Tribal

EVENING PROGRAMME | CIRCUS TENT

EVENING PROGRAMME | CIRCUS TENT

THURSDAYFRIDAYSATURDAYSUNDAY

 ◊ THURSDAY, 31 May 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

WOMAN POWER FROM MALI

Her debut album ´Fatou´ (2011) featuring the hit “Sowa“ conquered the charts of the world music scene. She was the lead of several movies and theatre plays. Her last projects were the collaboration with Cuban musician Roberto Fonseca (”At Home“ / 2015), the fusion album “Lamomali“ (2017) with French rock musician Matthieu Chedid, as well as the documentary “Mali Blues“. Last year she performed on stage at the Africa festival with Tuareg Ahmed Ag Kaedy, one of the protagonists from this movie. By popular request we have invited the fighter for the rights of women in Africa again to make the festival tent boil. In 2013 she received the Africa Festival Award.

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

MANU DIBANGO

THE GREAT MUSICAL ICON FROM CAMEROON

Ever since Emmanuel N´Djoké Dibango, born in Douala on 12 December 1933, rather randomly conquered the charts in the USA with the song “Soul Makossa“, the B side of his single, everyone has been talking about him. With his great talent as a saxophone player and pianist, he manages to add his personal African touch to any style, whether it is funk, bebop, jazz, hip-hop or reggae.  His albums “Gone Clear“ (1980), “Electric Africa“ (1985), “Afrijazzy“ (1986) and “Wakafrika“(1994) are milestones of the African music scene. His duets with Lucky Dube (1998) and Klaus Doldinger (2008) were unforgettable highlights of the Africa Festival. Thus he feels honoured to once again take over the patronage at the 30th anniversary of the festival.

© Louis Vincent

 ◊ FRIDAY, 01 June 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

LOKUA KANZA

THE FINE VOICE FROM THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO

Lokua Kanza has been accompanying the Africa Festival like no other African artist. Ever since his first performance in 1998 at the 7th Africa Festival, he has been enthusing the audience with his performances again and again with timeless and terrific musical quality. Having an anniversary without him would be unthinkable. In 1991 he took his first big steps in the “Soul Makossa Band“ of Manu Dibango and the “Bwana Zolou Gang” of Ray Lema. They inevitably lead him to a successful solo career. As a songwriter he even wrote some tailor-made songs for the amazing Miriam Makeba (CD “Homeland“ / 2000). Therefore he will remember the great Mama Africa during this concert evening in the main tent, too. In 2006 he was given the Africa Festival Award for his musical talent.

© Christophe Campana

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

ANGELIQUE KIDJO

THE AMAZON FROM BENIN

Ever since she took her first musical steps in Jasper van’t Hof’s formation ‘Pili-Pili’, Angélique Kidjo has been continually advancing her music and has arrived at the Mount Olympus of international musicians. Several Grammy awards, projects with Carlos Santana, duets with Alicia Keys, the release of her biography “Spirit Rising”, as well as her work as an UNICEF ambassador are only a fraction of her sublime career. Today Benin-born power woman Angélique is living and commuting between New York and Paris and always looking for new challenges. Her great role model: Miriam Makeba! At Miriam Makeba’s official farewell concert here at the 18th Africa Festival in 2006 she was present on stage and performed “Malaika” in honour of her. She ranked second in the voting of the audience.

 ◊ SATURDAY, 02 June 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

HABIB KOITÉ & BAMADA

THE GUITAR KING FROM BAMAKO

His hit “No More Cigarette Abana“ will not be the only song which Habib Koité will sing together with the festival audience when he’ll step on the stage of the main circus tent for the 7th time since his first performance at the 8th Africa Festival. Despite his growing success, the exceptional guitar player and singer from Mali has remained the same sociable and nice person. Today he spends his time jamming with blues man Eric Bibb (“Brothers In Bamako“ / 2012), gathers the musicians of his house band to occasionally perform at his own hotel “Maya´s Place“ in Bamako or set out with them to a big world tour. Thus, the 30th anniversary of the festival in Würzburg is a must for him and us. He ranked 3rd in the voting of the audience!

