Tribal

30. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2018)

EVENING PROGRAMME | CIRCUS TENT

THURSDAYFRIDAYSATURDAYSUNDAY

 ◊ THURSDAY, 31 May 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

WOMAN POWER FROM MALI

Her debut album ´Fatou´ (2011) featuring the hit “Sowa“ conquered the charts of the world music scene. She was the lead of several movies and theatre plays. Her last projects were the collaboration with Cuban musician Roberto Fonseca (”At Home“ / 2015), the fusion album “Lamomali“ (2017) with French rock musician Matthieu Chedid, as well as the documentary “Mali Blues“. Last year she performed on stage at the Africa festival with Tuareg Ahmed Ag Kaedy, one of the protagonists from this movie. By popular request we have invited the fighter for the rights of women in Africa again to make the festival tent boil. In 2013 she received the Africa Festival Award.

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

MANU DIBANGO

THE GREAT MUSICAL ICON FROM CAMEROON

Ever since Emmanuel N´Djoké Dibango, born in Douala on 12 December 1933, rather randomly conquered the charts in the USA with the song “Soul Makossa“, the B side of his single, everyone has been talking about him. With his great talent as a saxophone player and pianist, he manages to add his personal African touch to any style, whether it is funk, bebop, jazz, hip-hop or reggae.  His albums “Gone Clear“ (1980), “Electric Africa“ (1985), “Afrijazzy“ (1986) and “Wakafrika“(1994) are milestones of the African music scene. His duets with Lucky Dube (1998) and Klaus Doldinger (2008) were unforgettable highlights of the Africa Festival. Thus he feels honoured to once again take over the patronage at the 30th anniversary of the festival.

© Louis Vincent

 ◊ FRIDAY, 01 June 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

LOKUA KANZA

THE FINE VOICE FROM THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO

Lokua Kanza has been accompanying the Africa Festival like no other African artist. Ever since his first performance in 1998 at the 7th Africa Festival, he has been enthusing the audience with his performances again and again with timeless and terrific musical quality. Having an anniversary without him would be unthinkable. In 1991 he took his first big steps in the “Soul Makossa Band“ of Manu Dibango and the “Bwana Zolou Gang” of Ray Lema. They inevitably lead him to a successful solo career. As a songwriter he even wrote some tailor-made songs for the amazing Miriam Makeba (CD “Homeland“ / 2000). Therefore he will remember the great Mama Africa during this concert evening in the main tent, too. In 2006 he was given the Africa Festival Award for his musical talent.

© Christophe Campana

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

ANGELIQUE KIDJO

THE AMAZON FROM BENIN

Ever since she took her first musical steps in Jasper van’t Hof’s formation ‘Pili-Pili’, Angélique Kidjo has been continually advancing her music and has arrived at the Mount Olympus of international musicians. Several Grammy awards, projects with Carlos Santana, duets with Alicia Keys, the release of her biography “Spirit Rising”, as well as her work as an UNICEF ambassador are only a fraction of her sublime career. Today Benin-born power woman Angélique is living and commuting between New York and Paris and always looking for new challenges. Her great role model: Miriam Makeba! At Miriam Makeba’s official farewell concert here at the 18th Africa Festival in 2006 she was present on stage and performed “Malaika” in honour of her. She ranked second in the voting of the audience.

 ◊ SATURDAY, 02 June 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

HABIB KOITÉ & BAMADA

THE GUITAR KING FROM BAMAKO

His hit “No More Cigarette Abana“ will not be the only song which Habib Koité will sing together with the festival audience when he’ll step on the stage of the main circus tent for the 7th time since his first performance at the 8th Africa Festival. Despite his growing success, the exceptional guitar player and singer from Mali has remained the same sociable and nice person. Today he spends his time jamming with blues man Eric Bibb (“Brothers In Bamako“ / 2012), gathers the musicians of his house band to occasionally perform at his own hotel “Maya´s Place“ in Bamako or set out with them to a big world tour. Thus, the 30th anniversary of the festival in Würzburg is a must for him and us. He ranked 3rd in the voting of the audience!

