Tribal

24. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2012)

welcome

 

Exhibition „Söhne & Töchter des Windes - die letzten Nomaden Afrikas”

Photo: © Mario

 

Main focuses of the festival 2012 are the Cape Verde Islands and Senegal - two neighbours, which have developed very different cultures (for further information go to page 32). Adequately, the university tent will give an overview of the historical development and cultural diversity of both African republics. Also the ARTE movie tent will offer a daily selection of movies about the Cape Verde and Senegal. Furthermore, the Senegalese fashion designer Madame Rama Diaw NʼDiaye will present her fashion line “made in Africa” in line with a daily fashion show at the bazaar. She will also intro duce her praiseworthy social project “Aissatou” which is supported by the Africa Festival as well.

Besides the music of both theme countries, various music groups, amongst others from Aruba, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Ghana, Jamaica, Mali / Cuba and North Africa will perform this year at the festival. Along with these musicians are interesting new discoveries like YʼAkoto from Ghana/Germany, Sona Jobarteh, the first female Kora virtuoso from Gambia and Aurélio Martinez with his Garifuna Soul Band. Aurélio Martinez is not only a musician but also Member of Parliament and fights for the rights of the Garifuna, the descendants of African slaves who now live in Belize and Honduras.

Once again the TV station ARTE is media partner of the Africa Festival. Just like last year all evening concerts of the festival will be recorded and will be available to view at “ARTE Live Web” online at www.liveweb.arte.tv.

This year the Africa Festival will provide regional initiatives with a forum to present their activities and projects in Africa to a wider audience. For instance, the Bavarian football association, district of lower Franconia, will offer goal wall shooting in order to support their social project in Mozambique.

We highly recommend visiting our photo exhibition “Sons & Daughters of the Wind” by the renowned photographer Mario Gerth. The exhibition is about the last nomads of Africa and breathtaking pictures will be displayed. An unmissable tribute to Africa and its peoples! We invite you to join us to a colourful journey though the music and cultures of Africa and the Caribbean and wish you all and ourselves a peaceful festival with many interesting and exciting encounters.


Your Afro Project Team


trennlinie_840


evening programme 2012

FRIDAY, 25 Mai 2012

STARS VON DEN KAPVERDEN UND SENEGAL

Omar Pene

MBALAX LEGEND FROM SENEGAL

The singer and composer Omar Pene was born in 1956 in Dakar and is one of the most important Mbalax singers in his home country Senegal. He is seen as a legend and his voice is considered to be one of the most beautiful ones of the entire world music scene. In 1974 he founded his band Super Diamono de Dakar. Omar Pene influenced west - African pop music at least as heavily as Youssou NʼDour. It is also NʼDour who, jokingly, described him as his ʻrivalʼ, but also calls him a living legend of African music. Omar Pene mixes the classical Mbalax style with elements of jazz, reggae and salsa, which makes his music sound quite divers.

 

Sara Tavares 

THE VOICE OF CAPE VERDEAN ISLANDS

Sara Tavares is a discovery of the Africa Festival. She had one of her first bigger performances in 2001 in Würzburg, where she always enjoys returning to. The musical roots of the in Portugal living singer are placed on the Cape Verdean Islands, the native country of her parents. The islands also play a major role in the inspiration of her music. Besides the Morna, the blues of Cape Verde, and the Fado, the blues of Portugal, Sara Tavares works with elements of pop, soul, jazz and African rhythms to create a unique and distinctive style of music. Her most recent album “Xinti” is a proof of how well she has perfected this style mixture.

 

trennlinie_840

SATURDAY, 26 MAI 2012

Y’Akoto

MUSICAL GLOBETROTTER FROM GERMANY AND GHANA

YʼAkoto, the daughter of a Ghanaian father and a German mother is a true cosmopolitan. Born in Hamburg, raised in Ghana and after a few stopovers in Cameroon, Togo and Chad, she now calls Hamburg her home again but still remains a restless wanderer between cultures. For her first album called “Babyblues”, which despite the title has a very grown up sound, the singer has composed all the songs by herself. On her album YʼAkoto reveals what moves her, for instance, her touching song “Tamba” in which she sings about the fate of an African child soldier. The music of the 23 year old gets under ones skin. This year's insider tip of the festival!

