Tribal

27. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2015)

welcome

 

27_welcome01

Photo exhibition: Zanzibar - traditions at the gateway to Africa

 

Would you like to make a trip to the Indian Ocean? Then the 27th Africa Festival is the right place for you. We invite you to come and visit the fairy-tale island of Zanzibar with us. Zanzibar, the place where the cultures of the orient, Asia and Africa come together. It sounds like wonderlust and secrecy, 1001 night, magical dream beaches and the flavour of exotic spices. Zanzibar, indeed is the century old history of the trade between India and Arabia on one side and Africa on the other side. They did not only trade with goods, but tragically also with people, as Zanzibar was one of the main transfer sites for African slaves.

But this mixture of cultures also led to beautiful results like the creation of Taarab, a type of music which still exists today in Zanzibar. It includes Indian, oriental and African elements. We are delighted to introduce Matona and the Zanzibar Taarab Ensemble – one of the best groups of the genre - which, so far, is still widely unknown. We also take you to this dream island with two photo exhibitions. There will be a special guest of honour, as well: president Dr. Ali Mohamed Shein will come to Würzburg for the opening of the festival. We are particularly thankful for this honour.

This year, when it comes to music, we take a look at North Africa; especially Morocco. We invited the great singer Oum, who will bring us a special opening night with Klaus Doldinger’s “Passport to Morocco“. Besides jazz legend Klaus Doldinger, this year the focus will also be on other musicians from Germany. Oud player Roman Bunka, whose music career started in Würzburg, will return to his hometown with his newly formed up Shamandura Project. He also plays guitar for the German world music pioneers “Dissidenten“, which will be accompanied by the Egyptian superstar Mohammed Mounir. At home Mounir’s performances are celebrated enthusiastically by more than hundreds of thousands of fans. But of course you can also look forward to a few new discoveries, which will add a breath of fresh air to the African music. We would like to warmly recommend you to listen to the singers Namyula from Sambia, Shishani from Namibia and Marema from Senegal.

You will get much information about Africa and the organisations which work there at various booths. And of course Zanzibar will be introduced there. Television channel ARTE is a partner of the Africa Festival. ARTE Concert will show the most important concerts at: concert.arte.tv.

So, look forward to a journey through Africa on which you can experience music from Zanzibar, Mali, Sambia, South Africa, the Cape Verde Islands, Egypt, Namibia, Ethiopia, Ghana and Aruba.

Your Afro Project Team

trennlinie_840





27_oum

THURSDAY, JUNE 4TH, 2015:

OUM

THE SOUL OF MOROCCO

For a long time already, singer Oum has captured the hearts of the people in her country and is worshiped like a diva. Now, she sets out to make career in the rest of the world. After the successful release of two albums in Morocco, “Soul of Morocco” is her first international album, which is said to open up many doors for her. To Moroccan Gnawa rhythms she adds well dosed sounds of Jazz, a bit of Pop, Rhythm and Blues as well as some Soul and Funk. The studied architect brings the different elements of her genre mix in a stable balance on which her impressive and expressive voice can sumptuously unfold. Oum’s “Soul of Morocco” has got everything to ingratiate in the ear canals. We are convinced that this charismatic singer is going to gain many hearts with her live-performance – the insider tip of this year’s festival.

KLAUS DOLDINGER

PASSPORT TO MOROCCO

When Klaus Doldinger, together with his project “Passport to Morocco” attended the Africa Festival for the very first time in 2009 – newspapers wrote that “hopefully this wasn’t his last performance at the Africa Festival”. It was with great pleasure that we invited him again for another brilliant concert. That “Passport to Morocco” must be part of next years’ festival was clear very quick - with North Africa being one of the main focuses of our programme. Fortunately, Doldinger - who will celebrate his 79th birthday this year – agreed immediately. He is going to add exceptional Moroccan soloists to his band “Passport” and transports the classic Maghreb sound into the 21st century. An exciting musical adventure is guaranteed.

