displaced by force and sold. You will also find the origins of Flamenco in their music.

 

26_la_Caravane_du_maghreb

 

26_lindigo

LINDIGO

MALOYA POWER FROM LA RÉUNION

The collective of musicians from the island La Réunion brings traditional Maloya music to the modern age with their pushing rhythms. Maloya traces back to the African slaves, who have been displaced to be exploited for the sugarcane harvest. The “Blues from Réunion” has not been rediscovered until the 1970s. The focus is on percussion instruments like vibrating bells and drums.

trennlinie_840

26_pupkulies

SUNDAY, 1 JUNE 2014:

PUPKULIES & REBECCA
FEATS. TIBAU

WÜRZBURG MEETS CAPE VERDE

This is something new: African music from Würzburg. The electronic duo Pupkulies and Rebecca normally live in another musical scene. But now they got together with the Cape Verdean singer, guitarist and composer Tibau Tavares. Now both worlds of Chanson, House and Pop as well as the Cape Verdean Folk songs seamlessly connect. World Music without frontiers.

ERIK ALIANA

SONGWRITER FROM CAMEROON

The singer and guitarist Erik Aliana comes from a rural area in the north of Cameroon. At an early age he already got in touch with the urban culture of the capital city Yaounde - where he also went to school. In 1999 he founded his band Korongo Jam, which still plays together. The hallmark of the band are easy going songs with infective melodies.

26_erik_aliana

26_neuza

NEUZA

NEW VOICE FROM CAPE VERDE

The singer Neuza comes from the Cape Verdean volcanic island Fogo. Her mother, a famous singer, died when Neuza was six years old. To find a job, she went to the capital city Praia to work as a waitress at a music restaurant. She constantly performed at this place - where she was discovered by a producer, who was astonished by her crystal clear voice. In 2013, she released her first CD “Flor de Bila”, which had greatsuccess at the Cape Verde, as well as in Portugal.

trennlinie_840

v

Tribal

26. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2014)

head_willkommen_2014

 

26_trinidad

 

LIEBE FREUNDE DES AFRICA FESTIVALS!


Ja, es gibt uns noch. Nach der Überschwemmungskatastrophe im vergangenen Jahr sind wir wieder da und können Sie und Euch auch 2014 wieder zum Africa Festival willkommen heißen. Wir haben im letzten Jahr einen großen finanziellen Verlust erlitten, aber uns schlug, um im Bild zu bleiben, nach der Flutwelle eine riesige Welle der Hilfsbereitschaft entgegen. Viele große und kleine Spenden, das Entgegenkommen vieler Partner, die Unterstützung durch die Stadt Würzburg und den Freistaat Bayern haben dazu beigetragen, den Verlust so zu minimieren, dass wir wieder an den Start gehen können. Allen, die uns geholfen haben, daher an dieser Stelle ein riesengroßes DANKESCHÖN!

 

Wir laden Sie in diesem Jahr zu einer musikalischen Reise durch den afrikanischen Kontinent und seine Inseln ein. Wer eine Reise durch Afrika unternimmt, sollte Neugierde und die Lust, sich auf Neues und Unbekanntes einzulassen, mitbringen. Das gilt auch für unser Programm. Von den 19 Bands und Solisten, die wir in diesem Jahr eingeladen haben, waren 15 noch nie bei uns zu Gast. Es gibt also viel zu entdecken beim 26. Africa Festival. Brechen Sie mit uns auf zu neuen Ufern.

 

Da wir im letzten Jahr unsere ganz speziellen Erfahrungen mit dem Thema (Hoch)Wasser gemacht haben, konnten wir uns davon natürlich nicht ganz lösen. Deshalb stellen wir in diesem Jahr mehrere Musiker von afrikanischen und karibischen Inseln vor. Die Route unseres Insel-Hoppings führt dabei nach Guadeloupe, zu den Kapverden, nach Jamaika, Trinidad and Tobago sowie erstmals auf die Komoren. Auch unsere Ausstellung in der Stadtbücherei mit Fotografien von Rui Camilo, die wir Ihnen sehr ans Herz legen, hat eine Inselgruppe zum Ziel: São Tomé und Principe. Das klingt alles ziemlich exotisch und ist es auch. Seien Sie bereit sich überraschen zu lassen. Wir versprechen Ihnen: Es lohnt sich.

 

Wer in unserem diesjährigen Programm die „ganz großen Namen” vermisst, ja, auf die haben wir diesmal ganz bewusst verzichtet. Ein Festival wie dieses soll und möchte eine breite musikalische Palette präsentieren und vor allem auch neue Ausdrucksformen vorstellen. Deshalb haben wir unsere Fühler nach dem weniger Bekannten und Neuartigen ausgestreckt.