 

Angélique Kidjo 

HOMAGE TO MIRIAM MAKEBA

For many Angélique Kidjo from Benin is considered to be the new “Mama Africa” since Miriam Makebas death. After all, with her current stage show she is keeping the great musical heritage of the charismatic Grande Dame of African music alive. Her performance “Tribute to Miriam Makeba” was a major success at the world - famous Montreux Jazz Festival in 2010, where she celebrated the songs of Makeba with numerous guest performers. One of these guests was the South African songwriter Vusi Mahlasela, whom in addition to the members of the Makeba-Band Angélique Kidjo will bring along to the Africa Festival. Other surprise guest performers may be expected.

 

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, 27 MAY 2012

CUBA AND WESTAFRICA

Sona Jobarteh

KORA-VIRTOUSO FROM GAMBIA

Sona Jobarteh from Gambia is the first female African virtuoso on the kora, an instrument which is usually only played by men. Sona Jobarteh is the grandchild of a well known griot and the cousin of Toumani Diabaté. Diabaté is the world wide most well known kora player and will perform at the 24th Africa Festival with “Afro Cubism”. Jobarteh studied at the Royal College of Music in London and was part of many orchestra projects. She is also a member of the African Classical Music Ensemble. In 2008 her debut album “Afro Acoustic Soul” was released and recently, her new CD “Fasiya” has hit the stores. On her new album she not only plays the kora, but also guitar, bass, percussions and the calabash and of course she sings as well.

 

AfroCubism 

DER ORIGINAL BUENA VISTA SOCIAL CLUB

Die 13-köpfige Allstarband „AfroCubism” besteht aus Superstars der afrikanischen und kubanischen Musikszene. Eigentlich hätten der Kora-Virtuose Toumani ­Diabaté aus Mali und der kubanische Sänger und Gitarrist Eliades Ochoa die Basis für das werden sollen, was 1996 als Buena Vista Social Club weltweit für Furore sorgte. Doch scheiterten die in Kuba geplanten Aufnahmen damals an Visaproblemen der afrikanischen Musiker. 2010, also 14 Jahre später, fand die transatlantische Begegnung zwischen Mali und Kuba dann doch noch statt und der eigentliche Buena Vista Social Club erobert seither als „AfroCubism” die Bühnen. Feuriger Rumba und Son treffen auf filigrane Soundmalereien aus Mali.

 

trennlinie_840

MONDAY, 28 MAY 2012

REGGAE NIGHT

Sebastian Sturm

MODERN ROOTS REGGAE FROM GERMANY

Sebastian Sturm took the reggae scene by surprise in 2006 with his debut album “This Change is nice”. Since then a lot has changed for Sebastian Sturm who is originally from Aachen and has a German-Indonesian background. He has remained true to his roots reggae background for his current album “Get up and get going”, but has also opened up to new influences. This is also due to his band “Exile Airline”, whose musicians have given the tone of the album a notable new distinction. The album title will also be the theme of the evening: Get up and get going!

 

Stephen Marley

REGGAE-MULTITALENT AUS JAMAIKA

After Bob Marleyʼs wife Rita and his sons Julian and Damian another offspring of the reggae icon will perform at the Africa Festival. Born in 1972 Stephen Marley is a musical all-rounder. He is not only a musician and composer, but has also contributed as a producer to important and successful records like the Grammy awarded cooperation between his brother Damian and rapper Nas. In 2007 Stephen released his first solo album called “Mind Control”, on which he combines roots - reggae with modern ragga sound. His second album “Revelation Part 1: The Root of Life” followed in 2011.

 

 
trennlinie_840
 
 

Open Stage 2012

FRIDAY, 25 MAY 2012

Modou Seck

TRADITIONAL MUSIC FROM SENEGAL

Modou Seck has been taught the art of playing Sabar drums by the master percussionst Doudou NʼDaye Rose and even accompanied him at his tours. Seck was born in Dakar / Senegal into the caste of Griots. He was a member of the national ballet and teacher for rhythmic education for children and teenagers. Since 1989 he has been successfully on tour with various music formations like Tam Tam Magic. Moudou Seck and Tam Tam Magic will perform together at the 24th Africa Festival.

 

Tcheka

SINGER-SONGWRITER FROM THE CAPE VERDE

Manuel Lopes Andrade was born in 1973 and belongs to the upcoming Cape Verdean musicians who are going back to the Afro roots of the island inhabitants. Already as a young man he started to revive the traditional music by grounding and experimenting with it at the same time. His trademark is the Batuque music of former slaves and he is also an excellent guitar player. His current album “Dor de Mar” was highly recommended by the British world music magazine “Songlines”.

