Tribal

25. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2013)

head_willkommen2013_e

 

Begegnung der kulturen


 

Welcome to the 25th Africa Festival in Würzburg! Incredible but true – we organised the largest festival for African music and culture in Europe. This is all unimaginable without our loyal visitors who have stuck by us in good and bad weather. Also without the continuous support by our sponsors the festival would have not become what it is today. Some of them have been supporting us since the very first festival till now. All the dedicated long standing staff who have been organising the festival every year, cannot be left unmentioned. Above all our special thanks go to the 370 bands and solo artists from 55 countries of Africa and the Caribbean. They made it possible for all visitors to have heard, seen and tasted the cultural wealth of the African continent.

 

In light of recent events the main focus of the anniversary festival 2013 will be the West African country Mali. Hardly noticed by the global public a refugee tragedy is taking place due to war in the North of Mali. Therefore talks, information booths and a fundraising campaign in the Bamboo hall will be concentrating on this topic. In addition, the ARTE movie tent will screen interesting and insightful documentaries on the issue. More movies will give proof of the great cultural wealth, the mentality and wordly wisdom of the residents of the Sahel country which have made themselves known for its music in the last few years.

 

For this reason, Mali will be part of the musical programme several times. On the opening day the Tuareg band Tamikrest from North Mali will perform amongst others and on Friday evening two of the most famous Malian musicians - Habib Koité and Salif Keita – will appear on the main stage. This evening will carry the theme “Tribute to Mali”. Besides the music of Mali, bands from Angola, the Ivory Coast, Eritrea, Cameroon, the Cape Verde and Senegal will perform. Among them are interesting new discoveries like FM Laeti from Guadeloupe and Nancy Vieira from the Cape Verde. Both women impress with their remarkable voices.

 

Once again the TV station ARTE is media partner of the Africa Festival. Just like last year it is planned that the most important concerts of the festival will be recorded and will be available to view online at „ARTE Live Web” www.liveweb.arte.tv.

 

„Encounters“– all in line with this theme we invite you to join us on a journey through the music and cultures of Africa and the Caribbean which will provide you with unforgettable moments and exciting encounters. We are looking forward to all our visitors and cannot wait to celebrate together with all of you!

 

Your Afro Project Team


trennlinie_840

 25_manu_dibango_grusswort

 MANU DIBANGO

 

Five years ago, on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of this wonderful festival, I expressed the wish of a reunion in twenty years time. Since that time, year after year it becomes more and more aware to me, how important this festival is, that celebrates the culture of the African continent – with the best what the continent has to offer. The “International Africa Festival” is entitled to be the European ambassador par excellence to the culture of the African continent, because both the organisers and you the audience, have always indicated their love to Africa by discovering unknown artists and applauding enthusiastically. Since its beginnings 25 years ago more than two million visitors have experienced the concerts, the exhibitions, the movie tent and other activities at the festival. You all have turned this gathering into the largest African Festival in Europe – for this I would like to thank you all from the bottom of my heart and in the name of all 370 musicians who have per- formed here so far!

This year our thoughts are with Mali, a country suffering due to the tragedy happening at the moment. In the light of this unspeakable disaster we shall not remain unaffected and watch inactive. I invite you all to get involved - in your own way - to confront this barbarism, so that Mali can find its way again towards peace and quiet. I am very proud of being patron of the festival on the occasion of its 25th anniversary just before completing the 80th year of my life and I appreciate this honour. I am certain that a bright future lies ahead of the festival and I am taking the liberty to invite myself to Wuerzburg again, in 20 years time!


Manu Dibango

trennlinie_840

 

evening program

THURSDAY, 30 MAY 2013

 25_accustic_africa

 

ACOUSTIC AFRICA

Female Voices - African Music at its best!

Produced by the well known guitarist Leni Stern «Acoustic Africa» provides a fascinating insight into the variety of African song culture and vocal music. The core of the African All-Star- Band are three great female singers: all-rounder Dobet Gnahoré from the Ivory Coast captivates the audience also as a dancer and percussionist. Kareyce Fotso, a young Cameroonian singer whose music is an intriguing combination of Afro-pop, Blues and traditional African music. Manou Gallo, who is from the Ivory Coast as well, is known through Zap Mama and mixes West African influences with Funk and R&B. These three singers are accompanied by the Malian master balafonist Aly Keita and the drummer Boris Tchango from Togo.

