Tribal

28. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2016)

welcome


 

Hugh Masekela // © Günther Klebinger



You’ve always wanted to know how to mix the classic original Cuban cocktail, “mojito”, right? No problem, as we’ve set up an extra “mojito embassy” on the premises for this very reason. The focus this year is on the Caribbean island of Cuba, which will be represented musically by six multi-faceted bands, headlined by the internationally-acclaimed Raul Paz. Cuba still has close ties to Africa today. Over 850,000 slaves were transported to Cuba in the 16th century, with the majority coming from the modernday Congo and Nigeria. They’ve left a lasting impression on the local culture. Further background information will be offered by the ARTE cinema tent, where 10 exciting fi lms will deal with the topic of Cuba. The photo exhibition “Cuba Mi Amor” is also worth a visit.


A further focus will be on South Africa. Three South African bands – the singer Lebo, the young band Hot Water and the great jazz legend Hugh Masekela – will get the festival off to a fiery start on the first day. The South African focus will be rounded off with two quite extraordinary exhibitions on Nelson Mandela. After a delicious little sip of South African red wine, you can experience even more world-famous stars in the main tent over the course of the festival days to come, with the likes of Lura, Lokua Kanza and Tiken Jah Fakoly. We’ve once again found it very important that a considerable amount of the 20 guest bands is made up of female voices and musicians. We’re also glad that many bands will be performing live for the first time in front of a German audience.


There will be other interesting changes and novelties on the festival grounds. The Senegalese fashion designer, Rama Diaw, invites you to her fashion show with her latest collections, which will take place this time right next to the Havana Club. You’ll be able to find interesting info-booths again in the new bamboo hall. The relaxation oasis is the perfect place for those who need a little break. You can chill out there under the shade of the trees or in the Moroccan royal tent with a cup of peppermint tea, or you can watch the henna artists and hair braiders at work or marvel at the joyful street parades of Adesa. All the other popular Africa Festival highlights, such as the bazaar, the Havana Club, the children’s tent and the African culinary tasting area are on the programme just like every year.


The German television broadcaster ARTE is a partner of the Africa Festival. “ARTE Concert” will be broadcasting the festival’s biggest concerts once again this year on concert.arte.tv and at the ARTE cinema tent films about Cuba will be shown.


We wish you lots of fun on your journey into the world of Africa and Cuba!

 

Your Afro Project Team



 
trennlinie_840



head_abendprogramm_e

THURSDAY, MAY 26, 2016:

HOT WATER BAND

SOUTH AFRICAN FOLK ROCK

It’s impossible to listen to Hot Water. To just listen. Because when Donovan Copley, the band’s founder, frontman, and creative heart, starts singing, playing (often his iconic African guitar), jiving and jumping around stage, backed up by a mix of stellar South African musicians as diverse as the country itself, you can’t sit still…! The music – ‘South African Folk-Rock,’ Copley calls it – layers the sounds of traditional mbaqanga, kwela and maskanda with a more contemporary folk-rock vibe and utterly danceable rhythms, woven through with Copley’s raw, sweet voice and inspiring, almost dreamlike lyrics…“Easily one of the most exciting musical projects to come out of SA“ (The Citizen)

Photo: © Hylton Boucher

Hugh Masekela

The South African Music Legend

The Rolling Stone Magazin describes the man with the horn as one of the most thrilling live performers. The two times Grammy awarded artist is Africa’s most important Jazz and world musician. The artist who will celebrate his 77 th birthday, already played together with star singers such as Miriam Makeba and Nina Simone and jazz stars such as Miles Davis and John Coltrane. We are delighted to announce that Hugh Masekela will enthuse the audience of the Africa Festival for the third time. Together with his exceptional band he will perform danceable Afro beats and wonderful South African township Jazz from his new CD.

Photo: © Brett Rubin

trennlinie_840

FRIDAY, MAY 27, 2016:

 

Musikprogramm - Bild: Lura

 

Lura

WESTAFRICAN GROOVES FROM THE CAPEVERDIAN ISLANDS

Lura was born in Lisbon. Her parents are from the Cape Verde Islands. Thus she inherited the blood from the African islands. When she was 17, she started her career as a singer when Juka, who was born in Sao Tomé & Principe, booked her for a duet. Many collaborations with artists like Bonga, Tito Paris, as well as the unforgettable Cesaria Evora followed. In 2005 she started her solo career with her album “Di Korpu Ku Alma” which received a number of awards. In 2007, she performed successfully at the 19th Africa Festival. While the songs of most singers from the Cape Verde Islands are more melancholic, Lura will show us with her songs, which feature Batuku and Funaná elements, that the African rhythm fire also blazes on the Cape Verde islands.

