Tribal

PANEL DISCUSSION

AFRO GERMANY

BEING BLACK AND GERMAN

Panel discussion at the Havana Club on 03 June 2018, at 11 a.m.

Host: Sarah Bergh

 
Today, there are almost one million black people living in Germany – in a society dominated by white people. The panel discussion takes up the topic and we have invited four impressive people who will not only talk about their personal experiences with racism, but also about how they use their work and commitment to reveal and overcome discriminating and racist structures in Germany.
 
As an introduction to the topic the documentary Afro.Germany will be shown at the ARTE cinema tent on Saturday evening, 2 June 2018 at 08.30 pm. "Afro.Deutschland" has been produced by Deutsche Welle.
 
The following people will take part in the panel discussion at the Havana Club on Sunday, 3 June 2018 at 11 am.

Raphael Dernbach (member of ISD, Munich)
Raphael Dernbach studied economics in Munich, co-authored two books (Spiegelblicke), is living in Munich with his two children and has been dedicatedly working for the “Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland e.V.” (Initiative of Black People in Germany) for 30 years. The aim of the initiative is to represent the interests of black people in Germany.
© Raphael Dernbach

Jermain Raffington (host and basketball player, Berlin)
After a two-year study stay in the USA, in 2007, Raffington, the son of a German mother and a Jamaican father, became a professional basketball player in Germany. Ever since he has ended his professional sports career, he has been working as a producer and host of VICE Media in Berlin. In his autonomously produced web series schwarzrotgold.tv Jermain focuses on the life and experiencesof black Germans.
© Jermain Raffington
 
 
 
Jana Pareigis (host at ZDF, Berlin)
Jana Pareigis is a TV host of the ZDF morning magazine and she is also working as a freelance journalist. She is the author and director of the TV documentary “Afro.Germany” in which she talks about her experiences as a black person in Germany. Jana Pareigis studied political sciences and Africana Studies in Hamburg, New York and Berlin and subsequently completed a journalistic traineeship at Deutschen Welle.
© Maurice Weiss

 

 

 

 
 
 
Tiranke Diallo (Mama Afrika e.V., Berlin)
Guinea-native Tiranke Diallo is the chairwoman of the initiative Mama Afrika e. V. and consultant for FGM. Her mother who founded the initiative was afflicted by female genital mutilation. Tiranke Diallo was born in France and grew up in Germany. She is a trained office clerk and has worked in human resource management for years. She considers herself a black German.

© Tiranke Diallo

 
 
 
 
 

DISCUSSION ABOUT THE AFRICA POLICY OF THE FEDERAL FOREIGN OFFICE

Sarah Bergh | © Bugs Steffen
Ambassador Georg Schmidt

The Regional Director for sub-Saharan Africa and the Sahel, ambassador Georg Schmidt, will be talking with Sarah Bergh and take position on current questions concerning the German Africa policy. Afterwards, the visitors of the Africa Festival will have the opportunity to participate in the following discussion with questions and comments.

 

Georg Schmidt was born in 1963 in Freiburg, Germany. He studied in History, Economics and Chinese and entered the Foreign Service in 1995, during which time he was also working for the German Embassy in Mali. His postings include Japan, Sri Lanka and Mali. From 2006 to 2010 he worked on African (and Asian) Affairs with Federal President Horst Köhler. He served as Head of Division for Asia, Australia, Africa and International Development for two more Presidents of Germany, Christian Wulff and Joachim Gauck. In 2014 he moved back to the Foreign Office and has since been Regional Director for Sub-Saharan Africa and the Sahel.

 

Sarah Bergh studied education, psychology and theatre arts. For over ten years she has worked freelance in her office for art and cultural projects. The focus of her work is the political education, especially the topics of migration pedagogics, discrimination and racism. Since 2015 she has been working at the pedagogical Institute in Munich. Ever since the 19th Africa Festival she has been a host of the event.

Tiranké and Souleymane Diallo from "Mama Afrika" in front of the banner
of the Africa Festival against Female Genital Mutilation in Africa. | © Bugs Steffen
v

Tribal

PODIUMSDISKUSSION

AFRO DEUTSCHLAND

BEING BLACK AND GERMAN

Podiumsdiskussion am 03.06.2018, 11 Uhr im Havana Club

Moderation: Sarah Bergh

Etwa eine Million schwarze Menschen leben heute in Deutschland – in einer weiß dominierten Gesellschaft. Die Podiumsdiskussion greift das Thema auf und hat vier beeindruckende Menschen eingeladen, die nicht nur über ihren persönlich erlebten Rassismus reden, sondern viel mehr darüber Auskunft geben, wie sie sich mit ihrer Arbeit und ihrem Engagement beteiligt haben, dass diskriminierende und rassistische Strukturen in Deutschland aufgedeckt und überwunden werden.
 