MANU DIBANGO
& SOUL MAKOSSA GANG

LION OF AFRICA
SPECIAL GUEST CHEICK TIDIANE SECK

The saxophonist and multi-instrumentalist Manu Dibango is one of the most important African musicians. In 1972, he released his album "Soul Makossa", which contains a mixture of African music, Soul, and Funk. This made him a star, especially in the North American soul scene. On the occasion of his 80th birthday in 2013, Manu Dibango and his programme "Hommage à Mali" will make a stop over at the Africa Festival, accompanied by Cheick Tidiane Seck, the famous Malian jazz musician. Manu Dibango is and always will be a star and an outstanding personality in the music scene - and we are more than happy that he is going to be the patron of our anniversary festival!

 

 

25_manu_dibango

trennlinie_840

 

 

25_habib_koite

FRIDAY, 31 MAY 2013

HABIB KOITÉ
& BAMADA

MAGIC MALI

Habib Koité already performed as „No Name" at the 8th Africa Festival. Back then he enchanted the audience with his magical concert. In the meantime the singer and guitarist has become a celebrated star worldwide and a welcomed guest at the Africa Festival. His unique guitar technique is based on the African instruments like the Kora and Ngoni. Together with his band Bamada and instruments like the Balafon, Talking Drum and Calabash they are weaving a tapestry of sound which allows his wonderful voice to fully unfold. With his music he joins the traditional sound of Mali with the elements of Blues.

 

 

SALIF KEITA

THE GOLDEN VOICE OF MALI

The singer and guitarist from Mali belongs to the pioneers of world music. His poignant, often lyrical songs and his magical charisma on stage get under one's skin. Salif Keita's music moves into new dimensions, taking the audience along on a miraculous journey. During his last performance in Wuerzburg in 2009 he received the Africa Festival Award for his commitment for albinos in Africa. At the 25th Africa Festival he will perform the songs of his brand-new album "Talé". Its theme is: "You're welcome to dance!"

 

 

25_salif_keita

trennlinie_840

 

 

25_nancy_vieira

SATURDAY, 01 JUNE 2013

Nancy Vieira

The Finest Voice Of Cape Verde!

When listening to Nancy Vieiras music, her extraordinary precise and distinctive voice stands out and has established her reputation as the “finest voice” of the new generation of Cape Verdean singers. Nancy Vieira was born in 1975 in Guinea Bissau. Her parents were supporters of Amilcar Cabral, the great freedom fighter for independence from the Portuguese colonial rule for Cape Verde and Guinea Bissau. When she was 14 years old, her father was appointed Cape Verdean ambassador to Lisbon, where she began her singing career. The classic Portuguese Fado, Cape Verdean Mornas and Brazilian carnival rhythms are also part of her music as well as Pop and Jazz.

 

 

YOUSSOU N'DOUR

The golden voice of Senegal

Due to the long standing relationship between Youssou Ndour and the Africa Festival we were able to engage the superstar from Senegal to perform at an exclusive concert at our anniversary festival despite his ministerial duties. Youssou Ndour is, without a doubt, the African superstar par excellence. Our visitors have voted him number 1 at the online voting. In his home country Senegal he is adored – worldwide he is recognized not only for his music, but also for his dedicated fight for African rights and for peace, freedom and democracy. After a yearlong break from performing Youssou Ndour will return – some musical surprises cannot be ruled out!

 

 

25_youssou_ndour

trennlinie_840

25_jaqee

SUNDAY, 02 JUNE 2013

Jaqee

musical nomad from Uganda

The singer Jaqee originates from Uganda, where she and her parents lived a Nomad life during her childhood. Through this she was able to gather very unique impressions and experiences. This life style also influenced her musical career. She started with R&B and Soul, then added Rock and Blues as well as Caribbean influences and Reggae to her music. Her strong and multifaceted voice has always been distinctive. She consistently takes the liberty to cross musical borders. She was the insiderʼs tip at the 23rd Africa Festival and sang at the Open Stage. This year she will perform with new songs for the first time in the Circus Tent. Her new album will be released just in time for the festival.

 

 

ALPHA BLONDY & SOLAR SYSTEM

AFRICA'S REGGAE STAR NO. 1

Alpha Blondy is, after the death of his South African colleague Lucky Dube, the unquestioned number one of the African Reggae scene. The charismatic singer from the Ivory Coast is, besides Tiken Jah Fakoly, the politically most committed prophet of Reggae. Also at the Africa Festival he wowed the audience several times with his fulminate stage show, which led to the fact that tickets for this evening were always sold out quite quickly. Together with his twelve-man band Solar System, he will present music from his recent album "Vision" as well as his most famous songs like “Cocody Rock”, “Jerusalem” and “Apartheid is Nazism”.