 

Freuen Sie sich auf die großartige junge Sängerin Gasandji, die das Festival eröffnen wird. Wir sind uns sicher, dass sie am Start einer großen Karriere steht. Lassen Sie sich das Garifuna Collective nicht entgehen, das die Tradition des unvergessenen Andy Palacio weiterführt. Seien Sie neugierig wie die afrodeutsche Sängerin Y’akoto, die 2011 eine furiose Premiere bei uns hatte, sich weiter entwickelt hat. Sie wird erstmals die Songs ihrer brandneuen CD präsentieren. Oder feiern Sie eine rauschende karibische Karnevalsparty mit den alten jung gebliebenen Jolly Boys und Calypso Rose. Und seien Sie gespannt auf afrikanische Musik „Made in Würzburg”, wenn Pupkulies & Rebecca  sich mit dem kapverdischen Sänger und Gitarristen Tibau treffen. Und wir sind froh endlich den Senegalesen Cheikh Lô vorstellen zu können, der schon lange auf unserer Wunschliste stand.

 

Der Fernsehsender ARTE ist erneut Medienpartner des Africa Festivals. Auch in diesem Jahr überträgt „ARTE Concert” unter concert.arte.tv die wichtigsten Konzerte des Festivals.

 

Auf dem Festivalgelände wird es ein paar Veränderungen geben, aber Sie werden deshalb auf Bewährtes nicht verzichten müssen. Im ARTE Kinozelt können Sie sich unter anderem zu einer Reise auf die Inseln Afrikas inspirieren lassen. Wir werden wieder ein Kinderprogramm präsentieren und im großen Basar können Sie afrikanisches Kunsthandwerk, Mode und vieles mehr entdecken.

 

 

Wir freuen uns auf Sie als neugierige „Passagiere” bei unserer Reise durch Afrika.

 

Ihr Afro Project Team

 

 

trennlinie_840

 

head_26_abendprogramm

26_gasanji

DONNERSTAG, 29. MAI 2014:

GASANDJI

DER FESTIVAL GEHEIMTIPP 

Gasandji - das ist ein neuer Name in der afrikanischen Musikszene. Die junge modebewusste Dame mit dem markanten Haardutt auf dem kahlen Kopf  stammt aus der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, lebt aber schon lange in Paris. Ihr Name bedeutet: Die, die Bewusstsein schafft. Und das tut sie mit ihrer betörenden Stimme und ihren filigranen Songs. Die Tradition ihrer Heimat verschmilzt darin mit Soul, Pop, Reggae und einer Prise Jazz zu einem urbanen Stil, der seine Herkunft nicht verleugnet. Im September 2013 erschien ihre erste CD. In Frankreich steht sie neben Stars wie Lokua Kanza, Erykah Badu, Keziah Jones oder Rokia Traore auf einer Stufe. In diesem Jahr kommt sie erstmals nach Deutschland. Wer ihrem Charme und ihrer Magie nicht verfällt, ist selbst schuld. Gasandji ist der große (Geheim)Tipp des diesjährigen Festivals.

 

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

FOLK-POETIN AUS MALI

Seit sie 2011 ihr Debütalbum “Fatou” veröffentlicht hat, zeigt ihre Popularitätskurve stetig nach oben. Warum dies so ist, zeigte sie bereits beim 25. Africa Festival auf der Offenen Bühne. Als sie vom ganzen Ausmaß der Überschwemmungskatastrophe erfuhr, erklärte sich die mit dem Festival Award 2013 ausgezeichnete Songpoetin aus Dankbarkeit spontan bereit ein weiteres Mal in Würzburg zu spielen. Die Komponistin, Sängerin, Tänzerin, Gitarristin ist auf der Bühne ein Genuss für Augen und Ohren. Aber auch inhaltlich hat die Kämpferin und Botschafterin für Frieden, Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Frauenrechte eine ganze Menge mitzuteilen.

 

26_fatoumata_diawara

trennlinie_840

26_mayra_andrade

FREITAG, 30. MAI 2014:

MAYRA ANDRADE

WORLD POP VON DEN KAPVERDEN

Die Sängerin und Komponistin Mayra Andrade gehört zur jungen Generation kapverdischer Musiker, die in der Gefolgschaft von Cesaria Evora die Musik dieser Inselgruppe neu in den Blickpunkt gerückt haben. Auf der Basis der traditionellen Wurzeln haben sie sich neuen Einflüssen wie Pop und Chanson geöffnet. 2006 präsentierte das Africa Festival die damals 22-Jährige zum ersten Mal. Damals noch sehr traditionsorientiert hat sie sich zwischenzeitlich stilistisch geöffnet und bezeichnet ihr neues Album „Lovely Difficult“ als „kapverdische Popmusik“, ohne dabei ihre Herkunft zu verleugnen. Die inzwischen 28-Jährige singt in Französisch, Englisch, Portugiesisch und Kreolisch und gehört heute zu den wichtigsten Stimmen der Kapverden.