27_doldinger

trennlinie_840

FRIDAY, JUNE 5TH, 2015:

 

27_moh-2

 

MOH! KOUYATE & SPECIAL GUEST MARIAMA

URBAN AFROPOP FROM WESTAFRICA 

The singer and virtuoso guitarist Moh! Kouyate was born in Guinea and comes from the tradition of the Griot singers. Moh! developed his very own guitar style which is based on native Mandika rhythms and thus impressed many colleagues. On the current CD of the Malian diva Fatoumata Diawara (Africa Festival Award 2013), he played on several songs – but also the American Blues man Corey Harris recorded some excellent versions of Blues classics together with him. He lives in Paris since 2007 - there he met the singer and songwriter Mariama from Sierra Leone who started her career in the band of Ade Bantu. Together they play a modern, global and happy Afropop which goes through ears and legs. Two newcomers who make you wanting more.

 

27_habib_koite

HABIB KOITE & BAMADA

NEW BAND AND NEW SONGS FROM MALI

There is indeed a good reason why the singer and guitarist Habib Koite returns to the Africa Festival only two years after his last performance. Meanwhile, he totally rebuilt his band Bamada – which can be heard on his new album called “Soo”. The kora disappeared and was replaced by a banjo and a keyboard which do merge with Habib’s drums and guitar. Again, he reunites the sounds of the multi-ethnic state Mali on his new CD – he sings about friendship and friends and calls for a peaceful coexistence, which nowadays is more important than ever after all the recent and past happenings. Habib Koite didn’t drastically reinvent his music but decent- and stylishly developed what so many of his fans, all around the world, do love about him.

trennlinie_840

SATURDAY, JUNE 6TH, 2015:

NAMVULA

RISING STAR FROM SAMBIA

In 2014 Namvula Rennie, a young singer, guitar player and composer, achieved something extraordinary with her CD debut „Shiwezwa": Although she is not widely known yet, the big British newspaper Sunday Times ranked her album seventh among the 100 best records of the year. Back then Namvula was overwhelmed and posted this message on her Facebook page:„ohmygodohmygodohmygodOHMYGOD!!!!" Her remarkable style, which includes a lot of African vibes from her home country Sambia, some Jazz and Latin, as well as European folklore, is infectious when you hear it for the first time.We are delighted to present her first concert in Germany and sure that she will continue on her way. An insider's tipp of the Festival.

27_namvula

27_lira

LIRA

AFROSOUL FROM SOUTH AFRICA

For some she is the successor of Miriam Makeba, others praise her as the South African Beyoncé. Singer Lira can't be categorized easily. Afrojazz, Rhythm and Blues, Soul, but also Pop - nothing is foreign to her and she isn't afraid of new things. For this approach she is celebrated in South Africa and also internationally. In 2010 she performed a touching version of „Pata Pata" with Hugh Masekela at the opening ceremony for the Football World Cup. For her last CD she was honoured with many awards. But Lira is not only a charismatic singer of the post-apartheid generation, she is also politically active. In Würzburg she was already celebrated enthusiastically at the Africa Festival in 2009. Welcome back, Lira, the Queen of Afrosoul.

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, JUNE 7TH, 2015:

BOB MAGHRIB

BOB MARLEY GOES GNAWA

The motley crew of six from Morocco belong to the protagonists of a recently very popular type of music – the Gnawa Reggae. The rather tranquil dance sound of the Gnawa gets spiced up with reggae rhythms. In addition, the people of Bob Maghrib add a very special note: They exclusively play songs of the reggae icon Bob Marley. To do so, they use traditional Moroccan instruments as for example a Ribab (a kind of one-stringed violin), an Oud (Arabic sounds), a Guembri (Gnawa sounds) or the Ghaita (an oboe-like wind instrument). That might seem and indeed is bizarre, but sounds fantastic and has a high fun factor.

 

27_bob_maghrib

27_mo_kalamity

MO'KALAMITY
AND THE WIZARDS

REGGAE PRINCESS FROM CAPE VERDE

The first song, which the Cape Verdean singer Mo’Kalamity wrote and recorded, had the significant title “Africa”. When still young, she moved to Paris and brought along her musical African heritage. Fascinated by Caribbean and African-American sounds, she soon felt attracted by reggae. In 2004, after she had collected her first experience as a background singer, she founded her own band - “The Wizards”. At many festivals, the collective quickly made itself a name, as front women are rather an exception in reggae. They will present their new CD – “Freedom of the soul” – at the Africa Festival.