Photo: © N'Krumah Lawson Daku

Cuba Vista & Guests

TRADITIONAL SON, SALSA AND RUMBA

The excellent band with singer Mireya Coba Cantero will take the audience on a journey through Cuba‘s most beautiful musical landscapes. Energetic son, fiery salsa and moving rumba create a good mood and make you want to dance. Anyone who likes the music of “Buena Vista Social Club“ should listen to the music of Cuba Vista. Several guest musicians will join the band on stage.



trennlinie_840

SATURDAY, MAY 28, 2016:

LOKUA KANZA

MUSICAL POET FROM THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

The singer and guitar player Pascal Lokua Kanza was born in Democratic Republic of Congo. After his studies at the Kinshasa Music Conservatory, he relocated to Paris and studied jazz music. From 1991 he played with the Soul Makossa Band of Manu Dibango. His debut album was released in 1994 and awarded as “Best African Album“ at the African Music Awards. For the first time he enthused the audience at the Africa Festival in 1995, with his poetic and soft ballads. He is also in great demand as a producer for many African artists because of his distinct musical sense. He is one of the most popular artists of the festival. By popular request we invited him again. He will bring along his daughter Maleika who has already performed at the open stage before.

Photo: © Christophe Campana

TIKEN JAH FAKOLY

BEST AFRICAN ROOTS REGGAE FROM COTE D´IVOIRE

Doumbia Moussa Fakoly has become one of the most important voices of the African continent. With his driven lyrics he brings up the grievances of Africa and thus mobilizes young people to change something about their social and political status. Unfortunately, because of his outspokenness he had to leave his hometown Odienné in the North of the Ivory Coast in 2003 and was exiled to Mali. Now the son of a griot lives in Bamako. In his studio he recorded his last project "Racines", which is a great hommage to reggae artists like Bob Marley or Burning Spear, and brought it to places as far away as Jamaica. After his energetic performances in 2001 and 2006 he will once again enthuse the audience with his fine roots Reggae made in West Africa!

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, MAY 29, 2016:

Cuban Beats All Stars

Hip Hop Meets Salsa and Rumba Beats

Until their break up in 2009, Orishas were worldwide mega stars and the most successful hip hop band from Cuba. Their successful performance at the 12th Africa Festival in 2000 was their first appearance in Germany. Now the majority of the original members have formed a new band. They called themselves Cuban Beats All Stars (CBAS) and also managed to get the exceptional musician, singer and composer Nelson Palacios on board who also plays various instruments. An exciting mixture of typical Cuban sounds and different instruments combined with electronic sounds, samples and fat urban beats!

Photo: © Tom Kramer

Raul Paz

Latin Pop Star From Cuba

When the Cuban singer and composer Raul Paz performed at the Africa Festival for the first time in 2005, he was still living in France. In the meantime, he has returned to Havana, the city which is currently experiencing a great cultural and musical renewal. His style of music makes him one of the most important representatives of new Cuban music. His concerts in Cuba sell out even with little advertising. On his new CD “Ven Ven“, which he will perform at the 28th Africa Festival, Raul Paz mixes a modern Caribbean cocktail with the ingredients Latino pop, salsa, socca, reggae and rumba. His songs always feature fat horn sets and excellent percussionists. It will be a great “noche cubana“ of dancing!

Photo: © Christophe Berlet

 
trennlinie_840
 
 
head_offenebuehne_e

THURSDAY, MAY 26, 2016:

OLIVIER TSHIMANGA

GUITAR VIRTUOSO FROM THE DEMOcRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

Olivier is an exceptional guitar virtuoso who has already played with the greatest of the African music scene, namely Papa Wemba, Youssou N’Dour, Lokua Kanza (with whom he is actually preparing a project), Manu Dibango, Ray Lema etc. Today, as a solo performer, he creates a colourful musical show accompanied by excellent musicians, a show that reflects the quality of this talented musician striving to excellence.


