Tribal

DAY PROGRAMME | OPEN STAGE

DAY PROGRAMME | OPEN STAGE

THURSDAYFRIDAYSATURDAYSUNDAY


 ◊ THURSDAY, MAY 31ST, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

SIDIKI DIABATÉ

THE NEW STAR OF AFRICAN URBAN MUSIC SCENE

The Malian singer Sidiki Diabaté, is an outstanding beat maker and Hip-Hop producer and also known as the Prince of Kora. He is considered as the new star of African urban music scene. With his songs featuring Booba, Niska or Fataby, Sidiki has manages to make a name himself on the African scene. His song „C'est bon“ feat. Iba One et Niska“ on YouTube has already 7.155.360 views. He performed on the world’s most prestigious stages alongside his father, the famous Master of Kora, Toumani Diabaté. He will have his debut concert in Germany at the International Africa Festival in Würzburg.

Showtime: 03 p.m.

DAARA J FAMILY

THE MOST FAMOUS HIP-HOP BAND FROM DAKAR

In 2001 the first Africa Festival award was given to the group Daara J for its musical talent and dynamic performances. After very famous solo projects the members of the group are now performing together again. Ever since their album “School of life“ Faada Freddy and N´Dongo D have been the heart of the Daara J Family. They label their music as socially committed “hip-hop born in Africa”. Their lyrics are in Wolof, French and English and in their music they combine the tradition of Senegalese griot with hip-hop, soul, funk and reggae.


 ◊ FRIDAY, JUNE 01ST, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

DOBET GNAHORÉ

MAGIC URBAN AFRICAN SOUL FROM THE IVORY COAST

In 2001 she had the privilege to start off the 13th Africa Festival with French guitar player Colin Laroche, who would later become her husband, as an acoustic duo, which was back then still completely unknown. Ever since this first performance, her career as an expressive musician and artist has been skyrocketing. Thus, in 2009 she received the coveted Grammy award in the category “Best Urban & Alternative Performance“. In 2010 the audience of the festival could assure itself of her talent. By popular demand we are delighted to welcome her on the Open Stage again.

Showtime: 03 p.m.

ALSARAH & THE NUBATONES

FRESH WORLD MUSIC FROM SUDAN

In 2010 Alsarah founded the Nubatones in New York with her sister Nahid. Until then she had been leading a chequered life. She was born in Khartum in 1982 and had to flee via Yemen into the USA in 1989 with her whole family. In the USA she successfully graduated in ethnomusicology, in the meantime was training her voice in various world music choirs, and was a part of the “Nile Project”. Currently with the Nubatones she is successfully alternating between traditional rhythms, afrobeat, pop and soul. Her new and sensational album is called “Ya Watan”.

Start of the show: 05 p.m.

MARIAMA

THE SONGWRITER LADY AND VOICE FROM FREETOWN

Mariama Jalloh was born in Freetown/Sierra Leone. She grew up in the German town Bergisch Gladbach and today feels at home in Paris, as well as Cologne and the rest of the world. She took her first musical steps with Adé Bantu’s “Brothers Keepers” and his “Afrobeat Academy”. In 2012 the singer and songwriter released her debut album “Easy Way Out”. Since then her voice has been appreciated by West African stars like Moh!Kouyaté (“Darre“) or Faada Freddy (“I Need A Dollar“), too.

© Sebastian Zapp Alott Meye


 ◊ SATURDAY, JUNE 2ND, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

ORQUESTA MERCADONEGRO

HOT SALSA FROM CUBA AND COLOMBIA

Orquesta Mercadonegro or “black market“, which is the translation of the band’s name, is one of the best salsa bands. Over the years, the band has become one of the most popular groups for Latin-American music. Founded by José Armando Miranda, Cesar Correa and Rodrigo Rodriguez, in the meantime, the trio has turned into a band with 11 members who have their roots in Cuba, Colombia and Peru. They carry salsa into the world with a lot of passion and infect any audience with their enthusiasm. No one can resist dancing and there will be no shirt left dry!

Start of the show: 03 p.m.