© Maciej Kaczynski

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

HOT WATER

SOUTH AFRICAN FOLK ROCK

It’s impossible to listen to Hot Water. To just listen. Because when Donovan Copley, the band’s founder, frontman, and creative heart, starts singing, playing (often his iconic African guitar), jiving and jumping around on stage, backed up by a mix of stellar South African musicians who are as diverse as the country itself, you can’t sit still…! The music – Copley calls it ‘South African Folk-Rock’ – mixes the sounds of traditional mbaqanga, kwela and maskanda with a more contemporary folk rock vibe, which is utterly danceable. Everything is interwoven by Copley’s raw, sweet voice and inspiring, almost dreamlike lyrics…“Easily one of the most exciting musical projects to come out of SA“ (The Citizen).

© Hylton Boucher

 ◊ SUNDAY, 03 June, 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

SONA JOBARTEH

MAGIC KORA SOUNDS FROM THE GAMBIA

In the caste of the West African griots playing the kora is traditionally passed on from father to son. Therefore the squad of outstanding kora virtuosos like Toumani Diabaté, Ballaké Sissoko or Tata Dindin, has always been a squad of men. Until a young woman, born in London in 1983 and a cousin of Toumani Diabaté, broke this tradition and has become one of the best of her field herself: Sona Jobarteh! As a griotte, it is her goal to understand the world and tradition of her ancestors from the Gambia and to pass them on to the younger generations, particularly to girls, in her own way. In Brikama / the Gambia she even founded the “Amadu Bansang Jobarteh School of Music“ for this purpose. After 2012 she will again be our guest at the festival.

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

ALPHA BLONDY

GREAT REGGAE VIBES FROM THE IVORY COAST

Besides Tiken Jah Fakoly and the late South African reggae star Lucky Dube, Alpha Blondy, born in 1953, is the reggae artist of the African continent. Every kid in West Africa knows his hits “Cocody Rock”, “Jerusalem” or “Sweet Fanta Diallo”. He and his formation “Solar System” are regular guests at worldwide annual reggae festivals. Every time he is there, he once again proves that good reggae vibes must not exclusively come from Jamaica, but can also be made at the black continent. By the way, politically and socially committed Seydou Koné, which is Alpha Blondy’s real name, gave his first concert in Würzburg at the 4th Africa Festival in 1992. It’s party time at the conclusion of the festival! He ranked 5th in the voting of the audience.
© Youri Lenquette

DAY PROGRAMME | OPEN STAGE

THURSDAYFRIDAYSATURDAYSUNDAY


 ◊ THURSDAY, MAY 31ST, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

 

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

SIDIKI DIABATÉ

THE NEW STAR OF AFRICAN URBAN MUSIC SCENE

The Malian singer Sidiki Diabaté, is an outstanding beat maker and Hip-Hop producer and also known as the Prince of Kora. He is considered as the new star of African urban music scene. With his songs featuring Booba, Niska or Fataby, Sidiki has manages to make a name himself on the African scene. His song „C'est bon“ feat. Iba One et Niska“ on YouTube has already 7.155.360 views. He performed on the world’s most prestigious stages alongside his father, the famous Master of Kora, Toumani Diabaté. He will have his debut concert in Germany at the International Africa Festival in Würzburg.

Showtime: 03 p.m.

DAARA J FAMILY

THE MOST FAMOUS HIP-HOP BAND FROM DAKAR

In 2001 the first Africa Festival award was given to the group Daara J for its musical talent and dynamic performances. After very famous solo projects the members of the group are now performing together again. Ever since their album “School of life“ Faada Freddy and N´Dongo D have been the heart of the Daara J Family. They label their music as socially committed “hip-hop born in Africa”. Their lyrics are in Wolof, French and English and in their music they combine the tradition of Senegalese griot with hip-hop, soul, funk and reggae.


 ◊ FRIDAY, JUNE 1ST, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

DOBET GNAHORÉ

MAGIC URBAN AFRICAN SOUL FROM THE IVORY COAST

In 2001 she had the privilege to start off the 13th Africa Festival with French guitar player Colin Laroche, who would later become her husband, as an acoustic duo, which was back then still completely unknown. Ever since this first performance, her career as an expressive musician and artist has been skyrocketing. Thus, in 2009 she received the coveted Grammy award in the category “Best Urban & Alternative Performance“. In 2010 the audience of the festival could assure itself of her talent. By popular demand we are delighted to welcome her on the Open Stage again.

Showtime: 03 p.m.