 

26_garifuna

 

GARIFUNA COLLECTIVE

DER RHYTHMUS VON BELIZE

Fünf Jahre nach dem Tod des legendären Andy Palacio setzt dessen frühere Begleitband, das Garifuna Collective, dessen musikalische Mission fort und führt sie in die Zukunft. Palacio, der 2007 ein denkwürdiges Konzert beim Africa Festival gab, hatte sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Musik des zentralamerikanischen Zwergstaates Belize dem Vergessen zu entreißen und einem breiten Publikum bekannt zu machen. Kurz nachdem seine CD „Watina“ erschien, verstarb Andy Palacio 2008 an einem Herzinfarkt. Es dauerte fünf Jahre, bis seine früheren Mitmusiker sich von dem Schock erholt hatten und 2013 mit dem Album „Ayo“ in veränderter Besetzung wieder aktiv wurden. Jetzt sind sie wieder da und das Kollektiv aus Männern und Frauen zeigt, dass die Garifuna-Musik nichts von ihrer Anziehungskraft verloren hat. Treibende, mit traditionellen Trommeln gespielte Rhythmen, intensive Call and Response-Gesänge und allerlei besaitetes Instrumentarium sorgen für ein ansteckendes Konglomerat, das tief aus der Geschichte Afrikas schöpft.

trennlinie_840

26_jolly_boys

 

SAMSTAG, 31. MAI 2014:

THE JOLLY BOYS

POP GOES MENTO

The Jolly Boys sind eine Musikgruppe aus Port Antonio in Jamaika. Seit gut 60 Jahren spielt die noch heute originalbesetzte Band, den Mento, die traditionelle Folkloremusik Jamaikas. Ein Musikstil der als Vorläufer von Ska und Reggae gilt. Die wichtigsten Mento-Instrumente sind Banjo, Gitarre, Maracas, Bongos und die Rumba-Box (eine Art Cajon). Nach einer langen und bewegten Karriere wurden sie 2009 von Produzent Jon Baker neu entdeckt, der sie ein Album mit bekannten Rock-Hits im Mento Sound aufnehmen ließ, was sie schlagartig wieder ins Rampenlicht brachte. Wer wissen will wie Rehab von Amy Winehouse, Riders on the Storm von den Doors oder Ring of Fire von Johnny Cash klingen, wenn sie durch die Mento-Mühle gedreht werden, muss sich diese jung gebliebenen alten Herren anhören. Partyfaktor eins mit Stern!

26_calypso_rose

CALYPSO ROSE

DIE KÖNIGIN DES CALYPSO

Wenn Calypso Rose aus dem karibischen Inselstaat Trinidad and Tobago über die Bühne tänzelt und mit dem Publikum ihre Späße treibt, merkt man ihr ihre 74 Jahre nicht an. Dann entwickelt sie eine unwiderstehliche Energie und Power und wickelt ihre Zuhörer mit einem breiten Grinsen in Sekundenschnelle um den Finger. Die Calypso-Queen, die an die 800 Songs verfasst und  25 Alben aufgenommen hat, versprüht Charme und Charisma, denen man nur schwer widerstehen kann. Sie ist eine wahre Botschafterin der karibischen Musik und gilt in ihrer Heimat als die „Königin des Calypso”. Das Showtalent entführt mit seiner heißen Calypso-Party mitten hinein in den karibischen Karneval.

 

trennlinie_840

SONNTAG, 1. JUNI 2014:

Y'AKOTO

JAZZY AFRO-SOUL

Die afrodeutsche Sängerin Y'akoto sorgte 2011 mit ihrem Debutalbum „Baby Blues" für Furore und begeisterte mit ihrem angejazzten Afro-Soul das Publikum beim Africa Festival. Die Tochter eines Ghanaers und einer Deutschen wurde in Hamburg geboren, verbrachte aber mit ihren Eltern einen Großteil ihrer Jugend in afrikanischen Ländern wie Ghana, Togo, Kamerun, Tschad und Niger. So wurde sie zu einer Wandlerin zwischen den Welten und das schlägt sich auch in ihrer Musik nieder, die sich aus den verschiedensten Quellen speist. Rastlos pendelt sie zwischen den Stilen und formt sie zu einer neuen Einheit. Nichts scheint ihr fremd zu sein, schon gar nicht kennt sie musikalische Berührungsängste. Pop, Jazz und Soul kombiniert mit einem deutlichen Afro-Approach fügt sie zu einem eigenen, individuellen Stil zusammen. Dazu kommt ihre ausgeprägte Bühnenpräsenz. Zum Africa Festival wird Y'akoto ihre nagelneue CD mitbringen, die im Frühjahr 2014 erscheint.