 

trennlinie_840

SATURDAY, 26 MAY 2012:

 

Kora Jazz Trio

AFRO-JAZZ FROM SENEGAL

The Trio uses African Mandingo sounds and combines them with the freedom of Jazz. The Senegalese pianist Abdoulaye Diabaté, the percussionist Moussa Cissoko and the Kora player Djeli Moussa Diawara from Guinea, a half brother of Mory Kanté, are leading the Jazz back to its African roots and let their musical passion lead the way.

Roman Bunka & the Shamandura Project

OUD-VIRTUOSE TRIFFT MEISTERTROMMLER NORDAFRIKAS

“Shamandura” are the marks at the Nile banks, named by Nubian skippers who use them to navigate through dangerous currents of the Nubian Cataracts. North African rhythms, played by the drummers Rhani Krija from Morocco and Lassad Hosni from Tunisia, are the musical marks at the project of the oud-virtuoso Roman Bunka. The project is complemented by saxophonist Roland Schäffer.

 

Sia Tolno

THE NEW VOICE FROM GUINEA

It is no coincidence that the jury from Radio France International, chaired by Richard Bona, has awarded the singer Sia Tolno as the best musical Newcomer from Africa. The singer with a strong and warm voice says about herself: “I am a rock nature” Nevertheless, she uses traditional African instruments in her music. Sia Tolno is known for her power on stage, which she uses to interpret songs with elements of Rumba, Reggae, Soukous and Afrobeat.

 

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, 27 MAY 2012:

Mamadou Diabaté’s Percussion Mania

TRADITIONAL MUSIC FROM BURKINA FASO

As buzzing as the activities on a West African market place is the music of Mamadou Diabaté and his Percussion Mania. Melodic playing of the balafon, powerful rhythms and African vocals will create a great atmosphere on stage and among the audience. Balafon virtuoso Mamadou Diabaté from Burkina Faso will be accompanied by five fellow countrymen who master various percussion instruments.

 

Fantcha

THE DIVA OF CAPE VERDEAN MUSIC

The singer Fantcha is from Mindelo, the Cape Verdean islands and grew up in a family which was very much into music. Instead of playing with dolls, like other girls, she preferred making music with her brothers. Already in her early years she was very active at the Cape Verdean Carneval. Later on she met Cesária Évora, the recently deceased Grande Dame of the Cape Verdean scene. Fantcha pursues the tradition of the music of the Cape Verde with the influences of Africa, Cuba and Portugal.

 

Bebey Prince Bissongo

GUITAR GENIUS FROM BURKINA FASO

Raised with the music traditions of Burkina Faso the charismatic guitarist and singer Bebey Prince Bissongo broadens the rhythms of his childhood by adding jazz, blues, rock and funk into his music. It proofs him to be a worthy successor of his father the “emperor bissongo” who made many audiences dance back in the seventies and eighties.

 

trennlinie_840

MONDAY, 28 MAY 2012:

Wally Warning

CALYPSO, REGGAE AND SOUL FROM ARUBA

The reggae singer Wally Warning is from the small Caribbean island Aruba. He feels at home on many stages around the world and in 2007 he created the summer hit “No Monkey”. It is the mix that makes him special: Whenever Wall Warning, singer, guitarist and bassist hits the stage he manages to carry his passion for music over to the audience. Wall Warning is not only a dedicated wanderer between worlds; he has created a “world music” which does not fit into any categories.

 

 

Leo’s Den

20 YEARS OF REGGAE FROM WÜRZBURG

It has been a long time since the original Leo members have met in a small basement room to produce their reggae. Many musicians came and went but the original core of the band knew from the beginning what kind of reggae they wanted to play! This is how the Leoʼs family came together and inspired the audiences in Germany and abroad. Through their originality and passion they touch the heart and nourish souls! Just true roots reggae ...