ALSARAH & THE NUBATONES

FRESH WORLD MUSIC FROM SUDAN

In 2010 Alsarah founded the Nubatones in New York with her sister Nahid. Until then she had been leading a chequered life. She was born in Khartum in 1982 and had to flee via Yemen into the USA in 1989 with her whole family. In the USA she successfully graduated in ethnomusicology, in the meantime was training her voice in various world music choirs, and was a part of the “Nile Project”. Currently with the Nubatones she is successfully alternating between traditional rhythms, afrobeat, pop and soul. Her new and sensational album is called “Ya Watan”.

Start of the show: 05 p.m.

MARIAMA

THE SONGWRITER LADY AND VOICE FROM FREETOWN

Mariama Jalloh was born in Freetown/Sierra Leone. She grew up in the German town Bergisch Gladbach and today feels at home in Paris, as well as Cologne and the rest of the world. She took her first musical steps with Adé Bantu’s “Brothers Keepers” and his “Afrobeat Academy”. In 2012 the singer and songwriter released her debut album “Easy Way Out”. Since then her voice has been appreciated by West African stars like Moh!Kouyaté (“Darre“) or Faada Freddy (“I Need A Dollar“), too.

© Sebastian Zapp Alott Meye


 ◊ SATURDAY, JUNE 2ND, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

ORQUESTA MERCADONEGRO

HOT SALSA FROM CUBA AND COLOMBIA

Orquesta Mercadonegro or “black market“, which is the translation of the band’s name, is one of the best salsa bands. Over the years, the band has become one of the most popular groups for Latin-American music. Founded by José Armando Miranda, Cesar Correa and Rodrigo Rodriguez, in the meantime, the trio has turned into a band with 11 members who have their roots in Cuba, Colombia and Peru. They carry salsa into the world with a lot of passion and infect any audience with their enthusiasm. No one can resist dancing and there will be no shirt left dry!

Start of the show: 03 p.m.

GANGBÉ BRASS BAND

BIG BAND SOUNDS FROM BENIN

“Gangbé“, a word from the ‘fon‘ language in Benin, can be roughly translated to “sound of metal”. The musicians of this band, which consists of 8 members who play the trumpet, trombone, tuba and various percussion instruments, have been enthusing the audience of the African world music scene with impressive live performances since the year of foundation in 1994. Traditional “juju” or “voudoun” rhythms are blending with modern jazz harmonies in big band arrangements and sometimes turn towards afro beat. It’s time to dance!

© Lauren Pasche

Start of the show: 05 p.m.

KLUB KARTELL PRESENTS DELLÉ; GANJAMAN; JAHCOUSTIX & SEBASTIAN STURM

GERMAN ROOTS REGGAE PARTY POWER DELUXE

Dellé, old hand of ‘Seeed’ with Ghanaian roots, Ganjaman, germanophone reggae artist from the very start, Jahcoustix the positive vibes man of the scene, and experienced roots reggae player Sebastian Sturm meet the excellent classic backing band ‘Klub Kartell’. Ever since the founding of the band in 2016 and various gigs with artists like Mykal Rose (Black Uhuru), these five guys have become more than just an insider’s tip in the German club reggae and dancehall scene. It’s time for an electrifying and unforgettable live reggae party!

© L. Bass Photography

 ◊ SUNDAY, JUNE 3RD, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

ACE TEE

AFRO-GERMAN HIP-HOP & R&B WITH GHANAIAN ROOTS

The woman behind "Ace Tee" is Berlin-born hair stylist Tarin Wilda who is living in Hamburg. With her partner Kwam.E, who was also born in Ghana, she is rapping in German in true hip-hop fashion. In 2017 they actually managed to score a viral hit in the USA with the song „Bist Du Down“. Thanks to their fashionable appearance even Vogue magazine noticed them. With their four stage dancers and a DJ you are guaranteed to have a really good dance!

Start of the show: 03 p.m.

AMI

THE NATURAL YOUNG SONGWRITER LADY

Ever since her first performance at the 28th Africa Festival and her second CD “Seasons”, Ami, daughter of famous world music fusion musician Wally Warning, has evolved into a confident songwriter. With the Caribbean island Aruba in her blood, by this time she is not shying away from also singing in German, which can be heard in her well-made song „Untertauchen“. Let’s look forward to a lot of groove and soul from the young singer who is living in Munich.