 

 

25_alpha_blondy

trennlinie_840


head_offenebuehne_e

25_tamikrest

THURSDAY, 30 MAY 2013

Tamikrest

Hypnotic Tamashek Music from Mali

Tamikrest are a fascinating Tamashek- (or also: Tuareg-) rockband. They are from Kidal in Northern Mali and their music is hypnotic, psychedelic and very much alive. The music can also be compared to Toumast and Tinariwen. The British music journalist Andy Morgan believes that they are the “best West African band”. The singer of the band, Ousmane Ag Mossa, will talk about the situation in the North of Mali on Friday at 10:30 am in the Tuareg tent.

 

 

FATOUMATA DIAWARA

DIVA FROM MALI

Before starting her career as a singer, Fatoumata Diawara had already been a famous dancer and film actress in her second homeland Mali (she was born in the Ivory Coast). During a casting for the first Sahel opera in Mali, the musician and veteran producer Cheikh Tidiane Seck discovered her talent. Her music which she calls “Wassoulou Folk” is a mixture of Soul, Funk, Reggae and the traditional music from Mali. At the festival she will perform songs from her first album “Fatou”.

 

 

26_fatoumata_diawara

trennlinie_840

FRIDAY, 31 MAY 2013:

Leni Stern’s African Trio

Global African Sounds

When in March 2012 the Malian government was overthrown in a coup, the German-American guitarist and singer was in the country to record her new album “Smoke, No Fire” with Senegalese musicians. Unlike with its forerunner “Sabani” she strikes a tougher and rougher note on this album, sung in English and Bambara. But the CD also has softer, hopeful and optimistic songs on it.

 

 

25_african_trio

25_lebo

Lebo

Singer-Songwriter from South Africa

Lebo Masemola is a young singer from South Africa. With only 17 years she left her homecountry as she wanted to experience new cultures and continents. Her first destination was Germany which should become her second home. For many years now the singer-songwriter and artist has been living and working in Hamburg. After a collaboration with the German-South African ensemble Dube and conducting the choir Gobina, Lebo Masemola now focuses on her own band and first and foremost on her own songs.

 

 

Biboul Darouiche & Soleil Bantu

Jazzy Afrobeat

Biboul Darouiche is originally from Yaoundé in Cameroon. Already in his early days he started to make music together with his brothers. In the 1970s he and his family moved to Munich where he still lives. He has performed not only with jazz stars like Al Di Meola, Till Brönner or Randy Brecker, but also with many African musicians. For many years he has been a steady member of Klaus Doldingers band “Passport”. Also at Soleil Bantu several “Passport”-musicians are active where they celebrate fiery and jazzy Afrobeat.

 

 

25_soleil_bantu

trennlinie_840

25_malickpathesow

SATURDAY, 01 JUNE  2013

Malick Pathé Sow & Bao Sissoko

Acoustic Journey to senegal

Malick Pathé Sow descends from a famous Senegalese Griot family and was born into the traditional music of his people, the Fula. Already as a child he was attracted to the Hoddu (a five stringed West African lute). For ten years he played together with the famous Senegalese singer Baaba Maal. Also the Kora player Bao Sissoko originates from a well known Senegalese Griot family. The interaction between Kora and Hoddu is an acoustic adventure trip for Malick and Bao. During these trips they are able to fully grasp the full sound potential of both instruments.

 

 

FM Laeti

New Sound of Guadeloupe

The singer FM Laeti is from the Caribbean island Guadeloupe. At an early age she lived in France, Switzerland and Canada with her parents where she discovered various kinds and styles of music. Her personal favourites are very different artists like Nina Simone, Lauryn Hill, Bill Withers, Bob Marley, Salif Keita, Miles Davis or Bob Dylan. Also in her own music she uses different styles and is just about to establish herself as an independent singer-songwriter. The insiderʼs tip of the festival!

 

 

 

25_fm_laeti

25_romi_anauel

Romi Anauel & the Soldiers of Ra

Global Worldbeat

The expressive singer and talented dancer Romi Anauel became famous as the lead singer of the worldmusic band Terrakota. The singer, who originates from Angola, left Terrakkota after twelve years in order to record her first soloalbum with the Soldiers of Ra. On this record she offers an adventurous mix of Soul and African Roots together with Ghanaian Highlife, Jazz, Reggae, Funk and Afro-Cuban sounds. A wild mix which the band, consisting of eleven musicians, merges into a breath-taking, unique and hypnotic style.