GANGBÉ BRASS BAND

BIG BAND SOUNDS FROM BENIN

“Gangbé“, a word from the ‘fon‘ language in Benin, can be roughly translated to “sound of metal”. The musicians of this band, which consists of 8 members who play the trumpet, trombone, tuba and various percussion instruments, have been enthusing the audience of the African world music scene with impressive live performances since the year of foundation in 1994. Traditional “juju” or “voudoun” rhythms are blending with modern jazz harmonies in big band arrangements and sometimes turn towards afro beat. It’s time to dance!

© Lauren Pasche

Start of the show: 05 p.m.

KLUB KARTELL PRESENTS DELLÉ; GANJAMAN; JAHCOUSTIX & SEBASTIAN STURM

GERMAN ROOTS REGGAE PARTY POWER DELUXE

Dellé, old hand of ‘Seeed’ with Ghanaian roots, Ganjaman, germanophone reggae artist from the very start, Jahcoustix the positive vibes man of the scene, and experienced roots reggae player Sebastian Sturm meet the excellent classic backing band ‘Klub Kartell’. Ever since the founding of the band in 2016 and various gigs with artists like Mykal Rose (Black Uhuru), these five guys have become more than just an insider’s tip in the German club reggae and dancehall scene. It’s time for an electrifying and unforgettable live reggae party!

© L. Bass Photography

 ◊ SUNDAY, JUNE 3RD, 2018 | OPEN STAGE ◊

Start of the show: 01 p.m.

ACE TEE

AFRO-GERMAN HIP-HOP & R&B WITH GHANAIAN ROOTS

The woman behind "Ace Tee" is Berlin-born hair stylist Tarin Wilda who is living in Hamburg. With her partner Kwam.E, who was also born in Ghana, she is rapping in German in true hip-hop fashion. In 2017 they actually managed to score a viral hit in the USA with the song „Bist Du Down“. Thanks to their fashionable appearance even Vogue magazine noticed them. With their four stage dancers and a DJ you are guaranteed to have a really good dance!

Start of the show: 03 p.m.

AMI

THE NATURAL YOUNG SONGWRITER LADY

Ever since her first performance at the 28th Africa Festival and her second CD “Seasons”, Ami, daughter of famous world music fusion musician Wally Warning, has evolved into a confident songwriter. With the Caribbean island Aruba in her blood, by this time she is not shying away from also singing in German, which can be heard in her well-made song „Untertauchen“. Let’s look forward to a lot of groove and soul from the young singer who is living in Munich.

Start of the show: 05 p.m.

PATRICE

GERMANY’S FINEST ROOTS REGGAE & SOUL ARTIST

In 2001 Patrice Babatunde Bart-Williams enthused the audience of the Africa Festival for the first time. Since his debut album “Ancient Spirit“ (2000) he has continually been evolving and his last album “Life’s Blood“ (2016) has become another timeless milestone in his career. The likeable songwriter feels equally at home in his hometown Cologne, as well as in New York, Paris or the home country of his late father: Sierra Leone. A special anniversary present for the loyal audience in front of the open stage!

v

Tribal

TAGESPROGRAMM | OFFENE BÜHNE

TAGESPROGRAMM | OFFENE BÜHNE

DONNERSTAGFREITAGSAMSTAGSONNTAG


 ◊ DONNERSTAG, 31.05.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

SIDIKI DIABATÉ

DER NEUE STAR DER AFRIKANISCHEN URBAN MUSIC SZENE

Der aus Mali stammende Sänger Sidiki Diabaté ist ein außergewöhnlicher Beats- und Hiphop-Produzent und wird auch der “Prinz der Kora” genannt. Er wird als der neue Star der afrikanischen Urban Music Szene angesehen. Mit seinen Songs mit Booba, Niska oder Fataby, hat er sich einen Namen in der afrikanischen Szene gemacht. Sein Lied „C'est bon“ feat. Iba One und Niska hat auf YouTube schon 7.155.360 Aufrufe. Mit seinem Vater Toumani Diabaté, dem berühmten Korameister, ist er bereits auf den renommiertesten Bühnen der Welt aufgetreten. Sein Debüt Konzert in Deutschland wird er auf dem Internationalen Africa Festival in Würzburg geben.