 

 
trennlinie_840
 
 
Open Stage

Thursday, June 4th 2015:

ROMAN BUNKA & SHAMANDURA PROJECT

MUSIC FROM THE NILE

When it comes to the music of North Africa, we simply had to invite the oud virtuoso with a Würzburg background again. This time his Shamandura project performs as a trio and will open the festival by presenting the music of the Nile valley. Roman Bunka will be accompanied by the Sudanese percussionist and oud player Mohamed Badawi as well as the Egyptian percussionist Ayman Mabrouk.

 

27_Roman_Bunka

27_matona

MATONA & THE ZANZIBAR TAARAB ORCHESTRA

TRADITIONAL TAARAB MUSIC FROM ZANZIBAR

The composer and musician Matona comes from an old family of musicians. His father and grandfather have already been well-known oud players in Zanzibar. Together with 9 musicians of the Dhow Countries Music Academy, Matona is going to present the traditional Taarab music. In addition to the oud, you can hear the Egyptian zither, violin, accordion, flute and percussion instruments. The singers Amina and Mariam also present songs from the times of the sultans in Zanzibar.

 

trennlinie_840

Friday, June 5th 2015:

DRISS EL MALOUMI

THE SOUND OF MAGHREB

It is not without good reason that Driss El Maloumi from Agadir is also called the “Oud magician”. When the Moroccan plays the Arabic lute it sometimes actually borders on magic. With his trio he interprets the traditional music of Morocco, which also includes flamenco elements, in a modern context. Thus it is indeed possible that the sound of the Berbers can meet jazzy tones.

 

27_driss_el_maloumi

27_Malika

MALIKA ZARRA

MOROCCOS JAZZ JEWEL

She was born in a small town in the Southern part of Morocco called Ouled Teima. When she was still young she and her family moved to France. There she learned to play clarinet and that’s how she discovered Jazz. On her second CD “Berber Taxi“ she explores the depths of her Moroccan musical heritage, especially her Berber roots. CNN International called her “Morocco’s Jazz Jewel“.

 

27_Dissidenten-2

 

DISSIDENTEN & MOHAMED MOUNIR

WORLDBEAT PIONEERS MEET EGYPT’S SUPERSTAR

The Dissidenten were already playing the world beat when the term didn’t even exist yet. As one of the first European bands they explored the North African space of sound, where they became famous with songs such as “Sahara Electric” or “Telephone Arab”. With the singer Mohamed Mounir they bring along a true megastar. In his home country the Egyptian performs in front of hundreds of thousands of fans who named him “King of Kings”. Mounir has managed to unite the traditional music of Egypt with Western pop. For many years, the guitarist of the Dissidenten, Roman Bunka, has been a permanent member of Mounir’s band. Dissidenten and Mounir – an inspiring encounter for the fans of North African music.

trennlinie_840

Saturday, June 6th 2015:

SHISHANI & THE AFRO NAMIBIAN TALES

AFRO-FOLK FROM NAMIBIA

Shishani is a young singer from Namibia, a country that has not been featured too often at the Africa Festival yet. With a soulful voice she presents urban Afro-folk and also includes political matters into her songs. This is reminiscent of Nneka or Tracy Chapman.

 

27_Shani

27_Marema

MAREMA

WINNER OF RFI AWARD 2014 FROM SENEGAL

Although the Senegalese Marema has only published a few songs yet – she won the first prize as Africa’s best female newcomer last year. The prize is awarded annually by the French radio station RFI, which gives listeners as well as a panel of experts the decision-making power. Marema immediately convinced with her song “femme d’affaires”.

 

MINYESHU

POP FROM ETHIOPIA

Minyeshu, an Ethiopian singer and dancer who has been living in Europe for some time, already performed at the Africa Festival in 2004 and 2009. Since then the exceptional performer has again evolved quite a bit, as her latest CD “Black Ink” proves. Each song is unique and Minyeshu shows how she can combine both musical worlds, in which she lives, in style. It is not an arbitrary style mix of Ethiopop, Funk, Blues, Jazz and Pop, but an independent musical language.