© Maciej Kaczynski

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

HOT WATER

SOUTH AFRICAN FOLK ROCK

It’s impossible to listen to Hot Water. To just listen. Because when Donovan Copley, the band’s founder, frontman, and creative heart, starts singing, playing (often his iconic African guitar), jiving and jumping around on stage, backed up by a mix of stellar South African musicians who are as diverse as the country itself, you can’t sit still…! The music – Copley calls it ‘South African Folk-Rock’ – mixes the sounds of traditional mbaqanga, kwela and maskanda with a more contemporary folk rock vibe, which is utterly danceable. Everything is interwoven by Copley’s raw, sweet voice and inspiring, almost dreamlike lyrics…“Easily one of the most exciting musical projects to come out of SA“ (The Citizen).

© Hylton Boucher

 ◊ SUNDAY, 03 June, 2018 ◊

Start of the show: 08 p.m.

SONA JOBARTEH

MAGIC KORA SOUNDS FROM THE GAMBIA

In the caste of the West African griots playing the kora is traditionally passed on from father to son. Therefore the squad of outstanding kora virtuosos like Toumani Diabaté, Ballaké Sissoko or Tata Dindin, has always been a squad of men. Until a young woman, born in London in 1983 and a cousin of Toumani Diabaté, broke this tradition and has become one of the best of her field herself: Sona Jobarteh! As a griotte, it is her goal to understand the world and tradition of her ancestors from the Gambia and to pass them on to the younger generations, particularly to girls, in her own way. In Brikama / the Gambia she even founded the “Amadu Bansang Jobarteh School of Music“ for this purpose. After 2012 she will again be our guest at the festival.

Start of the show: 10 p.m.

ALPHA BLONDY

GREAT REGGAE VIBES FROM THE IVORY COAST

Besides Tiken Jah Fakoly and the late South African reggae star Lucky Dube, Alpha Blondy, born in 1953, is the reggae artist of the African continent. Every kid in West Africa knows his hits “Cocody Rock”, “Jerusalem” or “Sweet Fanta Diallo”. He and his formation “Solar System” are regular guests at worldwide annual reggae festivals. Every time he is there, he once again proves that good reggae vibes must not exclusively come from Jamaica, but can also be made at the black continent. By the way, politically and socially committed Seydou Koné, which is Alpha Blondy’s real name, gave his first concert in Würzburg at the 4th Africa Festival in 1992. It’s party time at the conclusion of the festival! He ranked 5th in the voting of the audience.
© Youri Lenquette
v

Tribal

ABENDPROGRAMM | ZIRKUSZELT

ABENDPROGRAMM | ZIRKUSZELT

DONNERSTAGFREITAGSAMSTAGSONNTAG

 ◊ DONNERSTAG, 31. Mai 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

WOMAN POWER FROM MALI

Ihr Debütalbum ´Fatou´ (2011) mit dem Hit „Sowa“ eroberte die Charts der Weltmusik-Szene. In mehreren Filmen und Theaterstücken besetzte sie tragende Rollen. Ihre letzten Projekte waren die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kubanischen Musiker Roberto Fonseca („At Home“ / 2015), das Fusions-Album „Lamomali“ (2017) mit dem französischen Rock-Musiker Matthieu Chedid, sowie der Dokumentarfilm „Mali Blues“. Letztes Jahr stand sie auf dem Africa Festival mit dem Tuareg Ahmed Ag Kaedy, einem der Protagonisten aus diesem Film, auf der Bühne. Auf vielfachen Wunsch wurde die Kämpferin für die Rechte der Frauen Afrikas wieder eingeladen, um erneut das Festivalzelt zum Kochen zu bringen. 2013 wurde sie mit dem Africa Festival Award ausgezeichnet.