LEBO

SOUTH AFRICAN URBAN AFRO SOUL

The South African singer-songwriter, Lebo Masemola, was born in the small town of Marishane in the province of Limpopo. Although she was still mostly singing to her beloved cows as a little girl, she moved to Europe when she was 17. She quickly found her feet in Hamburg and broke into the local music scene there. After collaborating with Nneka, Dube, the Sisters and Adé Bantu, she’s now carrying out her own projects, and she’ll be presenting us with songs from her new album, “Sister Gwen”, to get our festival underway.

trennlinie_840

FRIDAY, MAY 27, 2016:

KARYNA GOMES

TRADITIONAL & MODERN SOUNDS FROM GUINEA-BISSAU

Her father comes from Guinea, her mother from the Cape Verde Islands, but Karyna Silva Gomes Cerqueira was born in Guinea-Bissau. Her first musical steps in the choir of a Gospel band and her membership in Adriano Ferreira’s band Super Mama Djombo were the stepping stones to her solo career. She describes her fusion songs as “My music from Guinea-Bissau”. With her music she will present traditional as well as modern infl uences from her home. The Africa Festival will feature a group from Guinea-Bissau for the first time.

LENI STERN’S AFRICAN TRIO

GERMAN JAZZ MEETS THE MALI BLUES ROOTS

When German jazz and blues guitarist Leni Stern performed at the “Festival au Desert“ in Mali she was really smitten. There she played with Salif Keita and Baaba Maal and she was immediately mesmerized by the music, country and people. Later she was introduced to the ngoni by Bassekou Kouyate and his wife Amy Nacko. She learned how to play it and love it. Now she is cooperating with bassist Mamadou Ba and percussionist Alioune Faye and is following the West African roots in a very impressive way.

Photo: © Sandrine Lee

 

VALÉRIE EKOUMÈ

CAMEROON’S FINEST VOICE

Youssou N’Dour, MC Solar, Meiway, Papa Wemba, Koffi Olomidé or the great Manu Dibango - there is hardly any African artist in Paris who hasn’t worked with this excellent singer and backing vocal. It is no surprise that it is now fi nally time for this singer to go her own way. She will perform her CD “Djaale”, which is sung in Duala, with the sun of her home country Cameroon in her heart for the first time at the Africa Festival.

trennlinie_840

SATURDAY, MAY 28, 2016:

AMI

YOUNG VOICE WITH CARIBBEAN ROOTS

In 2014 she was already celebrated for her fi rst solo CD “Part of me” as newcomer of the year in the German music scene. Her father, the friendly fusion jazz & reggae musician Wally Warning from the Caribbean island Aruba, has already supported her playing the guitar and writing songs early on. Now she is 20 years old and interprets her sensitive acoustic soul and world music folk in the style of Ayo. At the Africa Festival she will perform her new CD which will be released in spring.

 

Photo: © Steffen Bugs

JAHCOUSTIX

REGGAE MADE IN GERMANY WITH WORLD ROOTS

Diplomatensohn Dominik Haas, alias “Jahcoustix”, war schon in jungen Jahren durch die Tätigkeit seines Vaters als Botschafter stets mit den unterschiedlichsten Kulturen, Menschen und Strömungen in Kontakt gekommen. Ägypten, Ghana, New York, Mexiko und Liberia waren seine Lebensstationen. Mit 19, in Kenia, lernte er den Reggae kennen und lieben. Seine Kooperationen mit den Reggae Formationen Headcornerstone und Dubious Neighbourhood ebneten ihm den Weg, als Solokünstler ebenfalls erfolgreich zu sein.

NNEKA

HIP-HOP, DUB REGGAE & AFROBEAT SOUL FROM NIGERIA

This delicate ball of energy from Warri/Nigeria is not only a gifted song writer and singer but in the meantime she has also turned into one of the most important and infuential voices of the African continent. Whether she appears in talkshow, print media or plays at festivals, her performances are not only about music but also about a message and enlightenment. As a world traveller she lives in Paris, Hamburg or Lagos. Seven years after her first performance at Mainwiesen, the audience can again look forward to listening to this exceptional artist.

