Tribal

BAMBOO HALL

Bambushalle | © Bugs Steffen

There will again be a bamboo hall at the 31st International Africa Festival where different initiatives and media will present themselves. The "Mama Afrika" initiative takes a stand against female genital mutilation in Guinea. The "Baobab Children Foundation" wants to make sure that children and young adults in Ghana receive education. The association "Freundeskreis Omnibili" will inform guests about its project featuring bushmen in Namibia. "Terre des Femmes", a non-profit human rights organisation for women and girls and the "Alpensolar Human e.V." association, which wants to further solar technology in Africa, will also be featured in the bamboo hall. Furthermore, the African print magazine LoNam and taz, which present the festival, will also have an information booth at the bamboo hall.

The information booths of the bamboo hall will be open daily from 11 am to 6 pm.

© Baobab

BAOBAB CHILDREN FOUNDATION

INFORMATION BOOTH

Is a Ghanaian non goverment organisation which has been running a vocational centre for youths for more than 15 years, which is located between Kissi and Kwahinkrom. This is a rural area, where children often don’t have a chance to receive an education, as, from an early age on, they must help their parents or grandparents with their work at a farm or with selling produce. Often financial reasons make it impossible for children or youths to visit a school – there is no money for a school uniform, for books or notebooks and often times the way to the next school is too long. 16 years ago Edith de Vos founded the Baobab Children Foundation for these youths.

© Mama Afrika

MAMA AFRIKA

INFORMATION BOOTH

Mama Afrika is a recognised non-profit, African-German association, which wants to make African culture known in Germany by means of different cultural projects. Thus it is contributing to integration. The main goal of the organisation is the fight against female genital mutilation. In the last two years, the association managed to complete their kindergarten. The next aim is founding a school where above all the children, but also their parents, are educated about the causes and consequences of female genital mutilation.

© Ombili

OMBILI

INFORMATION BOOTH

One of the oldest ethnic groups of humankind, the SAN – also known as Bushmen – has been robbed of its roots and living space and is in dire straits to lose its cultural and social identity. Ever since there have been people in Africa, they have been hunter-gatherers. They have never settled but have always been peaceful and thus became easy targets of expulsion and neglect. Only the careful attempt to help them lead a settled life and introduce their children to education will enable the SAN to conserve their identity and their tradition. The OMBILI association near Tsumeb is committed to this task.

© Sigrid Hempfling

MEDECINS SANS FRONTIERES

INFORMATION BOOTH

Médecins sans Frontières was founded in 1971 by a group of French doctors as a private, nongovernmental humanitarian organization. They set themselves the task to provide medical relief in crisis or conflict areas, regardless of religious, ethnical or political interests. In order to preserve this independence, MSF is mainly funded through private donations. In 1999, the organization was awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize for their work. MSF provides worldwide medical emergency assistance in more than 70 countries. The majority of the aid projects are currently in Africa.

© Terre des femmes

TERRE DES FEMMES

INFORMATION BOOTH

TERRE DES FEMMES is a non-profit human rights organisation for women and girls. The central themes are domestic and sexual abuse, forced marriage and crimes committed in marriage, female genital mutilation, trafficking in women and forced prostitution. In Africa TERRE DES FEMMES is cooperating with women’s rights organisations in Mali, Burkina Faso and Sierra Leone and supports educational projects for girls in Cameroon. The goal of TERRE DES FEMMES is a world worth living for all girls and women – equal, self-determined and free.

© Alpensolar Human e.V.

ALPENSOLAR HUMAN E.V.

INFORMATION BOOTH

The Alpensolar association from Allgäu wants to further the solar technology in Africa in the future, as there are still many villages without electricity. In the spring, the association provided 50 villages in Togo with photovoltaic systems. With these systems the villagers can charge their power banks (USB miniature batteries) at 24 USB ports and thus use them to charge their cell phones or power a reading lamp. One system can charge up to 100 power banks per day. For the people this means enrichment in the areas of education, communication and wellbeing. Each pupil in a school can e.g. be provided with a power bank and a reading lamp.