Start of the show: 05 p.m.

PATRICE

GERMANY’S FINEST ROOTS REGGAE & SOUL ARTIST

In 2001 Patrice Babatunde Bart-Williams enthused the audience of the Africa Festival for the first time. Since his debut album “Ancient Spirit“ (2000) he has continually been evolving and his last album “Life’s Blood“ (2016) has become another timeless milestone in his career. The likeable songwriter feels equally at home in his hometown Cologne, as well as in New York, Paris or the home country of his late father: Sierra Leone. A special anniversary present for the loyal audience in front of the open stage!

v

Tribal

30. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2018)

ABENDPROGRAMM | ZIRKUSZELT

DONNERSTAGFREITAGSAMSTAGSONNTAG

 ◊ DONNERSTAG, 31. Mai 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

WOMAN POWER FROM MALI

Ihr Debütalbum ´Fatou´ (2011) mit dem Hit „Sowa“ eroberte die Charts der Weltmusik-Szene. In mehreren Filmen und Theaterstücken besetzte sie tragende Rollen. Ihre letzten Projekte waren die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kubanischen Musiker Roberto Fonseca („At Home“ / 2015), das Fusions-Album „Lamomali“ (2017) mit dem französischen Rock-Musiker Matthieu Chedid, sowie der Dokumentarfilm „Mali Blues“. Letztes Jahr stand sie auf dem Africa Festival mit dem Tuareg Ahmed Ag Kaedy, einem der Protagonisten aus diesem Film, auf der Bühne. Auf vielfachen Wunsch wurde die Kämpferin für die Rechte der Frauen Afrikas wieder eingeladen, um erneut das Festivalzelt zum Kochen zu bringen. 2013 wurde sie mit dem Africa Festival Award ausgezeichnet.

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

MANU DIBANGO

THE GREAT MUSIC ICON FROM CAMEROON

Seit Emmanuel N´Djoké Dibango, am 12.12.1933 in Douala geboren, eher zufällig mit dem B-Seiten Single Song „Soul Makossa“ in den USA die Music Charts eroberte, war er weltweit in aller Munde. Mit seinem hervorragenden Können, ob als Saxophonspieler oder Pianist, gelingt es ihm jeder Stilrichtung, sei es Funk, BeBop, Jazz, HipHop oder Reggae, seinen ganz persönlichen afrikanischen Anstrich zu geben. Seine Alben „Gone Clear“ (1980), „Electric Africa“ (1985), „Afrijazzy“ (1986) und „Wakafrika“(1994) sind Meilensteine in der afrikanischen Musikszene. Beim Africa Festival waren seine Duette mit Lucky Dube (1998) und Klaus Doldinger (2008) unvergessliche Highlights. So war es ihm auch diesmal wieder eine Ehre, die Schirmherrschaft des 30ten Festival Jubiläums zu übernehmen.

© Louis Vincent

◊ FREITAG, 01. Juni 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

LOKUA KANZA

THE FINE VOICE FROM THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

Wie kein anderer afrikanischer Künstler begleitet Lokua Kanza das Africa Festival. Seit seinem ersten, unvergesslichen Auftritt 1998 beim 7ten Festival hat er immer wieder, zeitlos und in grandioser musikalischer Qualität das Festivalpublikum mit seinen Auftritten begeistert. Ein Jubiläum ohne ihn wäre gar nicht denkbar. 1991 macht er seine ersten großen Schritte in der „Soul Makossa Band“ von Manu Dibango und in der „Bwana Zoulou Gang“ von Ray Lema. Sie führten ihn zwangsläufig in eine erfolgreiche Solo-Karriere. Als Songwriter schrieb er sogar der großen Miriam Makeba einige Lieder direkt auf den Leib (CD „Homeland“ / 2000). Deswegen wird er auch an diesem Konzert-Abend im Hauptzelt an die große „Mama Africa“ erinnern. Der Africa Festival Award wurde ihm für seine musikalischen Talente 2006 verliehen.