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, MAY 29, 2016:

OSAIN DEL MONTE

MASTER OF AFROCUBAN RUMBA

Rumba is the rhythm oft he black slaves from Africa. The music was created in the black quarters of Havana and Mantanza. Rumba combines music, rhythm, songs, dance and storytelling to form one unit and social event. The music group Osain del Monte was founded in Havana in 2013. The musicians come from famous Cuban bands like “Folklorico Nacional“, “Clave y Guaguanco“ and “Yoruba Andabo“. Four percussionists, four singers and two dancers turn the performance into a powerful event!

Photo: © Christian Lieblich

LA DAME BLANCHE

RAP, REGGAE AND NU CUMBIA FROM CUBA

Yaite Ramos is the daughter of Jesus “Aguaje“ Ramos (musical director of the “Buena Vista Social Club Orchestra“). She played the flute and sang for Sergent Garcia and was the lead singer of El Hijo de la Cumbia. Her debut album “Piratas“ (2014) was produced by French beat maker and sound technician Marc Damblé (Sergent Garcia, Amadou & Mariam, Orishas). “La Dame Blanche“ presents urban music which combines rap, reggae and nu cumbia.

Photo: © Victor Delfim

ZULEMAX

HOT CUBAN SALSA AND MORE

The band ZuleMax consisting of 12 women was founded by Zulema Hechavarria Blanco who is a singer, flute player and percussionist from Santiago de Cuba. A great passion for Cuban music is what connects the women of the band. Besides Cuban salsa the professional musicians also present the musical styles cha-cha-cha, mambo and guaguanco which have enriched the salsa of today. A big set of horns, fiery percussionists, singers and dancers invite the audience to dance along and have an unforgettable party!

trennlinie_840

v

Tribal

28. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2016)

head_willkommen



 

Hugh Masekela // © Günther Klebinger



Sie wollten schon immer einmal wissen, wie man den original kubanischen Cocktail-Klassiker „Mojito“ mixt? - Kein Problem, denn wir haben extra zu diesem Zweck eine „Mojito“-Embassy auf dem Gelände eingerichtet. Schwerpunkt in diesem Jahr ist die Karibikinsel Kuba, die musikalisch mit sechs facettenreichen Bands, allen voran der international gefeierte Raul Paz, vertreten sein wird. Eng ist Kuba auch heute noch mit dem schwarzen Kontinent verbunden. Im 16. Jahrhundert wurden über 850.000 Sklaven, vor allem aus dem heutigen Kongo und Nigeria nach Kuba verschleppt. Diese prägten die dortige Kultur nachhaltig. Weiteres Hintergrundwissen bietet das ARTE Kinozelt, wo 10 spannende Filme sich mit dem Thema Kuba beschäftigen. Auch lohnt sich der Besuch der sehenswerten Fotoausstellung „Cuba Mi Amor“.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt wird Südafrika sein. Drei südafrikanische Bands, die Sängerin Lebo, die junge Band Hot Water und die große Jazz-Legende Hugh Masekela, werden schon am ersten Festivaltag für einen heißen Auftakt sorgen. Zwei sehr außergewöhnliche Ausstellungen zu Nelson Mandela runden den Schwerpunkt Südafrika ab. Nach einem kleinen köstlichen Schluck südafrikanischen Rotweins auf dem Gelände kann man an den weiteren Festivaltagen mit Lura, Lokua Kanza und Tiken Jah Fakoly weitere international bekannte Stars im Hauptzelt erleben. Wir haben wieder sehr viel Wert darauf gelegt, dass von den 20 gastierenden Bands ein sehr großer Teil für weibliche Stimmen und Musikerinnen reserviert wurde. Es freut uns auch, das viele Bands sich das erste Mal in Deutschland „live” der Öffentlichkeit präsentieren werden.

Auf dem Festivalgelände wird es weitere interessante Veränderungen und Neuerungen geben. Die senegalesische Modeschöpferin Rama Diaw lädt zur Modenschau mit ihren neuesten Kollektionen, diesmal gleich neben dem Havana-Club, ein. In der neuen Bambushalle wird man wieder interessante Infostände finden. Wer eine Erholungspause braucht, ist in der Entspannungs-Oase genau richtig. Hier unter Schatten bietenden Bäumen oder im marokkanischen Königszelt kann man gemütlich bei einer Tasse Pfefferminztee chillen, den Henna-Malerinnen oder Haarzopf-Flechterinnen bei ihrer Arbeit zuschauen oder die fröhliche Straßenparade von Adesa bestaunen. Alle anderen beliebten Africa Festival Highlights, ob Basar, Havana-Club, Kinderzelt oder die afrikanisch-kulinarische Verköstigungsarea, sind wie jedes Jahr mit dabei.