27_Minyeshu

trennlinie_840

27_adjiri

Sunday, June 7th 2015:

ADJIRI ODAMETEY

CROSSOVER MUSIC FROM GHANA

A warm earthy voice is the trademark of the Ghanian singer-songwriter Adjiri Odametey. This voice combined with the sounds of native African instruments, including kora, kalimba, mbira and balafon, captivates listeners. “As an ambassador of authentic African music, Adjiri effortlessly succeeds as a crossover artist“ writes the German Newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung.

WALLY & AMI WARNING

A FAMILY AFFAIR FROM ARUBA

Wally and Ami Warning are father and daughter. Wally comes from the Caribbean island Aruba, his daughter Ami grew up in Munich where both of them live today. Wally is a very talented musician who is able to play a large number of various instruments. Ami sings, plays bass and guitar. She is currently being celebrated for her debut album “Part of me” as newcomer of the year 2014. Both understand each other implicitly and their melodious songs invite you to dream and relax.

 

27_wally_ami_warning

27_papa_julius

PAPA JULIUS & ZION NEXUS

REGGAE FROM GHANA

As a member of the group Adesa, Papa Julius has already been a part of the Africa Festival for a long time. This year he is going to present his very own band Zion Nexus and the compositions of their new album called “Mango Tree”. These original pieces of music are based on reggae, ragga and dancehall and draw their spiritual strength from the roots of the Ghanaian joy of life and the energetic soul of West Africa.

trennlinie_840

v

Tribal

27. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2015)

head_willkommen

 

27_welcome01

Fotoausstellung: Sansibar - Traditionen am Tor zu Afrika von Mario Gerth.


Haben Sie Lust auf eine Traumreise zum Indischen Ozean? Dann sind Sie beim 27. Africa Festival richtig. Wir laden Sie nämlich ein, mit uns die Märcheninsel Sansibar zu besuchen. Sansibar, das ist das Zusammentreffen der Kulturen des Orients, Asiens und Afrikas. Das klingt nach Fernweh und Geheimnis, nach 1001 Nacht, märchenhaften Traumstränden und dem Duft exotischer Gewürze. Sansibar, das ist aber auch ganz real die Jahrhunderte alte Geschichte des Handels zwischen Indien und Arabien auf der einen und Afrika auf der anderen Seite. Gehandelt wurde nicht nur  mit Waren, sondern tragischerweise auch mit Menschen, denn Sansibar war einer der Hauptumschlagplätze für afrikanische Sklaven.

Das Zusammentreffen der Kulturen führte aber auch zu erfreulichen Ergebnissen wie der Entstehung des heute noch in Sansibar gepflegten Taarab, einer Musik, die indische, orientalische und afrikanische Elemente beinhaltet. Wir sind froh, mit Matona und dem Zanzibar Taarab Ensemble eine der besten Gruppen dieses Genres vorstellen zu können, das bei uns noch weitgehend unbekannt ist. Wir entführen sie außerdem mit zwei Fotoausstellungen auf diese Trauminsel. Und außerdem erwarten wir aus Sansibar einen ganz besonderen Ehrengast: Staatspräsident Dr. Ali Mohamed Shein wird zur Eröffnung des Festivals nach Würzburg kommen. Über diese hohe Ehre freuen wir uns ganz besonders.

Musikalisch blicken und hören wir in diesem Jahr auch nach Nordafrika, ganz speziell nach Marokko. Von dort haben wir unter anderem die großartige Sängerin Oum eingeladen, die uns zusammen mit Klaus Doldingers „Passport to Morocco“ einen ganz besonderen Eröffnungsabend bescheren wird.

Im Fokus stehen in diesem Jahr neben der Jazzlegende Klaus Doldinger, man höre und staune, noch weitere Musiker aus Deutschland. Der Oud-Spieler Roman Bunka, dessen musikalische Karriere in Würzburg begann, kommt mit seinem neu formierten Shamandura Project wieder in seine alte Heimat. Außerdem wirkt er als Gitarrist bei den deutschen Weltmusik-Pionieren „Dissidenten“ mit, die den ägyptischen Superstar Mohammed Mounir als Gast mitbringen werden. In seiner Heimat wird Mounir, der Begründer der ägyptischen Popmusik, bei seinen Auftritten von hunderttausend und mehr Fans enthusiastisch gefeiert. Und natürlich dürfen Sie sich auf ein paar Neuentdeckungen freuen, die frischen Wind in die afrikanische Musik bringen: Die Sängerinnen Namvula aus Sambia, Shishani aus Namibia und Marema aus dem Senegal wollen wir Ihnen ans Herz legen.
Außerdem können Sie an zahlreichen Infoständen viel über Afrika und dort tätige Organisationen erfahren. Und natürlich wird sich Sansibar dort vorstellen.