 
Als Einführung zu dem Thema läuft am Samstagabend, den 2. Juni 2018 um 20:30 Uhr im ARTE Kinozelt der Dokumentarfilm „Afro.Deutschland”.  "Afro.Deutschland" ist eine Dokumentation der Deutschen Welle.

 
Folgende Personen nehmen an der Podiumsdiskussion am Sonntag, den 3. Juni 2018, um 11:00 Uhr im Havana Club teil.

 
Raphael Dernbach (ISD Mitarbeiter, München)
Raphael Dernbach, Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften in München, Mitautor zweier Bücher (Spiegelblicke), wohnt mit seinen zwei Kindern in München und engagiert sich seit 30 Jahren in der „Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland e.V.“ (ISD), die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, die Interessen schwarzer Menschen in Deutschland zu vertreten.
© Raphael Dernbach

Jermain Raffington (Moderator und Basketballspieler, Berlin)
Nach einem zweijährigen Studienaufenthalt in den Vereinigten Staaten wurde Raffington, Sohn einer deutschen Mutter und eines jamaikanischen Vaters, 2007 Basketball Profi in Deutschland. Seit Beendigung seiner Karriere ist er Producer und Moderator bei VICE Media in Berlin. In seiner eigenständig produzierten und moderierten Web-Serie schwarzrotgold.tv, beschäftigt sich Jermain mit dem Leben und den Erfahrungen von Schwarzen Deutschen.
© Jermain Raffington
Jana Pareigis (ZDF-Moderatorin, Berlin)
Jana Pareigis ist TV-Moderatorin des ZDF Morgenmagazins sowie freie Reporterin. Zudem ist sie Autorin und Regisseurin der TV-Dokumentation „Afro.Deutschland“, in der sie über ihre Erfahrungen als schwarzer Mensch in Deutschland erzählt. Jana Pareigis studierte Politikwissenschaften und Afrika-Studien in Hamburg, New York und Berlin und absolvierte dann ein journalistisches Volontariat bei der Deutschen Welle.
© Maurice Weiss
 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
Tiranke Diallo (Mama Afrika e.V., Berlin)
Tiranke Diallo kommt gebürtig aus Guinea, sie ist Vorstandsvorsitzende vom Verein Mama Afrika e. V. und FGM-Referentin. Ihre Mutter, die den Verein gegründet hat, war selbst Opfer der weiblichen Genitalverstümmelung. Tiranke Diallo ist in Frankreich geboren und in Deutschland aufgewachsen. Sie ist gelernte Bürokauffrau und hat jahrelang im Personalwesen gearbeitet und sie sieht sich als schwarze Deutsche.
 
© Tiranke Diallo

DISKUSSION ZUR AFRIKAPOLITIK DES AUSWÄRTIGEN AMTES

Sarah Bergh | © Bugs Steffen
Botschafter Georg Schmidt

Der Regionalbeauftragte für Subsahara-Afrika und Sahel, Botschafter Georg Schmidt wird im Gespräch mit Sarah Bergh zu aktuellen Fragen der deutschen Afrika-Politik Stellung nehmen. Die Besucher des Festivals haben dann die Gelegenheit sich mit Fragen und Kommentaren an der anschließenden Diskussion zu beteiligen.

 

Georg Schmidt wurde 1963 in Freiburg, Deutschland, geboren. Er studierte Geschichte, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Sinologie und trat 1995 in den Auswärtigen Dienst ein, wo er unter anderem in der deutschen Botschaft Mali tätig war. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er für Bundespräsident Horst Köhlers Initiative „Partnerschaft mit Afrika“ tätig. Unter zwei weiteren Bundespräsidenten, Christian Wulff und Joachim Gauck, setzte er die Leitung des Referats für Asien, Australien, Afrika und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit fort. 2014 kehrte er in das Auswärtige Amt zurück und ist seitdem als Regionalbeauftragter für Subsahara-Afrika und Sahel tätig.

 

Sarah Bergh studierte Pädagogik, Psychologie und Theaterwissenschaften. Sie hat über zehn Jahre selbständig in ihrem Büro für Kunst- und Kulturprojekte gearbeitet. Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit bildet die politische Bildungsarbeit, insbesondere die Themen Migrationspädagogik, Diskriminierung und Rassismus. Seit 2015 ist sie am Pädagogischen Institut der Stadt München tätig. Bereits seit dem 19. Africa Festival moderiert sie die Veranstaltung.

Tiranké und Souleymane Diallo von „Mama Afrika“ vor dem Transparent des Africa Festivals
gegen Genitalverstümmelung von Frauen und Mädchen in Afrika. | © Bugs Steffen
v