© Christophe Campana

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

ANGELIQUE KIDJO

THE AMAZON FROM BENIN

Angélique Kidjo hat sich seit ihren ersten musikalischen Schritten in Jasper van't Hof's Formation „Pili-Pili“ kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und ist mittlerweile endgültig im internationalen Musiker-Olymp angekommen. Diverse Grammy Auszeichnungen, Projekte mit Carlos Santana, Duette mit Alicia Keys, die Veröffentlichung ihrer eigene Biographie „Spirit Rising“, sowie ihre Arbeit als UNICEF-Botschafterin, sind nur ein Teil ihres grandiosen Werdegangs. Heute lebt und pendelt die aus Benin kommende Power-Frau zwischen New York und Paris, stets auf der Suche nach neuen Herausforderungen. Ihr großes Vorbild: Miriam Makeba! Bei „Mama Africa's" offiziellem Bühnenabschied hier beim 18.Africa Festival 2006, war sie vor Ort und sang damals ihr zu Ehren „Malaika“. Sie hat beim Voting den zweiten Platz gemacht. audience.

 ◊ SAMSTAG, 02. Juni 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

HABIB KOITÉ & BAMADA

THE GUITAR KING FROM BAMAKO

Sein Hit „No More Cigarette Abana“ wird nicht der einzige Song sein, den Habib Koité zusammen mit dem Festival Publikum anstimmen wird, wenn er jetzt zum siebten Mal, seit seinem ersten Auftritt beim 8.Africa Festival 1996, die Bühne des Hauptzelt betreten wird. Der Ausnahmegitarrist und Sänger aus Mali ist trotz seines wachsenden Erfolgs stets der gleiche umgängliche und sympathische Mensch geblieben. Heute jammt er mal mit dem Bluesmann Eric Bibb („Brothers In Bamako“ / 2012), versammelt die Musiker seiner Hausband „Bamada“ um sich, um gelegentlich in seinem eigenen Hotel „Maya´s Place“ in Bamako aufzutreten oder mit ihnen zu einer großen Welttournee aufzubrechen. Das 30te Jubiläumsfestival in Würzburg ist da für ihn und uns natürlich ein Muss. Im Publikums-Voting hat er den dritten Platz belegt!

© Maciej Kaczynski

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

HOT WATER

SOUTH AFRICAN FOLK ROCK

Es ist unmöglich Hot Water nur zuzuhören. Denn wenn Donovan Copley, der Gründer, Frontmann und das kreative Herz der Gruppe anfängt zu singen und zu spielen (oft spielt er seine kultige afrikanische Gitarre), auf der Bühne swingt und herumspringt, und von einer außergewöhnlichen Mischung südafrikanischer Musiker unterstützt wird, die so unterschiedlich sind wie das Land selbst, kann man einfach nicht still sitzen bleiben! Die Musik – Copley nennt sie ‘South African Folk Rock‘ – vermischt Klänge und Rhythmen von Mbaqanga, Kwela und Maskanda mit einem zeitgemäßen Folkrock Vibe der absolut tanzbar ist. Alles wird durch Copley’s raue, süße Stimme und inspirierende, beinahe traumgleiche Texte miteinander verwoben. „Mit Abstand eines der aufregendsten musikalischen Projekte Südafrikas.“ (The Citizen)
© Hylton Boucher

 ◊ SONNTAG, 03. Juni 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

SONA JOBARTEH

MAGIC KORA SOUNDS FROM THEGAMBIA

In der Kaste der westafrikanischen Griots wird traditionell das Spielen der Kora vom Vater auf den Sohn weitergegeben. Deswegen ist die Riege der herausragenden Kora Virtuosen, wie Toumani Diabaté, Ballaké Sissoko oder Tata Dindin, stets eine Riege von Männern gewesen. Bis eine junge Frau, 1983 in London geboren und Cousine von Toumani Diabaté, mit dieser Tradition brach und nun selbst zu eine der besten ihres Fachs zählt: Sona Jobarteh! Als „Griotte“ ist es ihr Anliegen, die Welt und Tradition ihrer Vorfahren aus Gambia zu verstehen und sie auf ihre Weise an die jungen Generationen, insbesondere auch Mädchen, weiter zu geben. In Brikama / Gambia hat sie dafür sogar die „Amadu Bansang Jobarteh School of Music“ ins Leben gerufen. Nach 2012 ist sie nun wieder bei uns zu Gast