Der Fernsehsender ARTE ist Partner des Africa Festivals. ARTE Concert überträgt die wichtigsten Konzerte des Festivals unter concert.arte.tv.

Freuen sie sich also auch in diesem Jahr auf eine musikalische Reise durch Afrika, auf der sie Musik aus Sansibar, Marokko, Mali, Sambia, Südafrika, den Kapverden, Ägypten, Namibia, Äthiopien, Ghana und Aruba erleben können.

Ihr Afro Project Team



trennlinie_840



head_27_abendprogramm

27_oum

DONNERSTAG, 4. JUNI 2015:

OUM

THE SOUL OF MOROCCO

In ihrem Heimatland Marokko hat die Sängerin Oum längst die Herzen ihrer Landsleute erobert und wird wie eine Diva verehrt. Jetzt macht sie sich auf den Weg, auch im Rest der Welt Karriere zu machen. Nach zwei nur in Marokko erschienenen Platten hat sie mit „Soul of Morocco“ ihr erstes internationales Album vorgelegt, das ihr viele Türen öffnen soll. Marokkanischen Gnawa-Rhythmen mischt sie wohl dosiert  Jazzklänge, etwas Pop und Rhythm and Blues, Soul und Funk bei. Die studierte Architektin bringt die unterschiedlichen Elemente ihres Genremix in eine stabile Balance, auf der sich ihre eindrucksvolle und ausdrucksstarke Stimme prächtig entfalten kann. Oums „Soul of Morocco“ hat alles, um sich in die Gehörgänge einzuschmeicheln. Und mit ihrer Live-Performance wird diese charismatische Sängerin auch hierzulande schnell viele Herzen gewinnen – der Geheimtipp!

KLAUS DOLDINGER

PASSPORT TO MOROCCO

Als der Saxophonist und Komponist Klaus Doldinger 2009 mit seinem Projekt „Passport to Morocco“ erstmals beim Africa Festival zu Gast war, schrieb die Main-Post, „dass dies nicht der letzte Auftritt Doldingers beim Africa Festival gewesen sein möge“. Dem fulminanten Konzert von 2009 lassen wir gerne ein weiteres folgen. Denn schnell war bei der Programmplanung mit dem Schwerpunkt Nordafrika klar, dass „Passport to Morocco“ dabei sein muss. Und glücklicherweise hat Doldinger, der in diesem Jahr seinen 79. Geburtstag feiert, auch sofort zugesagt. Seine Gruppe Passport wird er wiederum mit außergewöhnlichen marokkanischen Solisten ergänzen und den klassischen Maghreb-Sound ins 21. Jahrhundert transportieren. Ein aufregendes musikalisches Abenteuer ist garantiert.

27_doldinger

trennlinie_840

FREITAG, 5. JUNI 2015:

 

27_moh-2

 

MOH! KOUYATE & SPECIAL GUEST MARIAMA

URBAN AFROPOP FROM WESTAFRICA 

Der Sänger und virtuose Gitarrist Moh! Kouyate, der aus der Tradition der Griot-Sänger kommt, ist in Guinea geboren. Aufbauend auf den heimatlichen Mandinka Rhythmen hat Moh! einen eigenen Gitarrenstil entwickelt und damit viele Kollegen beeindruckt. Er spielte bei mehreren Songs auf der aktuellen CD der malischen Diva Fatoumata Diawara (Africa Festival Award 2013), aber auch der amerikanische Bluesmann Corey Harris hat einige exzellente Versionen von Blues-Klassikern mit ihm aufgenommen. In Paris, wo er seit 2007 lebt, lernte er die Sängerin und Songwriterin Mariama aus Sierra Leone kennen, die ihre Karriere in der Band von Ade Bantu startete. Gemeinsam spielen sie einen modernen, globalen und fröhlichen Afropop, der sowohl in die Ohren als auch in die Beine geht. Zwei Newcomer, die Lust auf mehr machen.