©Tiranke Diallo / Mama Afrika

S.OLIVER & AFRO PROJECT E. V.

This year, too, the international fashion and lifestyle company s.Oliver will be supporting the 31st International Africa Festival. There will be charity events with the non-profit organisation “Afro Project e.V.” (registered association). As in the previous years, visitors can participate in a photo and batik session. The proceeds will go to the “Mama Afrika” association. The aim of the association is to stop the dangerous tradition of female genital mutilation. There will be a booth in the bamboo hall where visitors can get information about the non-profit work of “Mama Afrika”.

v

Tribal

BAMBUSHALLE

Bambushalle | © Bugs Steffen

Auch zum 31. Internationalen Africa Festival wird es wieder eine Bambushalle geben, in der sich verschiedene Initiativen und Medien präsentieren werden. Der Verein „Mama Afrika“ setzt sich gegen die weibliche Genitalverstümmelung in Guinea ein. Die Initiative „Baobab Children Foundation“ möchte Kindern und Jugendlichen in Ghana die Chance auf Bildung ermöglichen. Der „Freundeskreis Ombili“ wird über sein Projekt mit den Buschmännern in Namibia informieren. Ebenfalls wird „Terres des femmes“, eine gemeinnützige Menschenrechtsorganisation, die von Gewalt betroffene Mädchen und Frauen unterstützt, und der Verein „Alpensolar Human e. V.“, der die Solartechnik in Afrika vorantreiben will, vertreten sein. Des Weiteren werden das afrikanische Printmagazin LoNam und die taz, die das Festival präsentieren, mit einem Infostand vor Ort sein. Die Informationsstände der Bambushalle sind täglich von 11:00 bis 18:00 Uhr gröffnet.

© Baobab

BAOBAB CHILDREN FOUNDATION

INFORMATIONSSTAND

 

ist eine ghanaische Nichtregierungsorganisation, die seit mehr als 15 Jahren ein Jugendausbildungszentrum zwischen Kissi und Kwahinkrom betreibt. In einer ländlich geprägten Gegend, wo Kinder oftmals keine Chance auf Bildung bekommen, sondern früh den Eltern oder Großeltern auf der Farm oder beim Verkauf der Erzeugnisse helfen müssen. Oft sind es rein finanzielle Gründe, die den Kindern und Jugendlichen einen Schulbesuch nicht möglich machen, denn es fehlt das Geld für die Schuluniform, für die Bücher und Hefte und oftmals ist auch der Weg zur nächsten Schule viel zu lang. Für diese Jugendlichen hat Edith de Vos vor 16 Jahren die Baobab Children Foundation ins Leben gerufen.

© Mama Afrika

MAMA AFRIKA E.V.

INFORMATIONSSTAND

 

Mama Afrika e. V. ist ein gemeinnützig anerkannter deutsch-afrikanischer Verein, welcher die afrikanische Kultur durch verschiedene Kulturprojekte in Deutschland bekannt machen möchte und somit seinen Beitrag zur Integration leistet. Hauptziel des Vereins ist der Kampf gegen die weibliche Genitalverstümmelung. In den letzten beiden Jahren war es dem Verein möglich den Kindergarten fertig zu stellen. Das nächste Ziel ist die Gründung einer Schule, wo in erster Linie die Kinder und auch weiterhin die Eltern über die Ursachen und Folgen der weiblichen Genitalverstümmelung aufgeklärt werden müssen.