 

 

 

trennlinie_840

SUNDAY, 02 JUNE 2013

Uwe Banton

Roots Reggae outta Germoney

The veteran of the German Roots Reggae scene is doing us the honour! Already back in the eighties he toasted in Clubs and started playing with various bands in 1992. His current record “Mental War” spoils us with wonderful riddims and lyrics on the highest level. This does not come as a surprise as he invited the best musicians of the Reggae scene to participate (among them were Gentlemanʼs Evolution Band, Feueralarm and Samy Deluxe). As his special guest he will bring Jahcoustix along to the concert. We are looking forward to a first class Roots Reggae Party!

 

 

 

 

25_uwe_banton

25_ntjam_rosie

Ntjam Rosie

Nu-Soul/Nu-Jazz/ Soul-Jazz

Ntjam Rosie belongs to the new generation of African singers in Europe. Originally from Cameroon, but living in Rotterdam, The Netherlands. Her album “Elle” has received acclaimed reviews with the Dutch press and her work was also awarded with several prices. On the occasion of the award the jury of the Dutch World Music Day stated: “Her powerful voice and distinctive style creates an astonishing set full of soul and energy.” A further insider tip of the festival...

 

 

 

 

Fetsum

Urban Folk and Soul

The singer with Eritrean roots was born in Egypt and this lucky coincidence helped him to get away from the brutal civil war in Eritrea. It does not come as a surprise that he called his debute album “Colours of Hope”! In the sociocritically lyrics he reflects his own life with his warm and soulful voice. Fetsum describes his music as “Urban Folk”, which mixes profund Soul, stirring Afrobeat and energetic Reggae. When the singer Patrice heard his extraordinary voice, he was so impressed that he invited him to join him for his European tour.

 

 

 

 

 

25_fetsum

trennlinie_840

v

Tribal

25. AFRICA FESTIVAL (2013)

head_willkommen2013

 

Begegnung der kulturen


 Begegnung der Kulturen - 25 Jahre Africa Festival


Das Internationale Africa Festival besteht nun seit 24 Jahren und ist das größte Festival für afrikanische Musik und Kultur in Europa.

Als im Juni 1989 in Würzburg das erste Africa Festival stattfand, ahnte niemand, dass dies das erste Kapitel einer 25-jährigen Erfolgsge­schichte sein würde. Damals kamen 600 Besucher, um Bands wie Africa Soli aus Guinea, Rai Express aus Algerien oder Akapoma aus Ghana zu hören. Und niemand dachte auch nur im Traum daran, dass einige Jahre später alljährlich 100 000 und mehr Besucher auf die Mainwiesen kommen würden, wo manch späterer­ Weltstar seinen Durchbruch feierte. Angélique Kidjo, Habib Koité oder Youssou N’Dour sind nur einige wenige Namen, die in Würzburg ihre ersten großen Auftritte in Europa hatten.

In diesem Jahr kann das Africa Festival sein 25-jähriges Jubiläum feiern. 370 Gruppen und Einzel­künstler aus 55 Ländern Afrikas und der Karibik sind bisher in Würzburg aufgetreten und haben rund zwei Millionen Besuchern den kulturellen Reichtum des afrikanischen Kontinents vor Augen und Ohren geführt. Das soll auch beim Jubiläum nicht anders werden, weshalb kein geringerer als Manu Dibango die Schirmherrschaft für das Festival übernommen hat. Natürlich wird er auch mit seiner Band beim Eröffnungskonzert auftreten. Mit weiteren Stars stehen wir in aussichtsreichen Verhandlungen. Wir wollen aber gerade bei den Abendkonzerten im Zirkuszelt nicht nur verdiente und berühmte Musiker präsentieren, sondern auch junge Künstler vorstellen, die am Start einer aussichtsreichen Karriere stehen.

Neben den Konzerten wird es einen Basar mit Kunst- und Gebrauchsgegenständen, afrikanischen Speisen und Getränken, einen Handwerkermarkt, ein großes Kinderprogramm, eine offene Bühne, ein Late Night Programm mit DJs, Ausstellungen und das ARTE Kinozelt sowie ein neues Lounge-Zelt geben. Zu afrikanischen und karibischen ­Klängen kann im Havana Club gefeiert werden.



trennlinie_840

 

