Tribal

AWARD 2018

Laudation for the winner of

Laureate Sona Jobarteh with Federal President Frank Walter Steinmeier, band Daara J Family and host Sarah Bergh

Africa Festival Award 2018/1 - Speech

Dear Federal President,

thank you very much for staying loyal to us and inaugurating the Africa Festival for the second time – this time as  head of state and with your wife (Ms. Büdenbender). We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation and approval regarding the 30th anniversary of the festival.

One tradition during the inauguration of the festival is the Africa Festival Awards.

This year, we give the Africa Festival Award to a talented musician and singer who will also perform at this year's festival. It is a particular joy that you Mr. Federal President already know the laureate. The laureate herself doesn't know about the award yet, because, as always, it is top secret.

The laureate receives the Africa Festival Award 2018 because of her great musical talent and amazing voice but furthermore also because of her commitment to the children of her home country.  She recognized that music and education are the weapons against inexperience, intolerance and poverty. Therefor she used her own money to found a school. Besides the traditional music of their country the children also learn reading, writing, mathematics and are informed about important topics like nutrition and health.  We are delighted to give the Africa Festival Award 2018 to Sona Jobarteh from the Gambia and her employees at the school, which she founded. Congratulations dear Sona!

 

May 2018

trennlinie_840

Laureate Christian Schuchardt, Dr. Stefan Oschmann and Adolf Bauer

Africa Festival Award 2018/2 - Speech

Dear Mr Schuchardt,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff for acknowledging our work within the last 30 years.

We are delighted about the “Dancing Shepherd“ award, which also has a partner – the dancing shepherdess. The figurine of the award was created 250 years ago and is part of the court garden of the castle in Veitshöchheim – one of the most beautiful rococo gardens in Europe.

To mark the occasion of this awards ceremony, we also brought a little surprise for you, Lord Mayor, which will hopefully get a special place in your office.

The team of the Africa Festival decided to give the Africa Festival Award 2018 to you, as you are a representative of the city of Würzburg, which has always supported the festival during the last 30 years.

As you can see, we chose two dancing people for our Africa Festival logo. They are part of the national monument of Namibia and in 2007 were declared World Heritage by the Unesco. They are more than 4,000 years old. The San bushmen painted these figures onto the rocks in the North West of Namibia. The two figures represent the African zest for life.

We were only able to bring the African music and zest for life to Würzburg thanks to the support of many people. The city of Würzburg has been an important partner for the last 30 years. Above all, I would like to mention the former head of the cultural office Gabriel Engert and cultural advisor Mr. Voll. These two have been supporting the festival from the start and made sure that, by the second festival, there was already a technical manager, which was provided by the city of Würzburg. For 10 years Mr Jochen Thüringer has been mastering this task with great commitment.

We are also happy that in the last 30 years each year the festival was inaugurated by a representative of the city of Würzburg. This year was the exception, as the festival was inaugurated by Federal President Mr Steinmeier. The city of Würzburg has been supporting us during tough times, too. Thus, e.g. former mayor Jürgen Weber helped us a lot when a concert organiser wanted to have an event at Mainwiesen during the time of the Africa Festival. During the flood catastrophe in 2013 former mayor Mr. Rosenthal came to our rescue by e.g. providing the professional fire brigade.

The city council has been financially supporting the festival from the start – without this support the festival wouldn’t have been possible as we have high expenses for e.g. the infrastructure.

We would also like to thank the institutions of the city of Würzburg, which have helped us, for example the civil engineering department, which provided us with the signs and barriers, the parks office, which gave us plants for the decoration, the city draining for cleaning the sewers, the youth welfare office for providing us with the construction trailer and games, and the CTW for the pre-sale of the tickets and for advising the visitors when it comes to finding a hotel etc. We would like to thank Ms. Dittmann from the protocol for organising the visits of the president of Zanzibar, the Federal President as well as other special guests. Special thanks go to Ms. Birgit Steinmetz who always provided advice in difficult situations.

 

December 2018


trennlinie_840

v

Tribal

AWARD 2018

Laudatio für den Preisträger des

Preisträgerin Sona Jobarteh mit Bundespräsident Frank Walter Steinmeier, der Band Daara J Family und Moderatorin Sarah Bergh