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

ALPHA BLONDY

GREAT REGGAE VIBES FROM THE IVORY COAST

Alpha Blondy, Jahrgang 1953, ist neben Tiken Jah Fakoly und dem verstorbenen südafrikanischen Reggae Star Lucky Dube, der Reggae Artist des afrikanischen Kontinents überhaupt. Seine Hits „Cocody Rock“, „Jerusalem“ oder „Sweet Fanta Diallo“ kennt jedes Kind in Westafrika. Mit seiner Formation „Solar System“ wird er seit Jahren regelmäßig zu den großen Reggae Events weltweit eingeladen. Dort beweist er jedes Mal erneut, dass gute Reggae Vibes nicht nur aus Jamaika, sondern gerade vom schwarzen Kontinent kommen können. Übrigens sein erstes Konzert in Deutschland überhaupt gab der politisch- und sozial engagierte Seydou Koné, wie er mit bürgerlichem Namen eigentlich heißt, 1992 in Würzburg, beim 4.Africa Festival. „It´s Party-Time“ zum Festival-Abschluss! Beim Voting hat er den fünften Platz belegt.

© Youri Lenquette

TAGESPROGRAMM | OFFENE BÜHNE

DONNERSTAGFREITAGSAMSTAGSONNTAG


 ◊ DONNERSTAG, 31.05.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

 ◊ FREITAG, 01.06.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

DOBET GNAHORÉ

MAGIC URBAN AFRICAN SOUL FROM THE IVORY COAST

2001 hatte sie die Ehre an der Seite ihres späteren Ehemanns, dem französischen Gitarristen Colin Laroche, als noch gänzlich unbekanntes akustisches Duo, das 13. Africa Festival zu eröffnen. Seit diesem ersten Auftritt ist ihre Karriere als ausdrucksstarke Musikerin und Künstlerin steil nach oben gegangen. 2009 erhielt sie so den begehrten Grammy in der Kategorie “Best Urban & Alternative Performance“. Davon konnte sich 2010 auch das Festivalpublikum überzeugen. Auf vielfachen Wunsch freuen wir uns, sie erneut auf der Offenen Bühne präsentieren zu dürfen.

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

ALSARAH & THE NUBATONES

FRESH WORLD MUSIC FROM SUDAN

Alsarah gründete zusammen mit ihrer Schwester Nahid 2010 in New York die Nubatones. Bis dahin führte sie ein bewegtes Leben. 1982 in Khartum geboren, musste sie mit ihrer gesamten Familie 1989 über den Jemen in die USA fliehen. Dort schloss sie erfolgreich ein Ethnomusikologie Studium ab, schulte zwischendurch ihre Stimme in diversen World Music Chören oder war Teil des „Nile Projects“. Mit den Nubatones pendelt sie jetzt erfolgreich, zwischen traditionellen Rhythmen, Afrobeat, Pop und Soul. „Ya Watan“ heißt ihr aktuelles und Aufsehen erregendes Album.

Showbeginn: 17:00 Uhr

MARIAMA

THE SONGWRITER LADY AND VOICE FROM FREETOWN

In Freetown / Sierra Leone erblickte Mariama Jalloh das Licht der Welt. Im deutschen Bergisch Gladbach wuchs sie auf und jetzt ist sie in Paris, genauso wie in Köln oder dem Rest der Welt zuhause. Ihre ersten musikalischen Schritte machte sie mit Adé Bantu´s „Brothers Keepers“ und seiner „Afrobeat Academy“. 2012 brachte die Sängerin und Songwriterin dann ihr Debütalbum „Easy Way Out“ auf den Markt. Seitdem wird ihre Stimme auch von den westafrikanischen Stars, wie Moh!Kouyaté („Darre“) oder Faada Freddy („I Need A Dollar“), geschätzt.

© Sebastian Zapp Alott Meye


 ◊ SAMSTAG, 02.06.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

ORQUESTA MERCADONEGRO

HOT SALSA FROM CUBA AND COLOMBIA

Das Orquesta Mercadonegro, oder „Schwarzmarkt“ wie der Bandname übersetzt heißt, ist eine der besten Salsa-Bands. Die Band ist über die Jahre zu einer der gefragtesten Gruppen für lateinamerikanische Musik geworden. Gegründet von José Armando Miranda, Cesar Correa und Rodrigo Rodriguez ist das Trio mittlerweile zu einer elfköpfigen Band mit Wurzeln in Kuba, Kolumbien und Peru gewachsen. Mit viel Leidenschaft tragen sie den Salsa in die Welt hinaus und stecken mit ihrer Begeisterung jedes Publikum an. Da bleibt kein Tanzbein still und kein Hemd trocken!