 25_manu_dibango_grusswort




 head_25_grusswort_manu_dibango


Vor fünf Jahren äußerte ich anläßlich des 20. Geburtstages dieses wundervollen Africa ­Festivals den Wunsch auf ein Wiedersehen in zwanzig Jahren. Seither wird mir Jahr für Jahr deutlicher bewusst, welche Bedeutung dieses Ereignis hat, das die Kultur Afrikas ­zelebriert - mit dem Besten, was dieser Kontinent zu bieten hat. Das “Internationale Africa Festival” ist zu Recht der europäische Botschafter par excellence der Kultur des schwarzen Kontinents, denn sowohl die Organisatoren als auch Sie, das Publikum, haben immer ihre Liebe zu Afrika sowohl durch die Entdeckung der Künstler als auch durch den begeisterten Applaus für sie bezeugt. Seit der Gründung des Festivals vor 25 Jahren waren es mehr als zwei Millionen Besucher, die die Bühnen, die Ausstellungen, das Kinozelt und andere Aktivitäten des Festivals erkundet haben. Sie haben aus diesem Zusammentreffen das größte afrikanische ­Festival in Europa gemacht – dafür danke ich Ihnen aus tiefstem Herzen im Namen der 370 Musikgruppen, die hier aufgetreten sind!

In diesem Jahr gehen unsere Gedanken besonders nach Mali, einem Land, das schrecklich unter der Tragödie, die sich aktuell dort abspielt, leidet. Angesichts dieses unbeschreiblichen Desasters dürfen wir nicht unberührt und tatenlos zusehen. Ich lade alle ein, sich - jeder auf seine Weise -  zu engagieren, um dieser Barbarei entgegenzutreten, damit Mali den Weg des Friedens und der Ruhe wiederfinden kann.

Kurz vor Vollendung meines 80. Lebensjahres schätze ich die Ehre, die mir anlässlich des ­25-jährigen Bestehens des Festivals übertragen wurde, Schirmherr dieses Festivals zu sein und bin darauf sehr stolz. Ich sehe der Zukunft des Festivals sehr optimistisch entgegen und werde mir erlauben, auch in zwanzig Jahren wieder nach Würzburg zu kommen!

 
Manu Dibango

trennlinie_840

 

head_25_abendprogramm

DONNERSTAG, 30. MAI 2013

 

25_accustic_africa

 

ACOUSTIC AFRICA

Female Voices - African Music at its best!

Produziert von der bekannten Gitarristin Leni Stern bietet «Acoustic Africa» einen faszinierenden Einblick in die Vielfalt der afrikanischen Liedkultur und Vokalmusik. Das Herz dieser afrikanischen All-Star-Band sind drei großartige Sängerinnen: Multitalent Dobet Gnahoré von der Elfenbeinküste fesselt ihr Publikum auch als Tänzerin und Perkussionistin. Kareyce Fotso aus Kamerun reichert die afrikanischen Roots mit Pop und Blues an. Die Ivorerin Manou Gallo, bekannt von Zap Mama, mischt westafrikanische Einflüsse mit Funk und R&B. Begleitet werden die drei Sängerinnen vom Balafonmeister Aly Keita aus Mali sowie dem Schlagzeuger Boris Tchango aus Togo.

MANU DIBANGO
& SOUL MAKOSSA GANG

LION OF AFRICA
SPECIAL GUEST CHEICK TIDIANE SECK

Der Saxofonist und Multiinstrumentalist Manu Dibango aus Kamerun gehört zu den bedeutendsten Musikern, die Afrika hervorgebracht hat. 1972 veröffentlichte Manu Dibango sein Album "Soul Makossa", das aus einer Mischung aus afrikanischer Musik, Soul und Funk bestand und ihn besonders in der nordamerikanischen Soulszene zu einem Star werden ließ. Anlässlich seines 80. Geburtstages im Jahr 2013 macht Manu Dibango mit dem Programm „Hommage à Mali", bei dem ihn Cheick Tidiane Seck, der berühmte malische Jazzmusiker, begleiten wird, beim Africa Festival Station. Manu Dibango ist und bleibt in der ganzen Musikwelt eine berühmte und geschätzte Persönlichkeit - wir freuen uns, dass er die Schirmherrschaft für das Jubiläumsfestival übernommen hat!

 

 

25_manu_dibango

trennlinie_840

25_habib_koite

FREITAG, 31. MAI 2013:

HABIB KOITÉ
& BAMADA

MAGIC MALI

Habib Koité gastierte schon als „No Name" beim 8. Africa Festival. Damals verzauberte er sein Publikum mit einem magischen Konzert. In der Zwischenzeit ist der Sänger und Gitarrist weltweit ein viel umjubelter Star und ein gern gesehener Gast beim Africa Festival. Seine einmalige Gitarrentechnik orientiert sich an afrikanischen Instrumenten wie Kora und Ngoni. Mit seiner Band Bamada webt er mit Instrumenten wie Balafon, Talking Drum und Kalebasse einen dichten und rhythmischen Klangteppich, auf dem sich seine wunderbare Stimme entfalten kann. Er verbindet in seiner Musik die traditionellen Klänge Malis mit Elementen des Blues.