 

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

DAARA J FAMILY

THE MOST FAMOUS HIP-HOP BAND FROM DAKAR

Der erste Africa Festival Award wurde 2001 an die Gruppe Daara J für ihr musikalisches Talent und ihre dynamischen Auftritte verliehen. Nach sehr erfolgreichen Soloprojekten treten sie jetzt wieder zusammen auf. Faada Freddy und N´Dongo D sind seit ihrem Album „School Of Life“ das Herz der Daara J Family. Ihre Musik bezeichnen sie selbst als sozial engagierten „Hip-Hop Born In Africa“. Ihre Texte sind in Wolof, Französisch und Englisch und in ihrer Musik mischen sie die Tradition der senegalesischen Griots mit Hip-Hop, Soul, Funk und Reggae.


 ◊ FREITAG, 01.06.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

DOBET GNAHORÉ

MAGIC URBAN AFRICAN SOUL FROM THE IVORY COAST

2001 hatte sie die Ehre an der Seite ihres späteren Ehemanns, dem französischen Gitarristen Colin Laroche, als noch gänzlich unbekanntes akustisches Duo, das 13. Africa Festival zu eröffnen. Seit diesem ersten Auftritt ist ihre Karriere als ausdrucksstarke Musikerin und Künstlerin steil nach oben gegangen. 2009 erhielt sie so den begehrten Grammy in der Kategorie “Best Urban & Alternative Performance“. Davon konnte sich 2010 auch das Festivalpublikum überzeugen. Auf vielfachen Wunsch freuen wir uns, sie erneut auf der Offenen Bühne präsentieren zu dürfen.

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

ALSARAH & THE NUBATONES

FRESH WORLD MUSIC FROM SUDAN

Alsarah gründete zusammen mit ihrer Schwester Nahid 2010 in New York die Nubatones. Bis dahin führte sie ein bewegtes Leben. 1982 in Khartum geboren, musste sie mit ihrer gesamten Familie 1989 über den Jemen in die USA fliehen. Dort schloss sie erfolgreich ein Ethnomusikologie Studium ab, schulte zwischendurch ihre Stimme in diversen World Music Chören oder war Teil des „Nile Projects“. Mit den Nubatones pendelt sie jetzt erfolgreich, zwischen traditionellen Rhythmen, Afrobeat, Pop und Soul. „Ya Watan“ heißt ihr aktuelles und Aufsehen erregendes Album.

Showbeginn: 17:00 Uhr

MARIAMA

THE SONGWRITER LADY AND VOICE FROM FREETOWN

In Freetown / Sierra Leone erblickte Mariama Jalloh das Licht der Welt. Im deutschen Bergisch Gladbach wuchs sie auf und jetzt ist sie in Paris, genauso wie in Köln oder dem Rest der Welt zuhause. Ihre ersten musikalischen Schritte machte sie mit Adé Bantu´s „Brothers Keepers“ und seiner „Afrobeat Academy“. 2012 brachte die Sängerin und Songwriterin dann ihr Debütalbum „Easy Way Out“ auf den Markt. Seitdem wird ihre Stimme auch von den westafrikanischen Stars, wie Moh!Kouyaté („Darre“) oder Faada Freddy („I Need A Dollar“), geschätzt.

© Sebastian Zapp Alott Meye


 ◊ SAMSTAG, 02.06.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

ORQUESTA MERCADONEGRO

HOT SALSA FROM CUBA AND COLOMBIA

Das Orquesta Mercadonegro, oder „Schwarzmarkt“ wie der Bandname übersetzt heißt, ist eine der besten Salsa-Bands. Die Band ist über die Jahre zu einer der gefragtesten Gruppen für lateinamerikanische Musik geworden. Gegründet von José Armando Miranda, Cesar Correa und Rodrigo Rodriguez ist das Trio mittlerweile zu einer elfköpfigen Band mit Wurzeln in Kuba, Kolumbien und Peru gewachsen. Mit viel Leidenschaft tragen sie den Salsa in die Welt hinaus und stecken mit ihrer Begeisterung jedes Publikum an. Da bleibt kein Tanzbein still und kein Hemd trocken!