Der Fernsehsender ARTE ist Partner des Africa Festivals. Auch in diesem Jahr überträgt „ARTE Concert” die wichtigsten Konzerte des Festivals unter concert. arte.tv und im ARTE Kinozelt werden Filme zu Kuba gezeigt.

Viel Spaß bei der Reise in die afrikanische und kubanische Welt wünscht Ihnen

Ihr Afro Project Team



 
trennlinie_840



head_28_abendprogramm

DONNERSTAG, 26. Mai 2016:

HOT WATER BAND

SOUTH AFRICAN FOLK ROCK

Es ist unmöglich Hot Water nur zuzuhören. Denn wenn Donovan Copley, der Gründer, Frontmann und das kreative Herz der Gruppe anfängt zu singen und zu spielen (oft spielt er seine kultige afrikanische Gitarre), auf der Bühne swingt und herumspringt, und von einer außergewöhnlichen Mischung südafrikanischer Musiker unterstützt wird, die so unterschiedlich sind wie das Land selbst, kann man einfach nicht still sitzen bleiben! Die Musik – Copley nennt sie ‘South African Folk Rock‘ – vermischt Klänge und Rhythmen von Mbaqanga, Kwela und Maskanda mit einem zeitgemäßen Folkrock Vibe der absolut tanzbar ist. Alles wird durch Copley’s raue, süße Stimme und inspirierende, beinahe traumgleiche Texte miteinander verwoben. „Mit Abstand eines der aufregendsten musikalischen Projekte Südafrikas.“ (The Citizen)

Photo: © Hylton Boucher

Hugh Masekela

The South African Music Legend

Das Rolling Stone Magazin beschreibt den Mann mit dem Flügelhorn als einen der aufregendsten live Performer! Er wurde zweimal mit dem Grammy ausgezeichnet und gilt als der wichtigste Jazz- und Weltmusikmusiker Afrikas. Der Künstler, der seinen 77. Geburtstag feiert, spielte schon mit Sängerinnen wie Miriam Makeba und Nina Simone und trat mit Jazzgrößen wie Miles Davis und John Coltrane auf. Wir freuen uns, dass Hugh Masekela zum dritten Mal das Publikum auf dem Africa Festival begeistern wird. Zusammen mit seiner außergewöhnlichen Band wird er neben tanzbaren Afro Beat einen wunderbaren südafrikanischen Township Jazz von seiner aktuellen CD präsentieren.

Photo: © Brett Rubin

trennlinie_840

FREITAG, 27. Mai 2016:

Musikprogramm - Bild: Lura

Lura

WESTAFRICAN GROOVES FROM THE CAPEVERDIAN ISLANDS

Lura erblickte als Kind kapverdischer Eltern in Lissabon das Licht der Welt. Das afrikanische Inselblut war ihr so schon in die Wiege gelegt worden. Mit siebzehn begann ihre Gesangskarriere, als der aus Sao Tomé & Principe stammende Sänger Juka sie für ein Duett buchte. Es folgten mehrere Kooperationen, zu denen Künstler wie Bonga, Tito Paris und die unvergessene Cesaria Evora gehörten. Mit ihrem mehrfach ausgezeichneten Album „Di Korpu Ku Alma“ startete sie 2005 auch als Solo Künstlerin durch. 2007 trat sie zum ersten Mal sehr erfolgreich beim 19. Africa Festival auf. Während die meisten Sängerinnen von den Kapverden mehr die melancholischen Töne der Inseln anschlagen, wird uns Lura mit ihren aus traditionellen Batuku- und Funaná-Elementen gewürzten Songs zeigen, dass auf den Kapverden auch das afrikanische Rhythmusfeuer lodert.