Aurélio & the garifuna soul band

GARIFUNA-MUSIC FROM HONDURAS

Aurélio Martinez is the musical heir of the too early deceased Andy Palacio. For many years he has devoted himself to the Garifuna music of former African slaves. Martinez is not only a musician, but also political active and the first black member of the parliament in Honduras. His recent album, to which also Youssou NʼDour contributed, was voted into the top ten of the best world music records in 2011 by the world music magazine Songlines

 

trennlinie_840

v

Tribal

24. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2012)

willkommen 2012

 

Ausstellung „Söhne & Töchter des Windes - die letzten Nomaden Afrikas”

Photo: © Mario Gerth


Schwerpunkt des Festivals 2012 sind die kapverdischen Inseln und Senegal - zwei Nachbarn, die eine sehr unterschiedliche Kultur entwickelt haben (siehe auch Seite 60). Passend zu diesem Thema gibt das Universitätszelt einen Überblick über die historische Entwicklung und die kulturelle Vielfalt der beiden afrikanischen Republiken. Im ARTE-Kinozelt auf dem Festivalgelände ist täglich ein Filmprogramm zum Senegal und den Kapverden zu sehen. Des weiteren wird die ­sene­galesische Modeschöpferin Madame Rama Diaw N’Diaye ihre Mode „Made in Africa” im Rahmen von täglichen Modevorführungen auf dem Basar vorstellen. Auch ihr soziales Projekt „Aissatou”, das vom Africa Festival unterstützt wird, wird sie präsentieren.

 

Neben der Musik aus den beiden Schwerpunktländern werden verschiedene Musikgruppen u.a. aus Aruba, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Ghana, Jamaika, Mali/Kuba und Nordafrika zu hören sein. Darunter sind wieder interessante Neuentdeckungen wie Y’Akoto aus Ghana/Deutschland, Sona Jobarteh, die erste weibliche Kora-Virtuosin aus Gambia und Aurélio Martinez mit seiner Garifuna Soul Band. Aurélio Martinez ist Musiker und Abgeordneter und kämpft für die Rechte des Garifuna-Volkes, Nachfahren afrikanischer Sklaven, die heute in Belize und Honduras leben.

 

Der Fernsehsender ARTE ist erneut Medienpartner des Africa Festivals. Auch in diesem Jahr überträgt „ARTE Live Web” die wichtigsten Konzerte des Festivals unter concert.arte.tv.


In diesem Jahr wird das Afrika Festival schwerpunktmäßig regionalen Initiativen, die sich für Afrika engagieren, eine Plattform bieten, um ihre Aktivitäten und Projekte einem breiten Publikum vorzustellen. So wird z.B. der Bayerische Fußballverband, Bezirk Unterfranken, mit einem Torwandschießen für Unterstützung seines Sozialprojektes in Mosambik werben.

 

Besonders ans Herz legen möchten wir unseren Besuchern die Fotoausstellung „Söhne & Töchter des Windes” des renommierten Fotografen Mario Gerth. Sie beschäftigt sich mit den letzten Nomaden Afrikas und zeigt atemberaubende Bilder. Die Ausstellung ist eine Hommage an Afrika und seine Völker und Sie sollten sie nicht verpassen!


Wir laden Sie ein zu einer bunten Reise durch die Musik und Kultur Afrikas und der Karibik und wünschen Ihnen und uns wieder ein friedliches Festival mit vielen interessanten und spannenden Begegnungen.



Ihr Afro Project Team



trennlinie_840



head_24abendprogramm-2

FREITAG, 25. Mai 2012

STARS VON DEN KAPVERDEN UND SENEGAL

Omar Pene

MBALAX-LEGENDE AUS DEM SENEGAL

Der Sänger und Komponist Omar Pene ist 1956 in Dakar geboren und gilt in ­seiner Heimat Senegal als einer wichtigsten Mbalax-Sänger. Er wird wie eine ­Legende verehrt und seine Stimme gilt als eine der schönsten in der gesamten Weltmusik. 1974 gründete er seine Band Super Diamono de Dakar. Pene beeinflusste die westafrikanische Popmusik mindestens ebenso so sehr wie Youssou N’Dour, der ihn scherzhaft als seinen ­„Rivalen” bezeichnet, ihn aber gleichzeitig eine lebende Legende der afrikanischen Musik nennt. In den klassischen Mbalax-Sound mixt Omar Pene auch Elemente aus Jazz, Reggae und Salsa, was seine Musik sehr abwechslungsreich klingen lässt.