 

27_habib_koite

HABIB KOITE & BAMADA

NEW BAND AND NEW SONGS FROM MALI

Dass der Sänger und Gitarrist Habib Koite aus Mali nur zwei Jahre nach seinem letzten Auftritt wieder beim Africa Festival zu Gast ist, hat einen guten Grund. Inzwischen hat er seine Band Bamada komplett umgebaut, was auf dem aktuellen Album Soo zu hören ist. Die Kora ist verschwunden, stattdessen gibt es jetzt ein Banjo und ein Keyboard, die mit Habibs Gitarre und den Trommeln verschmelzen. Auch auf der neuen CD führt er wieder die Klänge des Vielvölkerstaats Mali zusammen, singt über Freundschaft und Freunde und ruft zum friedlichen Zusammenleben auf, was nach den Ereignissen der ­letzten Jahre notwendiger denn je ist. Habib Koite hat seine Musik nicht radikal neu erfunden, aber das, was so viele Fans in aller Welt an ihm mögen, dezent und stil­sicher weiterentwickelt.

trennlinie_840

SAMSTAG, 6. JUNI 2015:

NAMVULA

RISING STAR FROM SAMBIA

Mit ihrem CD-Debut „Shiwezwa" ist der jungen Sängerin, Gitarristin und Komponistin Namvula Rennie im Jahr 2014 etwas Außergewöhnliches gelungen: Obwohl sie noch weitgehend unbekannt ist, führte die große britische Zeitung Sunday Times das Album in einem Ranking der besten hundert Platten des Jahres auf Platz sieben. Namvula schrieb damals völlig überwältigt in Facebook: „ohmygodohmygodohmygodOHMYGOD!!!!" Ihr außergewöhnlicher Stil, in dem viel Afrikanisches aus Sambia, wo Namvula geboren wurde, etwas Jazz und Latin sowie europäische Folklore zusammenfließen, ist schon beim ersten Hören ansteckend. Wir freuen uns, das erste Konzert von Namvula in Deutschland präsentieren zu können, und sind sicher, dass sie ihren Weg gehen wird. Ein Festival-Geheimtipp.

27_namvula

27_lira

LIRA

AFROSOUL FROM SOUTH AFRICA

Für die einen ist sie die Nachfolgerin von Miriam Makeba, andere verehren sie als die südafrikanische Beyoncé. So leicht einzuordnen ist die Sängerin Lira nicht. Afrojazz, Rhythm and Blues, Soul und auch Pop - nichts ist der Sängerin fremd und vor nichts hat sie Berührungsängste. Dafür wird sie in Südafrika und auch international gefeiert. Zusammen mit Hugh Masekela eröffnete sie 2010 mit einer ergreifenden Version von Pata Pata" die Feier zur Eröffnung der Fußball-WM. Für ihre letzten CDs wurde sie mit Preisen überschüttet. Lira ist aber nicht nur eine charismatische Sängerin der Post-Apartheid-Generation, sondern engagiert sich auch politisch. In Würzburg wurde sie bereits beim Africa Festival 2009 enthusiastisch gefeiert. Welcome back, Lira, the Queen of Afrosoul.

trennlinie_840

SONNTAG, 7. JUNI 2015:

BOB MAGHRIB

BOB MARLEY GOES GNAWA

Die sechsköpfige bunte Truppe aus Marokko gehört zu den Protagonisten einer gerade im Maghreb besonders angesagten Spielart, dem Gnawa Reggae. Der eher ruhige Trance-Sound der Gnawa wird dabei mit Reggae-Rhythmen aufgepeppt. Bob Maghrib fügen dem noch eine ganz besondere Note hinzu: Sie spielen nämlich ausschließlich Songs der Reggae-Ikone Bob Marley und nutzen dafür traditionelle marokkanische Instrumente wie Ribab (eine einsaitige Art Geige), Oud (arabische Laute), Guembri (eine Gnawa-Laute) oder die Ghaita (ein oboenähnliches Blasinstrument). Das hört sich skurril an und ist es auch, klingt aber fantastisch und hat höchsten Unterhaltungswert.