Photo: © N'Krumah Lawson Daku

Cuba Vista & Guests

TRADITIONAL SON, SALSA AND RUMBA

Die exzellente Band um die kubanische Sängerin Mireya Coba Cantero wird die Besucher auf eine Reise durch die schönsten musikalischen Landschaften Kubas mitnehmen. Schwungvoller Son, feuriger Salsa und treibender Rumba sorgen für gute Laune und machen Lust zu tanzen. Wer die Musik von „Buena Vista Social Club“ kennt, Mojitos und Cuba Libre mag, sollte unbedingt Bekanntschaft mit der Musik von Cuba Vista machen! Die Band wird mehrere kubanische Gastmusiker zum Africa Festival mitbringen.



trennlinie_840

SAMSTAG, 28. MAI 2016:

LOKUA KANZA

MUSICAL POET FROM THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

Der Sänger und Gitarrist Pascal Lokua Kanza stammt aus der Demoakratischen Republik Kongo. Nach seinem Studium am Kinshasa Music Conservatory siedelte er nach Paris über und studierte dort Jazz. Ab 1991 spielte er bei der Soul Makossa Gang von Manu Dibango. Sein Debütalbum erschien 1994 und wurde bei den African Music Awards als „Best African Album“ ausgezeichnet. Zum ersten Mal begeisterte er 1995 das Publikum des Africa Festivals mit seinen poetischen und sanften Balladen. Auch als Produzent ist er wegen seines ausgeprägten musikalischen Gefühls bei vielen afrikanischen Künstlern gefragt. Er ist einer der beliebtesten Künstler des Festivals. Auf vielfachen Wunsch haben wir ihn wieder eingeladen. Er wird seine Tochter Maleika mitbringen, die schon auf der offenen Bühne des Festivals zu hören war.

Photo: © Christophe Campana

TIKEN JAH FAKOLY

BEST AFRICAN ROOTS REGGAE FROM COTE D´IVOIRE

Mittlerweile ist Doumbia Moussa Fakoly zu einer der wichtigsten Stimmen des afrikanischen Kontinents geworden. Mit seinen engagierten Texten legt er die Finger in die Wunden und Missstände Afrikas und mobilisiert so gerade die Jugend an ihrer sozialen und politischen Lage etwas zu verändern. Leider musste er durch seine Offenheit 2003 seine Heimatstadt Odienné im Norden der Elfenbeinküste verlassen und ins Exil nach Mali gehen. Nun lebt der Sohn eines Griots in Bamako und hat von seinem Studio dort aus auch sein letztes Projekt „Racines“, eine Hommage an die großen Reggae-Künstler wie Bob Marley oder Burning Spear, bis nach Jamaika hinaus getragen. Nach seinen energiegeladenen Auftritten 2001 und 2006 wird er auch diesmal das Publikum mit seinem feinen Roots Reggae „Made in Westafrica“ begeistern!

trennlinie_840

SONNTAG, 29. MAI 2016:

Cuban Beats All Stars

Hip Hop Meets Salsa and Rumba Beats

Orishas waren bis zu ihrer Auflösung 2009 weltweite Megastars und die bis dato erfolgreichste Hip-Hop Band aus Kuba. Sie spielten mit großem Erfolg zum ersten Mal in Deutschland 2000 auf dem 12. Africa Festival. Jetzt hat sich ein Großteil der originalen Formation neu zusammengeschlossen. Unter dem Namen Cuban Beats All Stars (CBAS) holte sich die Band noch den Ausnahmemusiker, Multi-Instrumentalisten, Sänger und Komponisten Nelson Palacios ins Boot. Eine spannende Mischung aus typisch kubanischen Klängen mit verschiedenen Instrumenten, gemischt mit elektronischen Sounds, Samples und fetten Urban- und Electronic-Beats!

Photo: © Tom Kramer

Raul Paz

Latin Pop Star From Cuba

Als der kubanische Sänger und Komponist Raul Paz im Jahr 2005 erstmals beim Africa Festival gastierte, lebte er noch in Frankreich. Inzwischen ist er nach Havana zurückgekehrt – der Stadt, die aktuell eine große kulturelle und musikalische Erneuerung erlebt. Mit seinem Musikstil gilt er als einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter der neuen kubanischen Musik. Mit nur wenig Werbung sind seine Konzerte in Kuba in Windeseile ausverkauft. Auf seiner neuen CD „Ven Ven“, die er beim 28. Africa Festival vorstellen wird, mixt Raul Paz einen aktuellen Karibik-Cocktail mit den Zutaten Latino Pop, Salsa, Socca, Reggae und Rumba. Immer dabei - fette Bläsersets und eine exzellente Perkussionscombo. Eine herrliche „Noche Cubana“ zum Tanzen!