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

GANGBÉ BRASS BAND

BIG BAND SOUNDS FROM BENIN

„Gangbé“, ein Wort aus der ´Fon´ - Sprache in Benin, heißt übersetzt etwa „der Klang des Metalls“. Die Musiker dieser achtköpfige Band, bestückt mit Trompete, Posaune, Tuba und diversen Perkussion Instrumenten, begeistern schon seit ihrem Gründungsjahr 1994 mit ihren eindrucksvollen Live-Auftritten, das Publikum in der afrikanischen Weltmusikszene. Traditionelle „Juju“- oder „Voudoun“- Rhythmen verschmelzen mit modernen Jazz-Harmonien in Big Band Sound Arrangements und schlagen auch mal gerne in Richtung Afro Beat aus. Es darf getanzt werden!

© Lauren Pasche

Showbeginn: 17:00 Uhr

KLUB KARTELL PRESENTS DELLÉ; GANJAMAN; JAHCOUSTIX & SEBASTIAN STURM

GERMAN ROOTS REGGAE PARTY POWER DELUXE

Dellé - ´Seeed´-Urgestein mit ghanaischen Wurzeln, Ganjaman – deutsch-sprachiger Reggae-Artist der allerersten Stunde, Jahcoustix – der Positive Vibes Man der Szene überhaupt und der Roots Reggae Routinier Sebastian Sturm treffen die exzellente, klassische Backing Band ´Klub Kartell´. Diese fünf Jungs sind seit ihrer Gründung 2016 und diversen Gigs mit Künstlern wie Mykal Rose (Black Uhuru) längst mehr, als nur ein Geheimtipp in der deutschen Club-Reggae und Dancehall Szene. Eine elektrisierende und unvergessliche Live-Reggae-Party ist angesagt!

© L. Bass Photography

 ◊ SONNTAG, 03.06.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

ACE TEE

AFRO-GERMAN HIP-HOP & R&B WITH GHANAIAN ROOTS

Hinter "Ace Tee" verbirgt sich die in Berlin geborene und in Hamburg lebende Hairstylistin Tarin Wilda. Zusammen mit ihrem Partner Kwam.E, ebenfalls ein Kind ghanaischer Eltern, rappt sie in deutscher Sprache und in bester HipHop-Manier. Mit ihrem Song „Bist Du Down“ schafften sie es 2017 sogar in den USA einen viralen Hit zu landen. Durch ihr gelungenes modisches Auftreten wurde sogar das Magazin "Vogue" auf die beiden aufmerksam. Zusammen mit ihren vier Bühnentänzerinnen plus DJ ist mehr als heißes Abtanzen angesagt!

 

 

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

AMI

THE NATURAL YOUNG SONGWRITER LADY

Ami, die Tochter des bekannten Reggae- und Worldmusic Fusion Musikers Wally Warning, hat sich seit ihrem ersten Solo-Auftritt beim 28.Africa Festival und ihrer zweiten CD Veröffentlichung „Seasons“ immer mehr zu einer selbstbewussten Songwriterin entwickelt. Mit der Karibikinsel Aruba im Blut scheut sie sich mittlerweile nicht, wie im gelungenen „Untertauchen“ zu hören, auch in deutscher Sprache zu singen. Freuen wir uns auf viel ´Groove & Soul´ von der in München lebenden jungen Sängerin.

Showbeginn: 17:00 Uhr

PATRICE

GERMANY’S FINEST ROOTS REGGAE & SOUL ARTIST

Patrice Babatunde Bart-Williams begeisterte 2001 das erste Mal das Africa Festival Publikum. Seit seinem Debüt Album “Ancient Spirit“ (2000) hat er sich kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und sein letztes Album “Life's Blood“ (2016) ist ein weiterer, zeitloser Meilenstein in seiner Karriere geworden. Der sympathische Songwriter ist in seiner Geburtsstadt Köln genauso zuhause, wie in New York, Paris oder dem Heimatland seines verstorbenen Vaters: Sierra Leone. Ein spezielles Jubiläumspräsent für die treuen Zuschauer vor der Offenen Bühne!

 

v