Africa Festival Award 2018/1 - Speech

Sehr geehrter Herr Bundespräsident,

vielen Dank, dass sie uns die Treue halten und das Africa Festival zum zweiten Mal eröffnen - diesmal als Staatsoberhaupt und gemeinsam mit Ihrer Frau (Frau Büdenbender). Ganz herzlichen Dank für Ihre Worte der Wertschätzung und der Anerkennung anlässlich des 30. Jubiläums des Festivals.
Traditionell gehört zur Eröffnung des Africa Festivals die Verleihung des Africa Festival Awards.
Der Africa Festival Award geht dieses Mal an eine talentierte Musikerin und Sängerin, die auch auf dem Festival in diesem Jahr auftreten wird. Es ist eine besondere Freude, dass Sie, Herr Bundespräsident, die Preisträgerin schon kennen. Die Preisträgerin selbst weiß noch nichts von ihrer Auszeichnung, da das wie immer streng geheim ist.
Die Preisträgerin bekommt den Africa Festival Award 2018 auch wegen ihres großen musikalischen Talents und ihrer tollen Stimme besonders aber und darüber hinaus aufgrund ihres Engagements für die Kinder ihres Heimatlandes. Sie hat erkannt, dass Musik und Bildung die Waffen gegen Unwissenheit, Intoleranz und Armut sind. Sie hat deshalb mit ihrem eigenen Geld eine Schule gegründet. Die Kinder lernen dort neben der traditionellen Musik ihres Landes unter anderem auch Lesen, Schreiben und Mathematik und werden über wichtige Themen wie Ernährung und Gesundheit aufgeklärt.  Wir freuen uns, dass der Africa Festival Award 2018 an Sona Jobarteh aus Gambia und ihre Mitarbeiter an der von ihr gegründeten Musikschule geht. Herzlichen Glückwunsch, liebe Sona
 

Mai 2018

trennlinie_840

Preisträger Christian Schuchardt, Dr. Stefan Oschmann und Adolf Bauer

Africa Festival Award 2018/2 - Speech

Lieber Herr Schuchardt,

hiermit möchte ich mich recht herzlich im Namen aller MA für die Anerkennung unserer Arbeit in den letzten 30 Jahren bedanken.

Wir freuen uns besonders über den Preis des tanzenden Schäfers der auch eine Partnerin hat – die tanzende Schäferin. Die Figur des Preises entstand vor 250 Jahren und ist ein Teil des Hofgartens des Schlosses Veitshöchheim – einer der schönsten Rokoko Gärten in Europa.

Anlässlich dieses Preises haben wir Ihnen Herr Oberbürgermeister auch eine kleine Überraschung mitgebracht, die hoffentlich einen Platz in Ihrem Amtszimmer finden wird.

Das Africa Festival Team hat entschieden Ihnen als Repräsentant der Stadt Würzburg, die das Festival in den letzten 30 Jahren immer unterstützt hat, den Africa Festival Award 2018 zu verleihen.

Wie Sie sehen können, haben wir als Africa Festival Logo zwei tanzende Figuren ausgewählt. Sie gehören zum Nationaldenkmal von Namibia und wurden 2007 von der Unesco zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Sie sind mehr als 4000 Jahre alt. Die San Buschmänner haben diese zwei Figuren auf die Felsen im Nordwesten von Namibia gemalt. Die beiden tanzenden Figuren präsentieren die Lebensfreude Afrikas.

Wir konnten die Musik und die Lebensfreude Afrikas nur durch die Unterstützung von vielen Menschen nach Würzburg bringen. Ein wesentlicher Partner in den letzten 30 Jahren war dabei die Stadt Würzburg. Allen voran der damalige Kulturamtsleiter Gabriel Engert und der Kulturreferent Herr Voll. Die beiden haben von Anfang an das Festival unterstützt und auch dafür gesorgt, dass bereits beim zweiten Festival ein technischer Leiter von der Stadt Würzburg gestellt wurde. Herr Jochen Thüringer hat diese Aufgabe 10 Jahre lang mit großem Engagement gemeistert.

Wir freuen uns auch darüber, dass in den letzten 30 Jahren jedes Jahr ein Vertreter der Stadt Würzburg das Festival eröffnet hat – in diesem Jahr war es ausnahmsweise der Bundespräsident Herr Steinmeier. Auch in schwierigen Situationen stand die Stadt Würzburg an unserer Seite. So hat z. B. der Oberbürgermeister a.D. Jürgen Weber uns damals sehr geholfen als ein Konzertveranstalter unbedingt zum Termin des Africa Festivals eine Veranstaltung auf den Mainwiesen machen wollte. Herr Oberbürgermeister a.D. Georg Rosenthal war eine große Unterstützung 2013 bei der Hochwasserkatastrophe u. a. mit dem Einsatz der Berufsfeuerwehr um einige Beispiele zu nennen.

Der Stadtrat hat das Festival von Anfang an finanziell unterstützt – ohne diese Unterstützung wäre das Festival nicht möglich gewesen da wir sehr hohe Ausgaben u. a. für die Infrastruktur haben.

Unser Dank geht auch an die vielen Institutionen der Stadt Würzburg, die uns geholfen haben, wie z. B. das Tiefbauamt mit den Schildern und Absperrungen, das Gartenamt mit Pflanzen für die Dekoration, der Entwässerungsbetrieb für die Reinigung der Kanäle, dem Jugendamt für die Überlassung des Bauwagens und des Spielpakets, dem CTW für den Kartenverkauf und der Beratung der Besucher bei Hotelsuche etc.  Frau Dittmann vom Protokoll für die Organisation des Besuches des Präsidenten von Sansibar, des Bundespräsidenten sowie weiterer Ehrengäste. Besonderer Dank geht an Frau Birgit Steinmetz die in schwierigen Situationen oft Rat wusste.

 

Dezember 2018

trennlinie_840

v