Photo: © Christophe Berlet

 
trennlinie_840
 
 
head_28AF_offenebuehne

Donnerstag, 26. MAI 2016:

OLIVIER TSHIMANGA

GUITAR VIRTUOSO FROM THE DEMOcRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

Olivier ist ein außergewöhnlicher Gitarrenvirtuose, der schon mit den Großen der afrikanischen Musikszene wie Papa Wemba, Youssou N’Dour, Lokua Kanza (mit dem er gerade an einem Projekt arbeitet), Manu Dibango, Ray Lema usw. zusammen gespielt hat. Jetzt, als Solokünstler, stellt er eine farbenfrohe musikalische Show zusammen und wird dabei von exzellenten Musikern begleitet. Seine Auftritte reflektieren die Qualität dieses talentierten Musikers, der immer nach außerordentlicher Qualität strebt.


LEBO

SOUTH AFRICAN URBAN AFRO SOUL

Die südafrikanische Sängerin und Songwriterin Lebo Masemola erblickte in dem kleinen Ort Marishane in der Provinz Limpopo das Licht der Welt. Sang sie als junges Mädchen meist noch ihren geliebten Kühen vor, zog es sie mit 17 nach Europa. In Hamburg fasste sie schnell Fuß und tauchte in die dortige Musikszene ein. Nach Kooperationen mit Nneka, Dube, den Sisters oder Adé Bantu setzt sie nun ihre eigenen Projekte um und präsentiert uns zum Festivalauftakt Songs von ihrem aktuellen Album „Sister Gwen“.

trennlinie_840

Freitag, 27. MAI 2016:

KARYNA GOMES

TRADITIONAL & MODERN SOUNDS FROM GUINEA-BISSAU

Der Vater aus Guinea, die Mutter von den Kapverden, doch Karyna Silva Gomes Cerqueira selbst erblickte in Guinea-Bissau das Licht der Welt. Erste musikalische Schritte im Chor einer Gospelband und ihre Mitgliedschaft in Adriano Ferreiras bekannter Band Super Mama Djombo waren das Sprungbrett zu ihrer jetzigen Solokarriere. „My music from Guinea-Bissau“ so beschreibt sie selbst ihre Fusion Songs, in denen sie Traditionelles wie Modernes aus ihrer Heimat vorstellen wird. Zum ersten Mal präsentiert das Africa Festival eine Gruppe aus Guinea-Bissau.

LENI STERN’S AFRICAN TRIO

GERMAN JAZZ MEETS THE MALI BLUES ROOTS

Als die deutsche Jazz- und Blues-Gitarristin Leni Stern 2006 beim „Festival au Desert“ in Mali auftrat, war es um sie geschehen. Dort jammte sie mit Salif Keita und Baaba Maal. Musik, Land und Leute ließen sie nicht mehr los. Später lernte sie von Bassekou Kouyaté und dessen Frau Amy Sacko die Ngoni kennen, lieben und spielen. Mit Bassist Mamadou Ba und dem Percussionisten Alioune Faye ist sie nun eindrucksvoll selbst auf westafrikanischen Spuren unterwegs.

Photo: © Sandrine Lee

VALÉRIE EKOUMÈ

CAMEROON’S FINEST VOICE

Ob Youssou N’Dour, MC Solar, Meiway, Papa Wemba, Koffi Olomidé oder der große Manu Dibango, in Paris gibt es kaum einen afrikanischen Künstler, der nicht schon ihre hervorragende Stimme als Backingvocal-Sängerin in Anspruch genommen hat. Kein Wunder, dass es nun endlich Zeit für die Sängerin wurde, ihren eigenen Weg zu gehen. Mit der Sonne ihres Mutterlandes Kamerun im Herzen präsentiert sie ihre in Duala gesungene CD „Djaale“ dem Africa Festival Publikum das erste Mal.

trennlinie_840

Samstag, 27. MAI 2016:

AMI

YOUNG VOICE WITH CARIBBEAN ROOTS

Gleich mit ihrem ersten SoloAlbum „Part Of Me” wurde sie 2014 als die Newcomerin des Jahres in der deutschen Musikszene gefeiert. Das Gitarrespielen und Liederschreiben wurde schon früh von ihrem Vater, dem sympathischen Fusion Jazz & ReggaeMusiker Wally Warning von der Karibikinsel Aruba, gefördert. Die mittlerweile 20-jährige Sängerin interpretiert ihren feinfühligen akustischen Soul & WorldmusicFolk im Stil einer Ayo. Auf dem Festival wird sie ihre neue CD vorstellen, die im Frühjahr erscheinen wird.

