Tribal

WELCOME

Welcome to our 31st International Africa Festival at Mainwiesen
in Würzburg! We would like to thank you, dear audience, again for having contributed in the celebration of the wonderful anniversary festival last year. Artists who were close to your
and our hearts and who have been making the festival as a permanent institution successful over all these years made this festival unforgettable. None other than Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier himself showed how important the festival is especially during these times. He inaugurated the festival in 2018. We will continue to courageously proceed as there are many more musical treasures to explore on the African continent and the corresponding diaspora.

We start our journey to the black continent in the Caribbean in a colourful and rhythmic way: with one of the best steel bands in the world. For the first time in a long while, we will be having a street parade from the islands of Aruba and Curacao again. The highlight of this day will be the legendary Calypso Rose who has already enthused the audience of the festival tent several years ago.

We are particularly proud that we were able to book 10 bands and artists who have never performed at the Africa Festival before or in Germany thanks to the voting and the many contributions of our audience. With the Ndlovu Youth Choir there will even be a choir from South Africa performing for the first time on the main stage. Furthermore, you will surely be excited about the debut of the afrobeat women of Kokoroko or the show of Mokoomba.

Be sure to visit the university of Würzburg when you have a moment. The world-famous photographers Carol Beckwith and Angela Fisher will be presenting an insight into rituals of the African continent, which have almost disappeared, with their extraordinary exhibition “African Twilight”.

With the wonderful basar, the programme in the children’s tent for which we were able to book Adesa and storyteller Ibu again, the daily fashion show of the Senegalese fashion designer Rama Diaw, our DJs in the Havana Club, as well as the ARTE cinema tent and the wine tent we will of course feature many of your belo-ved evergreens again. The cultural TV channel ARTE is again the partner of the 31st Africa festival and will be presenting the cinema tent on the festival ground for the eleventh time with a programme featuring films about music and culture of West Africa and the Caribbean.

“Different Colors – One People!“ – with this festival motto we are looking forward to your visit and wish you wonderful days at the festival!

Kind regards
Your Afro Project team

v

Tribal

WELCOME

Vielen Dank nochmals an dieser Stelle, dass sie - wertes Publikum - mit dazu beigetragen haben, im vergangenen Jahr ein so wunderbares Jubiläumsfestival mit uns zu feiern. Künstler, die Ihnen und uns am Herzen lagen und maßgeblich über all die Jahre zum Erfolg des Africa Festivals als feste Institution beigetragen haben, machten diese Tage unvergesslich. Wie wichtig das Festival gerade in diesen Zeiten ist, zeigte, dass kein anderer als der Bundespräsident selbst, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, es sich nicht nehmen ließ, das Festival 2018 zu eröffnen. Wir werden weiterhin mutig voran schreiten, denn es gibt noch viele weitere musikalische Schätze auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent und der entsprechenden Diaspora zu entdecken.

Farbenfroh und rhythmusreich starten wir unsere Reise zum schwarzen Kontinent in der Karibik, mit einer der besten Steelbands der Welt und seit langem wieder einmal, mit einer Straßenparade von den Inseln Aruba und Curacao. Höhepunkt an diesem Tag wird der Auftritt der legendären Calypso Rose sein, die schon vor ein paar Jahren das Festivalzelt zum Kochen brachte.

Besonders stolz sind wir, dass wir durch das Voting mit einer großen Beteiligung unserer Besucher 10 Bands bzw. Künstler gewinnen konnten, die noch nie beim Africa Festival aufgetreten sind oder überhaupt das erste Mal in Deutschland Auftritte haben werden. Mit dem Ndlovu Youth Choir wird erstmals sogar ein Chor aus Südafrika auf der Hauptbühne stehen. Des Weiteren werden Sie sicherlich von dem Debüt der Afrobeat Frauen von Kokoroko oder der Show von Mokoomba begeistert sein.

Wenn Sie Zeit haben, schauen Sie auch mal in der Universität Würzburg vorbei. Die weltweit bekannten Fotografen Carol Beckwith und Angela Fisher präsentieren mit ihrer hervorragenden Ausstellung „African Twilight“ einen Einblick in schon fast verschwundene Rituale des afrikanischen Kontinents.

Mit dem wunderbaren Basar, dem Programm im Kinderzelt, wo wir wieder Adesa und unseren Geschichtenerzähler Ibu gewinnen konnten, der täglichen Modeschau der senegalesischen Modedesignerin Rama Diaw, unseren DJs im Havanna Club, sowie dem ARTE Kino- und dem Weinzelt, haben wir natürlich auch wieder viele weitere Ihrer geliebten Dauerbrenner mit an Bord. Der Kultursender ARTE ist wieder Partner des 31. Africa Festivals und präsentiert zum 11. Mal das ARTE Kinozelt auf dem Festivalgelände mit einem Filmprogramm zu Musik und Kultur der Karibik und Westafrikas.

“Different Colors – One People!“ - Mit diesem Festivalmotto freuen wir uns auf Ihr Kommen und wünschen Ihnen schöne Festivaltage!

Herzlichst
Ihr Afro Project Team

 

v