 

Sara Tavares 

DIE STIMME DER KAPVERDEN

Sara Tavares ist eine Entdeckung des Africa Festivals. Einen ihrer ersten ­großen Auftritte hatte sie im Jahr 2001 in Würzburg, wohin sie immer wieder gerne zurückkehrt. Die musikalischen Wurzeln der in Portugal lebenden Sängerin liegen auf den Kapverdischen Inseln, der ­Heimat ihrer Eltern. Von hier kommen viele ihrer musikalischen Inspirationen. Neben der Morna, dem Blues der Kapverden, und dem Fado, dem Blues ­Portugals, verarbeitet sie in ihren Songs auch Elemente des Pop, Soul und Jazz sowie afrikanische Rhythmen zu einem unverwechselbaren eigenen Stil. Wie ausgereift dieser Mix inzwischen ist, lässt sich auf „Xinti”, ihrer letzten CD, nachhören.

 

trennlinie_840

SAMSTAG, 26. MAI 2012

STARKE FRAUENSTIMMEN

Y’Akoto

MUSIKALISCHE WELTENBUMMLERIN AUS DEUTSCHLAND/GHANA

Y’Akoto, die als Tochter eines Ghanaers und einer Deutschen zur Welt kam, ist eine echte Kosmopolitin. Geboren in Hamburg, aufgewachsen in Ghana und nach Zwischenstopps in Kamerun, Togo und Tschad jetzt wieder in Hamburg zu Hause, ist sie eine ruhelose Wandlerin zwischen den Welten. Für ihre erste CD „Babyblues”, die freilich sehr erwachsen klingt, hat die Sängerin alle Songs selbst komponiert. Auf „Babyblues” kehrt Y’Akoto ihr Innerstes nach außen, beispielsweise wenn sie im bewegenden „Tamba” das Schicksal eines afrikanischen Kindersoldaten besingt. Die „Soul-Seeking-Music” der 23-Jährigen geht unter die Haut. Sie ist der Geheimtipp des diesjährigen Festivals.

 

Angélique Kidjo 

HOMMAGE AN MIRIAM MAKEBA

Für viele gilt Angélique Kidjo aus Benin nach dem Tod von Miriam Makeba als die neue „Mama Africa”. Immerhin verwaltet sie in ihrer aktuellen Bühnenshow das große musikalische Erbe der charismatischen Grande Dame der afrikanischen Musik. Mit großem Erfolg gastierte sie mit ihrem „Tribute to Miriam Makeba” beim weltbekannten Montreux Jazz ­Festival, wo sie 2010 mit zahlreichen Gästen die Songs von Makeba zelebrierte. Einer der Gäste war der südafrikanische Songwriter Vusi Mahlasela, den Angélique Kidjo neben den Mitgliedern der Makeba-Band auch zum Africa Festival mitbringen wird. Mit weiteren Überraschungsgästen darf gerechnet werden.

 

trennlinie_840

SONNTAG, 27. Mai 2012

KUBA UND WESTAFRIKA

Sona Jobarteh

KORA-VIRTUOSIN AUS GAMBIA

Sona Jobarteh aus Gambia ist die erste afrikanische Virtuosin auf der Kora, einem Instrument, das bisher eine reine Männerdomäne war. Sie ist Enkeltochter eines Meistergriots und eine Cousine von Toumani Diabaté, dem weltweit bekanntesten Koraspieler, der mit „AfroCubism” zum Africa Festival kommt. In jungen Jahren ­besuchte sie das Royal College of Music in London und war an zahlreichen Orchesterprojekten beteiligt. Sie ist außerdem Mitglied des African Classical Music Ensemble. 2008 erschien ihr Debütalbum Afro Acoustic Soul und vor kurzem veröffentlichte sie ihre neue CD  Fasiya, auf der sie neben der Kora auch Gitarre, Bass, Percussion und Kalebasse spielt und singt.

 

AfroCubism 

DER ORIGINAL BUENA VISTA SOCIAL CLUB

Die 13-köpfige Allstarband „AfroCubism” besteht aus Superstars der afrikanischen und kubanischen Musikszene. Eigentlich hätten der Kora-Virtuose Toumani ­Diabaté aus Mali und der kubanische Sänger und Gitarrist Eliades Ochoa die Basis für das werden sollen, was 1996 als Buena Vista Social Club weltweit für Furore sorgte. Doch scheiterten die in Kuba geplanten Aufnahmen damals an Visaproblemen der afrikanischen Musiker. 2010, also 14 Jahre später, fand die transatlantische Begegnung zwischen Mali und Kuba dann doch noch statt und der eigentliche Buena Vista Social Club erobert seither als „AfroCubism” die Bühnen. Feuriger Rumba und Son treffen auf filigrane Soundmalereien aus Mali.