 

Photo: © Steffen Bugs

JAHCOUSTIX

REGGAE MADE IN GERMANY WITH WORLD ROOTS

Diplomatensohn Dominik Haas, alias “Jahcoustix”, war schon in jungen Jahren durch die Tätigkeit seines Vaters als Botschafter stets mit den unterschiedlichsten Kulturen, Menschen und Strömungen in Kontakt gekommen. Ägypten, Ghana, New York, Mexiko und Liberia waren seine Lebensstationen. Mit 19, in Kenia, lernte er den Reggae kennen und lieben. Seine Kooperationen mit den Reggae Formationen Headcornerstone und Dubious Neighbourhood ebneten ihm den Weg, als Solokünstler ebenfalls erfolgreich zu sein.

NNEKA

HIP-HOP, DUB REGGAE & AFROBEAT SOUL FROM NIGERIA

Das zierliche Energiebündel aus Warri/Nigeria ist nicht nur eine begnadete Songwriterin und Sängerin, sondern mittlerweile auch zu einer der wichtigsten und politisch einflussreichsten Stimmen des afrikanischen Kontinents geworden. Ob in Talkshows, in den Printmedien oder auf Festivals, stets ist ihr Auftritt nicht nur Musik, sondern auch Botschaft und Aufklärung zugleich. Als Weltnomadin schlägt sie ihr Zelt mal in Paris, Hamburg oder Lagos auf. Sieben Jahre nach ihrem letzten Auftritt auf den Mainwiesen darf man sich wieder auf diese Ausnahmekünstlerin freuen. Sie wird ihre aktuelle CD „My Fairy Tailes“ präsentieren.

trennlinie_840

Sonntag, 29. MAI 2016:

OSAIN DEL MONTE

MASTER OF AFROCUBAN RUMBA

Rumba ist der Rhythmus der schwarzen Sklaven aus Afrika. Die Musik entstand in den Schwarzenvierteln Havanas und Mantanzas. Im Rumba verbinden sich Musik, Rhythmus, Gesänge, Tanz und Geschichtenerzählen zu einer Einheit und einem sozialen Event. Die Gruppe Osain del Monte wurde 2013 in Havanna gegründet. Die Musiker stammen aus bekannten kubanischen Bands, wie „Folklorico Nacional”, „Clave y Guaguanco” und „Yoruba Andabo”. Vier Perkussionisten, vier Vocals und zwei Tänzer sorgen für ein powervolles Event!

Photo: © Christian Lieblich

LA DAME BLANCHE

RAP, REGGAE AND NU CUMBIA FROM CUBA

Yaite Ramos ist die Tochter von Jesus „Aguaje" Ramos (Musikalischer Direktor des Buena Vista Social Club Orchestra). Sie war Flötistin und Sängerin von Sergent Garcia und auch die Leadsängerin von El Hijo de la Cumbia. Ihr Debutalbum „Piratas“ (2014) wurde von dem französischen Beat-Maker und Soundtechniker Marc Damblé produziert (Sergent Garcia, Amadou & Mariam, Orishas). „La Dame Blanche“ präsentiert urbane Musik, die Rap, Reggae und Nu Cumbia zu einer spannenden Musik verbindet.

Photo: © Victor Delfim

ZULEMAX

HOT CUBAN SALSA AND MORE

Die zwölf-köpfige Frauenband ZuleMax wurde von der Sängerin, Flötistin und Perkussionistin Zulema Hechavarria Blanco aus Santiago de Cuba gegründet. Alle Frauen der Band verbindet eine große Leidenschaft für die kubanische Musik. Neben energiegeladenen kubanischen Salsa präsentieren die professionellen Musikerinnen auch die Musikstile Cha-Cha-Cha, Mambo und Guaguanco, die den heutigen Salsa bereichert haben. Ein großer Bläserset, feurige Perkussionistinnen, Sängerinnen und Tänzerinnen laden zum Tanzen ein und sorgen für eine unvergessliche Party!

trennlinie_840

v