 

 

SALIF KEITA

THE GOLDEN VOICE OF MALI

Der Sänger und Gitarrist aus Mali gehört zu den Pionieren der Weltmusik. Seine eindringlichen, oft lyrischen Lieder und seine magische Ausstrahlung auf der Bühne gehen unter die Haut. Salif Keita gelingt es mit seiner Musik in andere Sphären vorzustoßen und sein Publikum dahin mitzunehmen. Bei seinem letzten Auftritt in Würzburg im Jahr 2009 erhielt er den Africa Festival Award für sein Engagement für die Albinos in Afrika. Zum 25. Africa Festival wird er die Musik seiner brandneuen CD „Talé" mitbringen. Sie steht unter dem Motto „Es darf getanzt werden!"

 

 

25_salif_keita

trennlinie_840

25_nancy_vieira

SAMSTAG, 01. JUNI 2013

Nancy Vieira

The Finest Voice Of Cape Verde!

Wenn man Nancy Vieiras Musik hört, fällt einem sofort ihre außergewöhnlich präzise und unverwechselbare Stimme auf, die ihr den Ruf der “edelsten Stimme” unter der neuen Generation kapverdischer Sänger eingetragen hat. Nancy Vieira wurde 1975 in Guinea Bissau geboren. Dort unterstützten ihre Eltern Amilcar Cabral, den großen Kämpfer für die Befreiung der Kapverden und Guineas von der portugiesischen Kolonialherrschaft.  Als sie 14 Jahre alt war, wurde ihr Vater Botschafter der Kapverden in Lissabon, wo Nancy zu singen begann.  Klassischer portugiesischer Fado, die kapverdischen Mornas oder brasilianische Karnevalsrhythmen finden in ihren Liedern ebenso ihren Niederschlag wie Einflüsse aus Pop und Jazz.

 

 

YOUSSOU N'DOUR

The golden voice of Senegal

Aufgrund der langjährigen Verbindung von Youssou N’Dour zum Africa Festival ist es uns gelungen, den Superstar aus dem  Senegal trotz seiner Ministerverpflichtungen zu einem Exklusivkonzert beim Jubiläumsfestival zu engagieren. Youssou N’Dour ist ganz unbestritten der afrikanische Superstar schlechthin. Auch unsere Besucher haben ihn im Online-Voting wieder auf Platz 1 ihrer Beliebtheitsskala gewählt. Nicht nur in seiner Heimat Senegal genießt er höchste Verehrung – weltweit wird er über seine Musik hinaus als engagierter Kämpfer für die Rechte Afrikas und im Kampf um Frieden, Freiheit und Demokratie hoch angesehen. Nach einjähriger Bühnenpause kehrt Youssou N’Dour zurück – musikalische Überraschungen sind nicht ausgeschlossen!

 

 

25_youssou_ndour

trennlinie_840

25_jaqee

SONNTAG, 02. JUNI 2013

Jaqee

musical nomad from Uganda

Die Sängerin Jaqee stammt aus Uganda. In ihrer Kindheit führte sie dort mit ihren Eltern ein Nomadenleben und konnte so viele Eindrücke und Erfahrungen sammeln. Das prägte später auch ihre musikalische Karriere. Sie begann mit R & B und Soul, später kamen Rock und Blues dazu, ehe sie karibische Einflüsse und Reggae in ihre Musik integrierte. Unverwechselbar war jedoch stets ihre ausdrucksstarke und facettenreiche Stimme. Sie nutzt konsequent die Freiheit, musikalische Grenzen zu überschreiten. Jaqee war der Geheimtipp des 23. Africa Festivals und trat damals auf der offenen Bühne auf. Jetzt wird sie erstmalig mit Songs ihrer neuen CD, die zum Festival erscheinen wird, im großen Zelt zu hören sein!