© Ombili

OMBILI

INFORMATIONSSTAND

 

Eine der ältesten Volksgruppen der Menschheit, die SAN – auch Buschleute genannt – ist, ihrer Wurzeln und ihres natürlichen Lebensraumes beraubt, in größter Gefahr, ihre kulturelle und soziale Identität zu verlieren. Seit es Menschen in Afrika gibt, leben sie als Jäger und Sammler. Sie waren nie sesshaft aber immer friedfertig und so leichte Opfer von Vertreibung und Missachtung. Nur der behutsame Versuch, ihnen zu helfen, sich die Grundlagen eines sesshaften Lebens zu erschließen und ihre Kinder an Bildung heran zu führen, ermöglicht den SAN ihre Kultur und ihrer Tradition zu bewahren. Dieser Aufgabe widmet sich die OMBILI-Stiftung in der Nähe von Tsumeb.

© Sigrid Hempfling

ÄRZTE OHNE GRENZEN

INFORMATIONSSTAND

 

Médecins Sans Frontières wurde 1971 von einer Gruppe französischer Ärzte als eine private, regierungsunabhängige humanitäre Organisation gegründet. Sie machten sich zur Aufgabe, in Krisen- oder Konfliktgebieten unabhängig von religiösen, ethnischen oder politischen Interessen medizinische Nothilfe zu leisten. Um diese Unabhängigkeit zu bewahren, finanziert sich Ärzte ohne Grenzen überwiegend aus privaten Spenden. Für ihre Arbeit wurde die Organisation 1999 mit dem Friedensnobelpreis ausgezeichnet. Ärzte ohne Grenzen leistet weltweit in mehr als 70 Ländern medizinische Nothilfe. Die meisten der Hilfsprojekte sind derzeit in Afrika.

© Terre des femmes

TERRE DES FEMMES

INFORMATIONSSTAND

 

TERRE DES FEMMES ist eine gemeinnützige Menschenrechtsorganisation für Mädchen und Frauen. Die Schwerpunktthemen sind häusliche und sexualisierte Gewalt, Zwangsheirat und Ehrverbrechen, weibliche Genitalverstümmelung, Frauenhandel und Zwangsprostitution. In Afrika kooperiert TERRE DES FEMMES mit Frauenrechtsorganisationen in Mali, Burkina Faso und Sierra Leone und fördert ein Bildungsprojekt für Mädchen in Kamerun. Das Ziel von TERRE DES FEMMES ist eine lebenswerte Welt für alle Mädchen und Frauen – gleichberechtigt, selbstbestimmt und frei!

© Alpensolar Human e.V.

ALPENSOLAR HUMAN E.V

INFORMATIONSSTAND

 

Der Verein Alpensolar Human e. V. aus dem Allgäu möchte zukünftig die Solartechnik in Afrika vorantreiben, da noch sehr viele Dörfer dort ohne Strom leben. Im Frühjahr haben sie für 50 Dörfer in Togo Photovoltaikanlage-Systeme geliefert. Dabei können die jeweiligen Dorfbewohner an 24 USB-Ports ihre Powerbanks (USB-Minibatterie) aufladen um damit abends ihre Handys zu laden oder eine Leselampe betreiben. Mit einem System können an einem Tag ca. 100 Powerbanks aufgeladen werden. Für die Menschen bedeutet dies eine Bereicherung im Bereich Bildung, Kommunikation und Wohlbefinden. In einer Schule kann beispielsweise jeder Schüler mit einer Powerbank und einer Leselampe ausgestattet werden.

© Tiranke Diallo / Mama Afrika

S.OLIVER & AFRO PROJECT E. V.

Das internationale Mode- und Livestyle-Unternehmen s.Oliver wird auch in diesem Jahr das 31. Internationale Africa Festival finanziell unterstützen. In Kooperation mit dem gemeinnützigen Verein „Afro Project e. V.“ wird es Charity-Aktionen geben. Wie in den letzten Jahren können sich die Besucher an einer Foto- und Batikaktion beteiligen. Der Erlös kommt dem Verein „Mama Afrika“ zu Gute. Der Verein setzt sich dafür ein, dass die gefährliche Tradition der weiblichen Genitalverstümmelung beendet wird. An einem Stand in der Bambushalle können sich die Besucher über die gemeinnützige Arbeit von „Mama Afrika“ informieren.

v