 

26_yakoto

26_cheikh_lo

CHEIKH LO

SALSA MEETS MBALAX

Der Sänger und Gitarrist Cheikh Lo stammt aus der Kleinstadt Bobo Dioulasso in Burkina Faso nahe der malischen Grenze. Der Sohn senegalesischer Eltern, der 1978 nach Dakar ging, lässt sich musikalisch nur schwer einordnen. Aufgewachsen mit kubanischem Son und Salsa, fügte er seiner Musik schon bald senegalesischen Mbalax, Wassoulou-Musik aus Mali, aber auch panafrikanische Stile wie Highlife, Funk und Afropop hinzu. Diesem ekstatisch groovenden Gebräu ist der Mann mit den eindrucksvollen Dreadlocks bis heute treu geblieben. Neben Youssou N’Dour ist er eine der wichtigsten Stimmen des Senegal. Und endlich ist es gelungen, ihn auch einmal zum Africa Festival zu holen.

 

 
trennlinie_840
 
 
head_26AF_offenebuehne

Donnerstag, 29. Mai 2014:

BIBOUL DAROUICHE & SOLEIL BANTU

JAZZY AFROBEAT

Der aus Kamerun stammende Percussionist und Sänger Biboul Darouiche und seine Band  Soleil Bantu reichern polyrhythmischen Afrobeat und Afrojazz mit einer würzigen Brise Rap und Pop an. Sowohl Darouiche selbst, als auch Drummer Christian Lettner, Gitarrist Martin Scales und Keyboarder Michael Hornek gehören zu Klaus Doldingers legendärer Band Passport. Den versierten Musikern geht der rasante Stilmix locker von der Hand und sorgt beim Publikum schnell für gute Laune.

 

25_soleil_bantu

26_nomsa

NOMSA MAZWAI

RISING STAR FROM JO’BURG

Der südafrikanischen Sängerin Nomsa Mazwai wird in ihrer Heimat eine große Zukunft prophezeit. Sie stammt aus Johannesburg und wuchs in Soweto auf. Musikalisch hat sie schon einen ganz eigenen Stil gefunden, in dem sie ihre poetischen Texte mit Elementen aus klassischem Jazz, Drum & Bass, Neo Soul, elektronischen Klängen und afrikanischen Rhythmen  begleitet. Obwohl noch am Anfang ihrer Karriere wurde ihre erste CD bereits mit dem südafrikanischen Preis als bestes afrikanisches Alternative-Album ausgezeichnet.

 

trennlinie_840

Freitag, 30. Mai 2014:

MALAIKA KANZA

YOUNG VOICE FROM CONGO

Malaika Kanza aus der Demokratischen Republik Kongo hat in der Band ihres berühmten Vaters Lokua Kanza, einem beliebten Stammgast beim Afrika Festival, erste musikalische Erfahrungen gesammelt. Jetzt beginnt sie mit ihrer außergewöhnlichen Stimme ihre Karriere auf eigene Füße zu stellen. Sie bewegt sich musikalisch auf den Spuren ihres Vaters, lässt aber bereits auch deutlich eigene Wege erkennen.

 

26_malaika_kanza

26_debademba

DEBADEMBA

MANDINGUE MEETS BLUES

Debademba bedeutet in der Sprache der Bambara „Große Familie”. Im Mittelpunkt dieser ­Familie stehen der virtuose Gitarrist Abdoulaye Traoré aus Burkina Faso und der ausdrucksstarke Sänger Mohamed Diaby. Das Duo kennt keine Berührungsängste und deshalb finden sich in ihren Songs Mandingue-Strukturen und arabische Einflüsse ebenso wie rockige und bluesige Töne. Erstaunlich, dass bei dieser Vielfalt musikalischer Einflüsse dichte und homogene Songs entstehen, die den Hörer sofort in den Bann ziehen.