 

 

ALPHA BLONDY
& SOLAR SYSTEM

AFRICA'S REGGAE STAR NO. 1

Alpha Blondy ist nach dem Tod seines süd­afrika­nischen Kollegen Lucky Dube die unum­strittene Nummer eins der afrikanischen Reggae-Szene. Der charismatische Sänger von der Elfenbeinküste ist neben Tiken Jah Fakoly der politisch engagierteste Prophet des ­Reggaes. Auch beim Africa Festival begeisterte er mit seinen fulminanten Bühnenshows schon mehrmals, was dazu führte, dass die Tickets immer schnell vergriffen waren. Zusammen mit seiner 12-köpfigen Band Solar System wird er die Musik seiner letzten CD „Vision" sowie seine bekanntesten Songs „Cocody Rock”, „Jerusalem” und „Apartheid is Nazism” ­präsentieren.

 

 

25_alpha_blondy

trennlinie_840

 
head_25AF_offenebuehne

25_tamikrest

Donnerstag, 30. Mai 2013:

Tamikrest

Hypnotic Tamashek Music from Mali

Tamikrest sind eine faszinierende Tamashek- (oder auch: Tuareg)-Rock-Band. Sie kommen aus Kidal im Norden von Mali - Ihre Musik ist hypnotisch, psychedelisch und äußerst lebendig und vergleichbar mit Toumast und Tinariwen. Der englische Musikjournalist Andy Morgan hält sie für die "beste westafrikanische Band“. Der Sänger der Musikgruppe Ousmane Ag Mossa wird am Freitag um 10.30 Uhr im Tuaregzelt über die Situation im Norden Malis berichten.

 

 

Fatoumata Diawara

Diva from Mali

Bevor Fatoumata Diawara ihre Karriere als Sängerin begann, war sie in ihrer zweiten Heimat Mali (sie ist in der Elfenbeinküste geboren) bereits eine berühmte Tänzerin und (Film-)Schauspielerin. Bei einem Casting für die erste Sahel-Oper in Mali entdeckte die Musiker- und Produzentenlegende Cheikh Tidiane Seck ihr Gesangstalent. Ihre Musik, ein Mix aus Soul, Funk, Reggae und der traditionellen Musik Malis, nennt sie „Wassoulou Folk“. Beim Festival stellt sie die Songs ihrer ersten CD „Fatou“ vor.

 

 

25_fatoumata_diawara

trennlinie_840

Freitag, 31. MAI 2013:

Leni Stern’s African Trio

Global African Sounds

Als im März 2012 die Regierung in Mali durch einen Putsch gestürzt wurde, war die deutsch-amerikanische Gitarristin und Sängerin gerade wieder einmal im Land, um mit senegalesischen Musikern ihre neue CD “Smoke, No Fire“ aufzunehmen. Im Gegensatz zum Vorgänger „Sabani“ schlägt sie darauf härtere und rauere Töne an. Gesungen wird in Englisch und Bambara. Das Album enthält aber auch sanfte, hoffnungsvolle und optimistische Lieder.

 

 

25_african_trio

25_lebo

Lebo

Singer-Songwriter from South Africa

Lebo Masemola ist eine junge Sängerin aus Südafrika. Mit 17 Jahren zog es sie hinaus in die Welt. Sie wollte andere Kulturen und Kontinente kennen lernen. Ihr erstes ­Reiseziel war Deutschland, das zu ihrer zweiten Heimat werden sollte. Seit vielen Jahren lebt und arbeitet die Singer-Songwriterin und Künstlerin in Hamburg. Nach Zusammenarbeit mit dem deutsch-südafrikanischen Ensemble Dube und der Leitung des Chors Gobina widmet sich Lebo Masemola nun mit eigener Band vor allem ihren eigenen Songs.

 

 

Biboul Darouiche & Soleil Bantu

Jazzy Afrobeat

Biboul Darouiche stammt aus Yaoundé in Kamerun. Schon früh begann er mit seinen Brüdern zu musizieren, ehe die Familie in den 1970er-Jahren nach München zog, wo er noch immer lebt. Er hat mit Jazzstars wie Al Di Meola, Till Brönner oder Randy Brecker gespielt, aber auch mit zahlreichen afrikanischen Musikern. Seit vielen Jahren ist er festes Mitglied von Klaus Doldingers Band „Passport”. Auch bei Soleil Bantu sind mehrere Passport-Musiker aktiv, wo sie feurigen und jazzigen Afrobeat zelebrieren.