 

27_bob_maghrib

27_mo_kalamity

MO'KALAMITY
AND THE WIZARDS

REGGAE PRINCESS FROM CAPE VERDE

Ihr erster Song, den die auf den Kapverden geborene Sängerin Mo’Kalamity schrieb und aufnahm, trug bezeichnenderweise den Titel „Africa“. Ihr musikalisches afrikanisches Erbe trug sie auch mit sich, als sie in jungen Jahren nach Paris zog. Karibische und afro-amerikanische Klänge hatten sie fasziniert und so fühlte sie sich bald zum Reggae hingezogen. Nachdem sie erste Erfahrungen als Backgroundsängerin gesammelt hatte, gründete sie 2004 ihre eigene Band “The Wizards”. Schnell machte sich das Kollektiv bei vielen Festivals einen Namen, denn Frontfrauen sind im Reggae eher die Ausnahme. Beim Africa Festival stellen sie ihre neue CD „Freedom of the soul“ vor.

 

 
trennlinie_840
 
 
head_27AF_offenebuehne

Donnerstag, 4. Juni 2015:

ROMAN BUNKA & SHAMANDURA PROJECT

MUSIC FROM THE NILE

Wenn es um die Musik Nordafrikas geht, musste der Oud-Virtuose mit Würzburger Background einfach wieder dabei sein. Im Vergleich zu 2013 kommt sein Shamandura Project dieses Mal als Trio und wird zur Festival-Eröffnung die Musik des Niltals präsentieren. Begleitet wird Roman Bunka vom sudanesischen Percussionisten und Oud-Spieler Mohamed Badawi und dem ägyptischen Percussionisten Ayman Mabrouk.

 

27_Roman_Bunka

27_matona

MATONA & THE ZANZIBAR TAARAB ORCHESTRA

TRADITIONAL TAARAB MUSIC FROM ZANZIBAR

Der Komponist und Musiker Matona kommt aus einer alten Musikerfamilie. Schon sein Vater und Großvater waren bekannte Oudspieler in Sansibar. Matona wird mit 9 Musikern der Dhow Countries Music Academy die traditionelle Taarab Musik vorstellen. Neben Oud sind ägyptische Zither, Violine, Akkordeon, Flöte und Perkussionsinstrumente zu hören. Die Sängerinnen Amina und Mariam präsentieren u.a. Lieder aus den Zeiten der Sultane in Sansibar.

 

trennlinie_840

Freitag, 5. Juni 2015:

DRISS EL MALOUMI

THE SOUND OF MAGHREB

Driss El Maloumi aus Agadir wird nicht zu Unrecht auch der „Oud-Zauberer“ genannt. Was der Marokkaner auf der arabischen Laute spielt, grenzt in der Tat manchmal an Magie. Mit seinem Trio interpretiert er die traditionelle Musik Marokkos, in die auch Flamenco-Elemente einfließen, in einem modernen Kontext. Da kann der Klang der Berber dann schon mal auf jazzige Töne treffen.

 

27_driss_el_maloumi

27_Malika

MALIKA ZARRA

MOROCCOS JAZZ JEWEL

Geboren wurde die Musikerin in einer Kleinstadt namens Ouled Teima im Süden Marokkos. Als sie noch jung war zog sie mit ihrer Familie nach Frankreich. Dort lernte sie das Klarinette Spielen und fand so zum Jazz. Auf ihrem zweiten Album „Berber Taxi“ entdeckt sie die Tiefen ihres marokkanischen Musikerbes und vor allem ihre Berberwurzeln. CNN International nennt sie „Marokkos Jazz Juwel“.

 

27_Dissidenten-2

 

DISSIDENTEN & MOHAMED MOUNIR

WORLDBEAT PIONEERS MEET EGYPT’S SUPERSTAR

Die Dissidenten spielten bereits Weltbeat, als es den Begriff noch gar nicht gab. Als eine der ersten europäischen Bands erforschten sie den nordafrikanischen Klangraum und wurden dort mit Songs wie „Sahara Elektrik“ oder „Telephone Arab“ berühmt. Mit dem Sänger Mohamed Mounir bringen sie einen wahren Megastar mit. Der Ägypter spielt in seiner Heimat vor hunderttausenden von Fans und wird von seinen Fans als der „King of Kings“ verehrt. Mounir ist es gelungen, die traditionelle Musik Ägyptens mit dem Pop des Westens zu vermählen. Roman Bunka, Gitarrist bei den Dissidenten, zählt seit vielen Jahren auch zur festen Bandbesetzung Mounirs. Dissidenten und Mounir - eine Begegnung, die Fans der nordafrikanischen Musik begeistern wird.