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

MANU DIBANGO

THE GREAT MUSIC ICON FROM CAMEROON

Seit Emmanuel N´Djoké Dibango, am 12.12.1933 in Douala geboren, eher zufällig mit dem B-Seiten Single Song „Soul Makossa“ in den USA die Music Charts eroberte, war er weltweit in aller Munde. Mit seinem hervorragenden Können, ob als Saxophonspieler oder Pianist, gelingt es ihm jeder Stilrichtung, sei es Funk, BeBop, Jazz, HipHop oder Reggae, seinen ganz persönlichen afrikanischen Anstrich zu geben. Seine Alben „Gone Clear“ (1980), „Electric Africa“ (1985), „Afrijazzy“ (1986) und „Wakafrika“(1994) sind Meilensteine in der afrikanischen Musikszene. Beim Africa Festival waren seine Duette mit Lucky Dube (1998) und Klaus Doldinger (2008) unvergessliche Highlights. So war es ihm auch diesmal wieder eine Ehre, die Schirmherrschaft des 30ten Festival Jubiläums zu übernehmen.

Photo: © Louis Vincent

◊ FREITAG, 01. Juni 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

LOKUA KANZA

THE FINE VOICE FROM THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

Wie kein anderer afrikanischer Künstler begleitet Lokua Kanza das Africa Festival. Seit seinem ersten, unvergesslichen Auftritt 1998 beim 7ten Festival hat er immer wieder, zeitlos und in grandioser musikalischer Qualität das Festivalpublikum mit seinen Auftritten begeistert. Ein Jubiläum ohne ihn wäre gar nicht denkbar. 1991 macht er seine ersten großen Schritte in der „Soul Makossa Band“ von Manu Dibango und in der „Bwana Zoulou Gang“ von Ray Lema. Sie führten ihn zwangsläufig in eine erfolgreiche Solo-Karriere. Als Songwriter schrieb er sogar der großen Miriam Makeba einige Lieder direkt auf den Leib (CD „Homeland“ / 2000). Deswegen wird er auch an diesem Konzert-Abend im Hauptzelt an die große „Mama Africa“ erinnern. Der Africa Festival Award wurde ihm für seine musikalischen Talente 2006 verliehen.

Photo: © Christophe Campana

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

ANGELIQUE KIDJO

THE AMAZON FROM BENIN

Angélique Kidjo hat sich seit ihren ersten musikalischen Schritten in Jasper van't Hof's Formation „Pili-Pili“ kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und ist mittlerweile endgültig im internationalen Musiker-Olymp angekommen. Diverse Grammy Auszeichnungen, Projekte mit Carlos Santana, Duette mit Alicia Keys, die Veröffentlichung ihrer eigene Biographie „Spirit Rising“, sowie ihre Arbeit als UNICEF-Botschafterin, sind nur ein Teil ihres grandiosen Werdegangs. Heute lebt und pendelt die aus Benin kommende Power-Frau zwischen New York und Paris, stets auf der Suche nach neuen Herausforderungen. Ihr großes Vorbild: Miriam Makeba! Bei „Mama Africa's" offiziellem Bühnenabschied hier beim 18.Africa Festival 2006, war sie vor Ort und sang damals ihr zu Ehren „Malaika“. Sie hat beim Voting den zweiten Platz gemacht. audience.

 ◊ SAMSTAG, 02. Juni 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

HABIB KOITÉ & BAMADA

THE GUITAR KING FROM BAMAKO

Sein Hit „No More Cigarette Abana“ wird nicht der einzige Song sein, den Habib Koité zusammen mit dem Festival Publikum anstimmen wird, wenn er jetzt zum siebten Mal, seit seinem ersten Auftritt beim 8.Africa Festival 1996, die Bühne des Hauptzelt betreten wird. Der Ausnahmegitarrist und Sänger aus Mali ist trotz seines wachsenden Erfolgs stets der gleiche umgängliche und sympathische Mensch geblieben. Heute jammt er mal mit dem Bluesmann Eric Bibb („Brothers In Bamako“ / 2012), versammelt die Musiker seiner Hausband „Bamada“ um sich, um gelegentlich in seinem eigenen Hotel „Maya´s Place“ in Bamako aufzutreten oder mit ihnen zu einer großen Welttournee aufzubrechen. Das 30te Jubiläumsfestival in Würzburg ist da für ihn und uns natürlich ein Muss. Im Publikums-Voting hat er den dritten Platz belegt!