 

 

25_soleil_bantu

trennlinie_840

25_malickpathesow

SAMSTAG, 1. JUNI 2013:

Malick Pathé Sow & Bao Sissoko

Acoustic Journey to senegal

Malick Pathé Sow kommt aus einer berühmten Griot-Familie Senegals und wurde hineingeboren in die traditionelle Musik seines Volkes, der Fula. Schon als Kind fühlte er sich zur Hoddu hingezogen (fünfsaitige westafrikanische Laute). Er spielte zehn Jahre mit dem berühmten senegalesischen Sänger Baaba Maal. Auch der Koraspieler Bao Sissoko kommt aus einer bekannten senegalesischen Griot-Familie. Das Zusammenspiel von Kora und Hoddu ist für Malick und Bao eine akustische Abenteuerreise, bei der sie das Klangpotenzial der beiden Instrumente genussvoll und virtuos ausloten.

 

 

FM Laeti

New Sound of Guadeloupe

Die Sängerin FM Laeti kommt von der Karibikinsel Guadeloupe. Schon in jungen Jahren hielt sie sich mit ihren Eltern in Frankreich, der Schweiz und in Kanada auf, wo sie verschiedenste Musikrichtungen und -stile kennenlernte. Als ihre musikalischen Favoriten nennt sie so unterschiedliche Künstler wie Nina Simone, Lauryn Hill, Bill Withers, Bob Marley, Salif Keita, Miles Davis oder Bob Dylan. Auch in ihrer eigenen Musik verarbeitet sie verschiedenste Einflüsse und ist dabei, sich als eigenständige Singer-Songwriterin zu etablieren. Der Geheimtipp des Festivals!

 

 

 

25_fm_laeti

25_romi_anauel

Romi Anauel & the Soldiers of Ra

Global Worldbeat

Die ausdrucksstarke Sängerin und extravagante Tänzerin Romi Anauel wurde als Frontfrau der Weltmusik-Gruppe Terrakota bekannt. Die aus Angola stammende Sängerin verließ Terrakota nach 12 Jahren, um mit den Soldiers of Ra ihr erstes Soloalbum aufzunehmen. Darauf bietet sie einen abenteuerlichen Mix aus Soul und African Roots mit ghanaischem Highlife, Jazz, Reggae, Funk und afrokubanischen Klängen. Ein wilder Mix, den die elfköpfige Band zu einem atemberaubenden und hypnotischen eigenen Stil zusammenführt.

 

 

 

trennlinie_840

Sonntag, 2. Juni 2013:

Uwe Banton

Roots Reggae outta Germoney

Das Urgestein der deutschen Roots Reggae Szene gibt sich die Ehre! Bereits in den achtziger Jahren toastete er in Clubs und begann 1992, mit verschiedenen Bands zu spielen. Sein aktuelles Album „Mental War“ verwöhnt mit wunderbaren Riddims und Lyrics auf höchstem Niveau, was nicht verwundert, da er hierfür die besten Musiker der Reggaeszene einlud (u.a. von Gentlemans Evolution Band, Feueralarm und Samy Deluxe). Als Special Guest wird er Jahcoustix mitbringen. Wir freuen uns schon auf eine Roots Reggae Party der Extraklasse!

 

 

 

 

25_uwe_banton

25_ntjam_rosie

Ntjam Rosie

Nu-Soul/Nu-Jazz/ Soul-Jazz

Ntjam Rosie gehört zur neuen Generation von afrikanischen Sängerinnen in Europa. Sie kommt ursprünglich aus Kamerun, lebt aber in den Niederlanden (Rotterdam). Ihr neuestes Album „Elle“ erntete in der holländischen Presse höchste Anerkennung und ihre Arbeit wurde mit einer Reihe von Preisen ausgezeichnet. Die Jury des Dutch World Music Day stellte anläßlich der Preisverleihung fest: „Ihre kraftvolle Stimme und ihr unverwechselbarer Stil schaffen einen verblüffenden Mix aus Soul und Energie!“ Ein weiterer Geheimtipp des Africa Festivals...

 

 

 

 

Fetsum

Urban Folk and Soul

Verwurzelt in Eritrea, geboren in Ägypten, konnte er dem blutigen Bürgerkrieg Eritreas entkommen. Es verwundert also nicht, dass sein Debütalbum den Namen „Colours of Hope“ trägt! In den teilweise sozialkritischen Texten reflektiert er mit warmer Soulstimme auch sein eigenes Leben. Seine Musik bezeichnet er als „Urban Folk“, der sich aus tiefgründigem Soul, pumpendem Afrobeat und lebensfrohem Reggae speist. Als der Sänger Patrice seine außergewöhnliche Stimme hörte, war er so beeindruckt, dass er ihn kurzerhand einlud, mit ihm durch Europa zu touren.

 

 

 

 

 

25_fetsum

trennlinie_840

v