trennlinie_840

Samstag, 6. Juni 2015:

SHISHANI & THE AFRO NAMIBIAN TALES

AFRO-FOLK FROM NAMIBIA

Shishani ist eine junge Sängerin aus Namibia, einem Land das bisher noch nicht so häufig beim Africa Festival vertreten war. Mit souliger Stimme präsentiert sie urbanen Afro-Folk und spricht in ihren Songs auch politische Themen an. Da werden Erinnerungen an Nneka oder Tracy Chapman wach.

 

27_Shani

27_Marema

MAREMA

WINNER OF RFI AWARD 2014 FROM SENEGAL

Obwohl sie bisher nur wenige Songs veröffentlicht hat, gewann die Senegalesin Marema im letzten Jahr den ersten Preis als beste neue weibliche Künstlerin Afrikas. Der Preis wird alljährlich vom französischen Radiosender RFI vergeben, der seine Hörerinnen und Hörer sowie eine fachkundige Jury entscheiden lässt. Mit ihrem Song „femme d’affaires“ konnte Marema auf Anhieb überzeugen.

 

MINYESHU

POP FROM ETHIOPIA

Die aus Äthiopien stammende, schon länger in Europa lebende Sängerin und Tänzerin Minyeshu war bereits 2004 und 2009 beim Africa Festival zu Gast. Inzwischen hat sich die außergewöhnliche Performerin noch einmal ein ganzes Stück weiterentwickelt, wie ihre aktuelle CD „Black Ink“ beweist. Jeder Song hat seinen ganz eigenen Ausdruck, und Minyeshu zeigt wie stilsicher sie inzwischen die beiden musikalischen Welten, in denen sie lebt, zusammenfügen kann. Aus Ethiopop, Funk, Blues, Jazz und Pop entsteht kein beliebiger Stilmix, sondern eine eigenständige musikalische Sprache.

27_Minyeshu

trennlinie_840

27_adjiri

Sonntag, 7. Juni 2015:

ADJIRI ODAMETEY

CROSSOVER MUSIC FROM GHANA

Eine warme und erdige Stimme ist das Markenzeichen des ghanaischen Sängers und Songwriters Adjiri Odametey. Diese Stimme in Verbindung mit einheimischen Instrumenten wie der Kora, der Kalimba, dem Balafon und der Mbira zieht Zuhörer in ihren Bann. Die Süddeutsche Zeitung schreibt: „Als ein Botschafter von authentischer afrikanischer Musik, hat Adjiri mühelos Erfolg als Crossover-Künstler.“

WALLY & AMI WARNING

A FAMILY AFFAIR FROM ARUBA

Wally und Ami Warning sind Vater und Tochter. Wally stammt von der Karibikinsel Aruba, seine Tochter Ami ist in München aufgewachsen, wo beide heute leben. Wally ist ein musikalischer Tausendsassa, der zahlreiche Instrumente beherrscht, Ami singt, spielt Bass und Gitarre. Gerade wird sie für ihr CD-Debüt „Part of me“ als Newcomerin des Jahres 2014 gefeiert. Musikalisch verstehen sich beide blind und ihre melodiösen Songs laden zum Träumen und Entspannen ein.

 

27_wally_ami_warning

27_papa_julius

PAPA JULIUS & ZION NEXUS

REGGAE FROM GHANA

Papa Julius ist mit dem Africa Festival als Mitglied der Gruppe Adesa seit langem verbunden. In diesem Jahr präsentiert er seine eigene Band Zion Nexus, mit der er die Kompositionen seiner neuen CD „Mango Tree“ vorstellen wird. Die originellen Kompositionen basieren auf den Reggae, Ragga und Dancehall und schöpfen ihre spirituelle Kraft aus den Wurzeln ghanaischer Lebensfreude sowie der energiegeladenen Seele Westafrikas.

trennlinie_840

v