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

GANGBÉ BRASS BAND

BIG BAND SOUNDS FROM BENIN

„Gangbé“, ein Wort aus der ´Fon´ - Sprache in Benin, heißt übersetzt etwa „der Klang des Metalls“. Die Musiker dieser achtköpfige Band, bestückt mit Trompete, Posaune, Tuba und diversen Perkussion Instrumenten, begeistern schon seit ihrem Gründungsjahr 1994 mit ihren eindrucksvollen Live-Auftritten, das Publikum in der afrikanischen Weltmusikszene. Traditionelle „Juju“- oder „Voudoun“- Rhythmen verschmelzen mit modernen Jazz-Harmonien in Big Band Sound Arrangements und schlagen auch mal gerne in Richtung Afro Beat aus. Es darf getanzt werden!

© Lauren Pasche

Showbeginn: 17:00 Uhr

KLUB KARTELL PRESENTS DELLÉ; GANJAMAN; JAHCOUSTIX & SEBASTIAN STURM

GERMAN ROOTS REGGAE PARTY POWER DELUXE

Dellé - ´Seeed´-Urgestein mit ghanaischen Wurzeln, Ganjaman – deutsch-sprachiger Reggae-Artist der allerersten Stunde, Jahcoustix – der Positive Vibes Man der Szene überhaupt und der Roots Reggae Routinier Sebastian Sturm treffen die exzellente, klassische Backing Band ´Klub Kartell´. Diese fünf Jungs sind seit ihrer Gründung 2016 und diversen Gigs mit Künstlern wie Mykal Rose (Black Uhuru) längst mehr, als nur ein Geheimtipp in der deutschen Club-Reggae und Dancehall Szene. Eine elektrisierende und unvergessliche Live-Reggae-Party ist angesagt!

© L. Bass Photography

 ◊ SONNTAG, 03.06.2018 | OFFENE BÜHNE ◊

Showbeginn: 13:00 Uhr

ACE TEE

AFRO-GERMAN HIP-HOP & R&B WITH GHANAIAN ROOTS

Hinter "Ace Tee" verbirgt sich die in Berlin geborene und in Hamburg lebende Hairstylistin Tarin Wilda. Zusammen mit ihrem Partner Kwam.E, ebenfalls ein Kind ghanaischer Eltern, rappt sie in deutscher Sprache und in bester HipHop-Manier. Mit ihrem Song „Bist Du Down“ schafften sie es 2017 sogar in den USA einen viralen Hit zu landen. Durch ihr gelungenes modisches Auftreten wurde sogar das Magazin "Vogue" auf die beiden aufmerksam. Zusammen mit ihren vier Bühnentänzerinnen plus DJ ist mehr als heißes Abtanzen angesagt!

 

Showbeginn: 15:00 Uhr

AMI

THE NATURAL YOUNG SONGWRITER LADY

Ami, die Tochter des bekannten Reggae- und Worldmusic Fusion Musikers Wally Warning, hat sich seit ihrem ersten Solo-Auftritt beim 28.Africa Festival und ihrer zweiten CD Veröffentlichung „Seasons“ immer mehr zu einer selbstbewussten Songwriterin entwickelt. Mit der Karibikinsel Aruba im Blut scheut sie sich mittlerweile nicht, wie im gelungenen „Untertauchen“ zu hören, auch in deutscher Sprache zu singen. Freuen wir uns auf viel ´Groove & Soul´ von der in München lebenden jungen Sängerin.

Showbeginn: 17:00 Uhr

PATRICE

GERMANY’S FINEST ROOTS REGGAE & SOUL ARTIST

Patrice Babatunde Bart-Williams begeisterte 2001 das erste Mal das Africa Festival Publikum. Seit seinem Debüt Album “Ancient Spirit“ (2000) hat er sich kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und sein letztes Album “Life's Blood“ (2016) ist ein weiterer, zeitloser Meilenstein in seiner Karriere geworden. Der sympathische Songwriter ist in seiner Geburtsstadt Köln genauso zuhause, wie in New York, Paris oder dem Heimatland seines verstorbenen Vaters: Sierra Leone. Ein spezielles Jubiläumspräsent für die treuen Zuschauer vor der Offenen Bühne!

v