 

trennlinie_840

MONTAG, 28. Mai 2012

REGGAE NIGHT

Sebastian Sturm

MODERN ROOTS REGGAE FROM GERMANY

Sebastian Sturm überraschte 2006 die Reggaeszene mit seinem Debutalbum „This Change is nice”. Seither hat sich für den gebürtigen Aachener mit deutsch-indonesischem Background ­einiges getan. Seinen Roots-Reggae Wurzeln ist er für sein aktuelles Album „Get up and get going” treu geblieben, hat sich dabei aber auch für neue Einflüsse geöffnet. Das liegt auch an seiner Band „Exile Airline”, deren Musiker den Sound des neuen Albums spürbar ­geprägt haben und mit viel frischen Wind neue Kompositionen präsentieren. Der Titel der CD wird auch das Motto des Abends sein: Get up and get going!

 

Stephen Marley

REGGAE-MULTITALENT AUS JAMAIKA

Nach Bob Marleys Frau Rita und seinen Söhnen Julian und Damian kommt nun mit Stephen Marley ein weiterer Sprössling der Reggae-Ikone zum Africa Festival. Der 1972 geborene Stephen ist ein musikalisches Multitalent. Er ist nicht nur Musiker und Komponist, sondern hat auch als Produzent schon an wichtigen und erfolgreichen Platten mitgewirkt wie beispielsweise der Grammy-gekrönten Kooperation seines Bruders Damian mit dem Rapper Nas. 2007 veröffentlichte Stephen sein erstes Soloalbum „Mind Control", auf dem er Roots-Reggae mit modernem Ragga fusionierte. 2011 folgte dann „Revelation Part 1: The Root of Life".

 

 
trennlinie_840
 
 

Offene Bühne 2012

FREITAG, 25. Mai 2012

Modou Seck

TRADITIONELLE MUSIK AUS DEM SENEGAL

Modou Seck lernte das Sabar-Trommeln vom Meisterperkussionisten Doudou N`Daye Rose und begleitete ihn auf dessen Tourneen. Seck ist in Dakar/Senegal in der Kaste der Griots geboren. Er war Mitglied im Nationalballett und Lehrer in der rhythmischen Erziehung von Kindern und Jugendlichen. Seit 1989 ist er erfolgreich mit verschiedenen Musikformationen wie Tam Tam Magic unterwegs, mit der er beim Africa Festival gastieren wird.

 

Tcheka

SINGER-SONGWRITER VON DEN KAPVERDEN

Der 1973 geborene Manuel Lopes Andrade gehört zu den jungen kapverdischen Musikern, die sich wieder auf die Afro-Wurzeln der Archipelbewohner berufen. Schon als junger Mann begann er, die traditionelle Musik durch Erdung und Experiment zugleich zu erneuern. Sein Markenzeichen ist hierbei die Batuque Musik der ehemaligen Sklaven. Er ist auch ein exzellenter Gitarrist. Sein aktuelles Album „Dor de Mar” erhielt vom britischen Weltmusik-Magazin „Song­­lines” die Höchstwertung.

 

trennlinie_840

SAMSTAG, 26. Mai 2012:

 

Kora Jazz Trio

AFRO-JAZZ AUS DEM SENEGAL

Das Trio bedient sich bei afrikanischen Mandingo-Klängen und kombiniert diese mit den Freiheiten des Jazz. Der senegalesische Pianist Abdoulaye Diabaté, Perkussionist Moussa Cissoko und der Kora-Spieler Djeli Moussa Diawara aus Guinea, ein Halbbruder von Mory Kanté, führen den Jazz zu seinen afrikanischen Wurzeln zurück und lassen ihrer musikalischen Leidenschaft freien Lauf.

Roman Bunka & the Shamandura Project

OUD-VIRTUOSE TRIFFT MEISTERTROMMLER NORDAFRIKAS

“Shamandura” nennen die nubischen Schiffer ihre Markierungen am Nilufer, an denen sie sich bei ihrer Navigation durch die gefährliche Strömung der nubischen Katarakte orientieren. Im Projekt des Oud-Virtuosen Roman Bunka sind nordafrikanische Rhythmen, gespielt von den Meistertrommlern Rhani Krija aus Marokko und Lassad Hosni aus Tunesien, die musikalischen Wegzeichen. Ergänzt wird das Projekt von Saxophonist Roland Schäffer.