 

FM LAETI

SUNNY SONGS FROM GUADELOUPE

Die Sängerin von der Karibikinsel Guadeloupe hätte eigentlich schon beim 25. Africa Festival auftreten sollen, doch fiel ihr geplantes Konzert buchstäblich ins (Hoch)Wasser. Schon als Jugendliche kam sie mit Musik in Berührung, denn ihr Vater trommelte bei den Zouk-Pionieren Kassav. Ihre Songs zeichnen sich durch einen unwiderstehlichen Melodienreichtum und eine fröhliche Leichtigkeit aus. Bestes Beispiel: Ihr Hit „Rise in the Sun”, der die Sonne musikalisch scheinen lässt.

 

25_fm_laeti

trennlinie_840

26_mounawar

Samstag, 31. Mai 2014:

MOUNAWAR

FUNK AND MORE FROM COMORE ISLANDS

Mit dem Sänger und Gitarristen Mounawar ist zum ersten Mal ein Musiker von den Komoren zu Gast beim Africa Festival. Die Inselgruppe bildet einen kleinen Staat im Indischen Ozean zwischen Mozambique und Madagaskar. Hört man Mounawars eigenwillige Musik, könnte man schnell zu dem Schluss kommen: Auf den Komoren geht der Funk ab. Daneben beherrscht Mounawar aber auch ruhige Töne und neben seinem akzentuierten Gitarrenspiel fasziniert seine eigenwillige Stimme. Seine Texte singt er in der vom Kisuaheli abgeleiteten Landessprache Comoro.

 

LA CARAVANE DU MAGHREB

GNAWA MEETS FLAMENCO

Die musikalische Karawane zieht schon seit über 13 Jahren mit ihrer rituellen Gnawa-Musik durch die Lande. Zu den traditionellen Instrumenten wie Gimbri, Oud und den ­Metallkastagnetten fügen sie Akkordeon und Gitarre hinzu. Die Gnawa sind eine ethnische Minderheit in Marokko, deren Vorfahren Sklaven aus westafrikanischen Ländern waren, die gewaltsam verschleppt und verkauft wurden. In ihrer Musik werden auch die Ursprünge des Flamenco offengelegt.

 

26_la_Caravane_du_maghreb

 

26_lindigo
 

LINDIGO

MALOYA POWER FROM LA RÉUNION

Das Musikerkollektiv von der Insel La Réunion führt die traditionelle Maloya-Musik mit ihren treibenden Rhythmen in die Neuzeit. Der Maloya geht auf afrikanische Sklaven zurück, die auf die Insel verschleppt wurden, um bei der Zuckerrohrernte ausgebeutet zu werden. Der „Blues von Réunion” wurde erst in den 1970er Jahren wiederentdeckt. Im Mittelpunkt stehen traditionelle Percussionsinstrumente wie Rasseln und Trommeln.

trennlinie_840

26_pupkulies

Sonntag, 1. Juni 2014:

PUPKULIES & REBECCA
FEATS. TIBAU

WÜRZBURG MEETS CAPE VERDE

Das ist mal was Neues: Afrikanische Musik aus Würzburg. Das Electronic-Duo Pupkulies und Rebecca ist eigentlich in einer anderen musikalischen Szene zu Hause. Doch jetzt haben sich die beiden mit dem kapverdischen Sänger, Gitarristen und Komponisten Tibau Tavares zusammengetan und siehe da, die beiden Welten aus Chanson, House und Pop sowie den kapverdischen Folksongs fügen sich nahtlos zusammen: Weltmusik, die keine Grenzen kennt.

 

ERIK ALIANA

SONGWRITER FROM CAMEROON

Der Sänger und Gitarrist Erik Aliana stammt aus einer ländlichen Gegend im Norden Kameruns. Schon in jungen Jahren kam er in Kontakt zur urbanen Kultur der Hauptstadt Yaounde, wo er zur Schule ging. 1999 gründete er seine Band Korongo Jam, mit der er heute noch zusammenspielt. Ihr Markenzeichen sind luftig-leichte Songs mit ansteckenden Melodien.

 

26_erik_aliana

26_neuza

NEUZA

NEW VOICE FROM CAPE VERDE

Die Sängerin Neuza stammt von der kapverdischen Vulkaninsel Fogo. Ihre Mutter, eine bekannte Sängerin, starb als Neuza sechs Jahre alt war. Um Arbeit zu finden, ging sie in die Hauptstadt Praia, wo sie in einem Musikrestaurant als Bedienung tätig war. Dort trat sie immer wieder spontan auf und wurde von einem Produzenten entdeckt, der von ihrer kristallklaren Stimme begeistert war. 2013 erschien ihre erste CD „Flor de Bila” die sowohl auf den Kapverden als auch in Portugal ein großer Erfolg war.

 

trennlinie_840

v