Photo: © Maciej Kaczynski

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

HOT WATER BAND

SOUTH AFRICAN FOLK ROCK

Es ist unmöglich Hot Water nur zuzuhören. Denn wenn Donovan Copley, der Gründer, Frontmann und das kreative Herz der Gruppe anfängt zu singen und zu spielen (oft spielt er seine kultige afrikanische Gitarre), auf der Bühne swingt und herumspringt, und von einer außergewöhnlichen Mischung südafrikanischer Musiker unterstützt wird, die so unterschiedlich sind wie das Land selbst, kann man einfach nicht still sitzen bleiben! Die Musik – Copley nennt sie ‘South African Folk Rock‘ – vermischt Klänge und Rhythmen von Mbaqanga, Kwela und Maskanda mit einem zeitgemäßen Folkrock Vibe der absolut tanzbar ist. Alles wird durch Copley’s raue, süße Stimme und inspirierende, beinahe traumgleiche Texte miteinander verwoben. „Mit Abstand eines der aufregendsten musikalischen Projekte Südafrikas.“ (The Citizen)
Photo: © Hylton Boucher

 ◊ SONNTAG, 03. Juni 2018 ◊

Showbeginn: 20:00 Uhr

SONA JOBARTEH

MAGIC KORA SOUNDS FROM GAMBIA

In der Kaste der westafrikanischen Griots wird traditionell das Spielen der Kora vom Vater auf den Sohn weitergegeben. Deswegen ist die Riege der herausragenden Kora Virtuosen, wie Toumani Diabaté, Ballaké Sissoko oder Tata Dindin, stets eine Riege von Männern gewesen. Bis eine junge Frau, 1983 in London geboren und Cousine von Toumani Diabaté, mit dieser Tradition brach und nun selbst zu eine der besten ihres Fachs zählt: Sona Jobarteh! Als „Griotte“ ist es ihr Anliegen, die Welt und Tradition ihrer Vorfahren aus Gambia zu verstehen und sie auf ihre Weise an die jungen Generationen, insbesondere auch Mädchen, weiter zu geben. In Brikama / Gambia hat sie dafür sogar die „Amadou Bansang Jobarteh School of Music“ ins Leben gerufen. Nach 2012 ist sie nun wieder bei uns zu Gast

Showbeginn: 22:00 Uhr

ALPHA BLONDY

GREAT REGGAE VIBES FROM THE IVORY COAST

Alpha Blondy, Jahrgang 1953, ist neben Tiken Jah Fakoly und dem verstorbenen südafrikanischen Reggae Star Lucky Dube, der Reggae Artist des afrikanischen Kontinents überhaupt. Seine Hits „Cocody Rock“, „Jerusalem“ oder „Sweet Fanta Diallo“ kennt jedes Kind in Westafrika. Mit seiner Formation „Solar System“ wird er seit Jahren regelmäßig zu den großen Reggae Events weltweit eingeladen. Dort beweist er jedes Mal erneut, dass gute Reggae Vibes nicht nur aus Jamaika, sondern gerade vom schwarzen Kontinent kommen können. Übrigens sein erstes Konzert in Deutschland überhaupt gab der politisch- und sozial engagierte Seydou Koné, wie er mit bürgerlichem Namen eigentlich heißt, 1992 in Würzburg, beim 4.Africa Festival. „It´s Party-Time“ zum Festival-Abschluss! Beim Voting hat er den fünften Platz belegt.

Photo: © Youri Lenquette
v