 

Sia Tolno

DIE NEUE STIMME AUS GUINEA

Es ist kein Zufall, dass eine Jury von Radio France International unter Vorsitz von Richard Bona im letzten Jahr die Sängerin Sia Tolno als beste musikalische Neuentdeckung Afrikas auszeichnete. Die Sängerin mit der kräftigen, warmen Stimme sagt von sich selbst „Ich bin eine Rocknatur”. Gleichwohl verwendet sie in ihrer Musik traditionelle afrikanische Instrumente. Bekannt ist sie für ihre Bühnenpower, mit der sie ihre Songs mit Elementen aus Rumba, Reggae, Soukous und Afrobeat interpretiert.

 

trennlinie_840

SONNTAG, 27. Mai 2012:

Mamadou Diabaté’s Percussion Mania

TRADITIONELLE MUSIK AUS BURKINA FASO

So bunt wie das Leben auf einem westafrikanischen Marktplatz ist die Musik von Mamadou Diabaté und seiner Percussion Mania. Melodisches Balafonspiel, kraftvolle Rhythmen und afrikanische Gesänge sorgen für ausgelassene Stimmung auf der Bühne und im Publikum. Balafonvirtuose Mamadou Diabaté aus Burkina Faso wird von fünf Landsleuten begleitet, die verschiedenste Perkussionsinstrumente beherrschen.

 

Fantcha

DIVA DER KAPVERDISCHEN MUSIK

Die Sängerin Fantcha stammt aus Mindelo auf den Kapverden und wuchs in einer musikalischen Familie auf. Anstatt wie andere Mädchen mit Puppen zu spielen, musizierte sie lieber mit ihren Brüdern. Schon früh war sie im kapverdischen Karneval aktiv, ehe sie Cesária Évora, die kürzlich verstorbene Grande Dame der kapverdischen Musikzene, kennenlernte. Sie führt die Tradition der Kapverden-Musik mit afrikanischen, kubanischen und portugiesischen Einflüssen fort.

 

Bebey Prince Bissongo

GITARRENGENIE AUS BURKINA FASO

Aufgewachsen mit den musikalischen Traditionen Burkina Fasos, erweitert der charismatische Gitarrist und Sänger Bebey Prince Bissongo die Rhythmen seiner Kindheit, indem er sie gekonnt mit Zutaten aus Jazz, Blues, Rock und Funk ergänzt. So erweist er sich als würdiger Nachfolger seines Vaters, dem „Kaiser Bissongo”, der schon in den Siebzigern und Achtzigern die Massen zum Tanzen brachte.

 

trennlinie_840

MONTAG, 28. Mai 2012:

Wally Warning

CALYPSO, REGGAE UND SOUL AUS ARUBA

Der Reggae-Sänger Wally Warning stammt von der kleinen Karibikinsel Aruba. Auf vielen Bühnen der Welt zuhause, gelang ihm 2007 der Sommerhit „No Monkey”. Die Mischung macht’s bei ihm: Wenn Wally Warning, Sänger, Gitarrist und Bassist auf der Bühne steht, springt der Funke schnell über. Wally Warning ist nicht nur engagierter Wanderer zwischen den Welten, er kreiert eine „Weltmusik”, die sich keiner Kategorie verpflichtet fühlt.

 

 

Leo’s Den

20 JAHRE REGGAE AUS WÜRZBURG

Lange ist es her, dass sich die Ursprungsmitglieder der Leo’s in einem kleinen Kellerraum trafen, um ihren Reggae zu produzieren. Viele Musiker kamen und gingen, doch der Kern wusste von Anfang an, welche Art von Reggae aus ihrem Herzen wollte! So fand sich die Leo’s Family zusammen und begeisterte im In- und Ausland. Durch ihre Ehrlichkeit und Wärme berühren sie direkt das Herz und nähren die Seele! Echter Roots Reggae eben ...

Aurélio & the garifuna soul band

GARIFUNA-MUSIK AUS HONDURAS

Aurélio Martinez ist der musikalische Erbe des viel zu früh verstorbenen Andy Palacio. Seit vielen Jahren widmet er sich der Garifuna-Musik der ehemaligen schwarzen Sklaven. Er ist nicht nur Musiker, sondern als erster schwarzer Abgeordneter im Parlament von Honduras auch politisch aktiv. Seine aktuelle CD, auf der auch Youssou N’Dour mitwirkte, wurde im Weltmusik-Magazin Songlines unter die zehn besten Weltmusik-Alben des Jahres 2011 gewählt.

 

trennlinie_840

v