Tribal

AWARD 2016

Laudation for the winner of

award_2016_355x142

Hugh Masekela © Günther Klebinger

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FOR HUGH MASEKELA

 

Ladies and gentlemen, dear friends of the Africa Festival,

 

this year the Africa festival is honoring a man and his work who is one of the most important figures in African music for many decades. He is a true ambassador for the continent’s music because he brought the sound of Africa to all over the world.

 

But he is not only one of the greatest musicians that ever came out of Africa. He is a great human being too. He was and still is true and serious fighter for peace, justice, freedom and human rights.

 

He has fought many struggles in his life but he never became a bitter man. I deeply admire that he never lost his charme and his good humor. One example: At his last year’s concert here in Würzburg he introduced himself as “Klaus Adolf born in Wiesbaden”. There, he told the audience, he fell into the river Rhein and was carried through rivers and seas until he stranded on a beach somewhere in Africa.

 

When he is playing his music on stage he literally seems to be half as old than he actually is. You can experience that in a few hours over there in the big circus tent.

 

This year it is an extraordinary honor for me to hand over the Africa festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award to a living legend of African music, the musical voice of fight against Apartheid in South Africa, the late great and the one and only HUGH MASEKELA.

 

v

Tribal

AWARD 2016

Laudatio für den Preisträger des

award_2016_355x142

Hugh Masekela ©  Günther Klebinger

DER AWARD FÜR SEIN LEBENSWERK GEHT AN HUGH MASEKELA

 

Meine Damen und Herren, liebe Freunde des Africa Festivals,

 

dieses Jahr ehrt das Africa Festival einen Mann und seine Arbeit, der seit vielen Jahrzehnten eine zentrale Rolle in der afrikanischen Musik spielt. Er ist ein echter Botschafter für die Musik des Kontinents, da er den Klang von Afrika in die ganze Welt gebracht hat.

 

Aber er ist nicht nur einer der größten Musiker aus Afrika, er ist auch ein großartiger Mensch. Er war und ist ein ehrlicher und wahrhaftiger Kämpfer für Frieden, Gerechtigkeit, Freiheit und Menschenrechte.

 

Er hat viele Kämpfe in seinem Leben austragen müssen, aber ist nie zu einem bitteren Mann geworden. Ich bewundere zutiefst, dass er nie seinen Charme und seine gute Laune verloren hat. Ein Beispiel: bei seinem Konzert im letzten Jahr hier in Würzburg, stellte er sich als "Klaus Adolf in Wiesbaden geboren" vor. Er erklärte dem Publikum, dass er dort in den Rhein gefallen und durch Flüsse und Meere getragen wurde, bis er an einem Strand irgendwo in Afrika gestrandet ist.

 

Wenn er seine Musik auf der Bühne spielt, scheint er nur halb so alt wie in Wirklichkeit zu sein. Das können Sie in wenigen Stunden selbst dort drüben im großen Zirkuszelt erleben.

 

In diesem Jahr ist es für mich eine besondere Ehre, den Africa Festival Lifetime Achievement Award an eine lebende Legende der afrikanischen Musik zu übergeben - die musikalische Stimme im Kampf gegen die Apartheid in Südafrika: der einzig wahre HUGH MASEKELA.


 

trennlinie_840

v